We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We arrived at this hotel a night early and stayed in the only room available, hillside room #39 (smoking). Room was surprisingly not bad and was very close to the upper pool and slide for easy access for my kids. Second night stayed in the Lodge rm# I think 46. The rooms were large and accommodated 2 beds, with a third bed in a separate room. We also had family members in Lodge rooms 48 and 49 (I believe).

The facilities were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate at the restaurant 2 nights in a row and were pleased with the selection and quality.

The lower pools were great, especially for aching muscles.

For the price, family friendliness, and location, this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CuatroPaisanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,651 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had a great stay. We were 6 so we booked a cabin, which was wonderful. The kids enjoyed the slide at the upper-pool. The staff there was very efficient and I noticed they paid great attention to safety, without ruining the fun.
For a family-friendly location, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sonneborberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I have stayed here in a cabin a few times. It is a decent resort with plenty to do nearby. I would personally not drive more than 3 or 4 hours to stay here. The cabins could use some better cleaning/remodel and more utensils/cooking items in the kitchens. The kids pool had slime on the bottom of it! The spa is OK at best showers work funny with see through doors and only three sinks in the ladies area. The person that we encountered first when we initially tried to check in but the room was not ready (which was fine with us) was very unfriendly as my 16 year old daughter even noticed! Fortunately, when we did check in finally the person we got was friendlier!
With that being said I have stayed at nicer resorts and cabins and am pretty well traveled so I would probably not go back. However, if you are from a different area and have not traveled a lot this might be good enough for you?

Room Tip: I would only get a room on the creek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heididawg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Enjoyed the relaxation and natural beauty of the Mt. Princeton Hot Springs and Resort. The property was everything it promised. Beautiful mountain views alongside natural hot springs. The pools were well maintained and the spa area was very relaxing. We took a morning yoga class which added to overall experience of well being. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Our hillside room was clean and comfortable. Hope to return someday!

Room Tip: The front desk staff said they expected in-room wifi to be starting soon. Was able to access wifi at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmshultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We decided to take a day trip from Colorado Springs to Mt Princeton, specifically to enjoy the hot springs at the resort, which one sees lots of advertising about. The setting on the mountain is beautiful and the pictures in the advertisements lead one to believe this should be a special experience. If you are just coming in for the day (not staying at the hotel), the "hot springs area" that you can use is limited, basically two long pools, one for swimming laps at regular temp, and the other. the supposed "hot" pool. My guess, it was only about 98-100 degrees. The water looked sparkley, but the bottom had a slimey feeling. Very crowded, poorly vented locker room, and I assume one had to pay extra if a locker was needed. Kids all over the place, babies periodically crying, and loud talking around the pool, so wasn't very restful. Also, no view from the "hot" pool area. IMO, definitely not worth the entrance fee, certainly not the day we were there. Left after one hour. If looking for a hot springs "experience", the Orient Land Trust near Valida, CO (wilderness), or Ojo Caliente, NM (spa setting) are much better. The drive getting here and up to St Elmo was still worth the trip. Very beautiful. It is my understanding that more hot springs amenities are available if staying at the hotel, just not on the day pass, which is what I am specifically addressing.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank HappyTraveler2143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My trip to Mt Princeton was a short one night stay but it was well worth the drive! I stayed in a two bedroom & loft, two bath cabin that was very comfortable and luxurious. Service was ok... But it needs work. However, the views and mountain air make up for it. The hot springs were awesome and clean. Overall a wonderful place and a must visit for anyone that is a fan of the Colorado mountains!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibrlgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Upon arrival, the carpet had rocks and gravel throughout. The two small trash cans had trash in them including food items. We were told to use the towels at the pool only to discover that there were no towels available. When we asked when towels would be ready, the kid at the pool counter said some would be out in 15 minutes. After over an hour, there were still no towels.

We left our room early the next morning. Upon returning late in the afternoon, the carpet had still not been vacuumed. The trash cans had been emptied, but not completely. There were tissues stuck to the bottom of the can liner bags. The room towels we used and hung up were missing and not replaced. We headed to the pool, again without towels, to find they were in short supply. We asked around and scrounge before discovering some on our own.


On our second night, we were notified that there was no phone service of any kind to our rooms. If we wanted to make a phone call, we needed to walk down the hill from our Cliffside room to use the phone in the main building. No cell phone service. No WiFi. No room phone.

The room itself was very outdated. Warm to hot water comes out of the tap. No cool or cold water except for what you put in the mini fridge. We realize this is a hot springs area, but some kind of notification letting guests know would have been nice.

Our expectations were high because we had read good reviews and paid plenty to stay in this hotel.

Come swim in the hot springs, skip the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.1 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
496 reviews
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
7.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
207 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range: $144 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing