We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 Buena Vista(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Vista Inn(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites(Salida)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Ridge Lodge(Salida)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Salida(Salida)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinon Court Cabins(Buena Vista)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,772)
Filter reviews
1,772 results
Traveler rating
854
532
208
110
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
854
532
208
110
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscliffside roombuena vistaupper pooljuice barrelaxation poolthe riverbath houseadult poolfamily poolspa areaghost townprinceton hot springshot poolsovernight guestslarge cabinlocker roomcascading pools
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,305 - 1,310 of 1,772 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our second time staying at The Mount Princeton Hot Springs and the first time in the winter. We stayed in a 3 queen room in the main lodge and this setup worked fine for us (4 adults & 1 child). As before the springs were fantastic and we all enjoyed them after 3 hard days of skiing at Breckenridge. The pools in the stream were really nice as well as the main pool. We didn't see anyone using the "Exercise Pool" but it seems everyone there thought it was to cold. Overall we really enjoyed the hot springs and our stay.

As for the limitations.... This hotel is a bit over-priced for the services provided. When you walk in its very apparent that they want to be or think they are a very upscale resort but this simply isn't true. While nice our room in the main lodge felt a little old and tired. The historic bath house is the same way and could use a bit of remodeling, especially the restrooms, changing rooms etc. we didn't use the spa because the prices were elevated higher than those you would find in a high class spa in a major city. And finally, we were going to Monarch to ski one last day and went downstairs for breakfast at 8:30 only to find the restaurant closed. They had a few things set out on the bar for purchase such as $2 coffee, $3 juice, $3 pastries, $4 cereal, etc. This was such a turnoff that I'm not sure I will return to Mount Princeton and will try one of the other hot springs the next time we are in Colorado.

Overall nice place but not the high end resort it appears to be trying to be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bphawk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Front Office Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time and your business. We are always working to better our guests experience, so your constructive criticism is welcomed.

Our Coffee Bar is open from 6:30 - 9 Am and table service breakfast is served from 8:30-11:30 every morning. I apologize is were misinformed during your visit. Our coffee bar was a service we began last year, in order to accommodate guests that were leaving the resort early to hit the slopes. Our goal was to supply them with on-the-go options for breakfast prior to our restaurant opening for an off the menu breakfast. All of the options served at our coffee bar are locally made products, most of them made right in our very own bakery. We also offer gluten free and organic options for those who are looking for a healthier avenue. Once again, we sincerely apologize if this was unsatisfactory. We will take your feedback and use it to find ways of improving our breakfast options in the future.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Thank you again for your business, feedback and suggestions.


Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

First time visitors. We were camping in the area & went just to enjoy the hot springs. While it was fairly nice hot springs I did not like the fact we could not go in riverside hot springs since we were not staying at the lodge. Very disappointing because it is fairly expensive so I thought we could enjoy the whole soaking experience but that was not the case. Also need to clean shower area & guy taking up money was snooty & would look at you like you were crazy if you asked him a question. I know this is a great place for a summer job for young people but you need to explain customer service. Other than that a nice place. Also they were set up for a wedding down by the river. & I think that was perhaps the most beautiful place for a wedding I have ever seen. I will go back again when in the area now that I know the ropes.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank fletch55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Front Office Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and for visiting our resort. I apologize that you found it a bit off-putting that there were two different costs and areas for day guests.

As day guests to the Historic Bath House, you still have full access to our exercise and soaking pools as well as the our all-natural hot springs creek, which is the biggest draw for most people coming to visit. The $35/day cost (for ages 16+) for entry to our Spa and Club gains you access to our exercise, soaking, relaxation pool, cascading pools steam rooms, and sauna. It also allows entry to our natural hot springs creek and all fitness classes being offered on that day. With this entry price you also receive use of complimentary towels and lockers at the Spa and Club.

We hope that you will visit again, sometime soon, to enjoy other aspects of our resort. Thank you again.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We recently spent two nights in the Lodge at Mt Princeton Hot Springs Resort, and plan to return later this year. The King room (47) was old but comfortable, and the hot springs were great. As a guest of the hotel you get access to the quiet, adults only area of the spa, and we spent parts of 3 days there! The resort is only 40 minutes from Monarch Ski Resort, and the snow was great! We also hiked around the St Elmos ghost town about 30 minutes up the road. The restaurant must have been good because it was packed on a Sunday night… we ended up eating at the bar because we didn't have a reservation!? Finally, the staff was excellent, especially Gil the concierge!

Room Tip: I've heard the hillside rooms have a great view!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigC320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Front Office Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review, as well as your business. It sounds like you were truly able to enjoy all that the Colorado Rocky Mountains have to offer!

St. Elmo is a must-see for all of our guests at Mt. Princeton. Our concierge program has only been offered for the past year, so it is wonderful to hear that Gill was able to point you in the right direction for a wonderful time. We can’t wait to have you back for what we are sure will be another fantastic stay!

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have visited the pools a few times, but this was our first stay at the resort. It is a rustic mountain resort surrounded by rugged mountains. There is a full service spa, restaurant, cafe, separate family and adult pools. One of the unique experiences is the ability to soak in the river where there are several shallow pools along the edge with water ranging from 100-108 degrees (F). We are a family of seven with kids 7-18yrs old. We skied and snowshoed all day Saturday at Monarch and then drove about 25 minutes to the resort. They welcomed us warmly and we settled into our cabin in time to run into Salida for an early dinner. We had enough time to come back and spend over two hours in the pools. The cabin was perfect for our large family. Ours had a loft with two double beds, a bedroom with a king bed and a pull-out sofa. We ate breakfast in the cabin then spent the morning in the pools and another 1/2 day skiing. We can't wait to do it again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelleBole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Front Office Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Our cabins are a great lodging option for families or larger groups coming to enjoy the hot springs experience. We are pleased to hear you found your stay to be so accommodating. We welcome both you, and your family back anytime.

Thank you again,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We visit about three times per year. We always enjoy our stay. Comfortable, cleanness & service. Especially Joanna & Gary from the Restaurant the best. We love these Hot Springs because its still all natural & you can still find your own pool next to the river.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trips1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Front Office Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your warm compliments on Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort, and more specifically our staff. We greatly appreciate your positivity. Hope to have you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews