We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Elmo

St. Elmo
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A must visit location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

True, the town isn't much to talk about, but then it is effectively a ghost town that is in the throws of some renovation. On the other hand, you can rent 4x4s and spend half a day wandering around the high mountains, if you want to, and more importantly, you can feed the ground squirrels and chipmunks. Across from the general store you will find many logs set up as a place where small rodents hide out and wait for innocent visitors. Grab a bag of seed from the store, $0.50, and sit quietly. In seconds the critters come out of hiding and climb all over you to get to the seeds. It's a photo op you shouldn't miss if you have children

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ynotexplore67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    96
    46
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Okay I guess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

When our extended family of 20+ visited, we were a little bored by the ghost town, but we still go every year to feed the chipmunks.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisers227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Picturesque -- limited options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I wanted to drive up and see a ghost town, so I thought this would be a good side trip. Turns out that it is a partially restored township. the store was closed so after a short walk around town that was about it.. pretty views and buildings in many states of (dis)repair... Worth a look, but I doubt it would be the highlight of a trip to Colorado...

There is a bed and breakfast here that looked interesting and a store. The store was closed. The B&B was open, but I didn't inquire about it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dallas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small and quaint - not much to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Nice drive from Mt. Princeton - town is small and quaint...store was closed. Picturesque...but limited in its entertainment value. I am glad we went!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“trip to St. Elmo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

130 year old ghost town, can see the old buildings. Pretty drive this time of year - 12 miles from Mount Princeton resort.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank macks1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Elmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing