We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome hot springs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome hot springs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time I've been to a natural hot spring and let me just say... It is AWESOME!!! Whether you relax in the pools where the water is pumped right into it from the hot springs or climb into the river to enjoy it right from the source. The only downer is that they don't allow booze. Overall though, visiting a hot spring is very fascinating and a "must do" if you are out that way!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    415
    165
    88
    59
See reviews for
466
464
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is gorgeous in so many ways. The rooms are nice and comfy, although cabins are way better. All the facilities are clean and is beautiful. It's very relaxing for adults and active for children, specially since they built the 100 ft long slide. The restaurant's food was very good too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
322 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hot Springs Resorts Are Like Children: each is different and all are lovable. Mt. Princeton fits.

The cabins along the river are great. Be lulled by the babbling stream.

Definitely try all of the pools and spas. One might really float your boat.

The restaurant is friendly and pleasant.

The lox and bagel breakfast beats NYC.

There is lots of great hiking nearby, but not from the resort itself.

We enjoyed the trail to Agnes Vaille Falls.

Room Tip: The accommodations are spread out. Look at a map of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBillCorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

... there are some necessary compromises to fully enjoy this facility. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely furnished BUT not particular quiet (surrounded by parking, lots of delivery trucks and lobby noise). The pools are clean but there is little if any enforcement of rules so you could wind up sitting next to a group of smokers (not what one would expect in a spa environment). The restaurant's menu has some mouth watering selections (until you find out they've run out of a number of items, your order is grossly undercooked or came off the Shamrock truck and BTW - no vegetarian entrees). The highlight of our stay was the incredible customer service we experienced at the front desk from Karen and Manda and in the restaurant from Matt and Sharon... I'd stay clear of their bartender and allow the wait staff to handle any of your drink orders. All in all, I will return to this spot for the somewhat remote healing waters, friendly staff and beautiful hiking trails nearby BUT I'll take ear plugs and my own martini shaker!

Room Tip: Request late check out to maximize soak time and a quiet room to maximize rest time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InfiniteRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for my nephew's wedding. What amazing views of the Rocky Mountains! Cabins were very spacious and very clean. We stayed right next to the Spa which was great for the pool and hot springs. The grounds are beautiful and kept up very well. The staff were all very pleasant and helped all of us from out of town during our visit. Loved the water yoga classes in the mornings - one of my favorite parts! We did not eat in the restaurant but we did eat in the spa and it was a little pricey but sandwiches were yummy. Loved falling asleep every night to the river running by our cabin. Highly recommend for couples and families. They also helped me book a horse ride, which was fantastic.

Room Tip: Cabins are so cute and fun but pricey. Loved the location of our cabin right next to the spa and ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Like others, we were wary of the resort based on other reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised. The cabins are very nice and roomy. The spa facility is excellent and tastefully decorated. The pools and hot springs are very nice - they have done an excellent job of keeping some of the history but making sure it meets todays requirements. The restaurant was particularly nice - Gary is one of the nicest, most helpful people I have ever come across. Generally speaking, all of the employees at the resort had good attitudes and wanted to help make your stay better. We plan to return to the resort again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are please to hear you enjoyed your stay at the resort. We have spent the past few years updating our accommodations in order to uplift our guests’ experience.

The resort has so much to offer including all of our pools that are fed by natural hot springs water and Chalk Creek where are natural hot springs are located. It is nice that you were able to utilize both, but we will reiterate to staff the need to orient guests more thoroughly.

We hope you will come back for a visit again. Thank you for your business.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had seen some mixed reviews on this resort, so was a bit wary on arrival. What a wonderful surprise! I had reserved a cabin and was given a 2 bedroom one overlooking the lower pools. Its not a bad walk across the road to the pools from there but I opted to drive (not lazy, just real bad knees) and never had a problem finding a spot. The resort seemed pretty full, but people are spread out all over, so you don't get that crowded resort feel. We cooked in our cabin, so didn't try the food there. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Towels can be found at all the pools easily. The pools were awesome!! My wife (not a water person) can't wait to go back. I would go back for sure, but maybe when its a bit cooler than the 80's!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 4 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
8.0 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
12.4 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Property: Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing