We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, mediocre accommodations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This could be an excellent place but it seems that they have let things go. The floor if our cabin was filthy and the kitchen wasn't very clean. We had to unload the dishwasher, which was running when we arrived. There were no blinds on the sliding glass door and so the main room was in full view of the cabin above. There was slime in the otherwise beautiful upper pool, and while the pool staff were very nice, the desk staff were rude. They do not offer full housekeeping, toothbrushes or any extras. Didn't try the restaurant or the lower pools. I would say that they need new management.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeneliz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your feedback, we truly value your opinion. It is upsetting to read a review such as this. We strive to maintain a high level of service for all of our guests both overnight and otherwise. Our deepest apologies that the service provided did not meet your standards.

Due to the high volume of arrivals during the summer season, our housekeeping staff cleans the kitchen and places the dishes in the dishwasher which is run while they move on to the next cabin. When time allows, our houseman unloads the dishes after the wash cycle has been completed. We apologize this did not happen for you.

We offer complimentary toiletries at the Spa & Club and are planning on extending this service to the front desk. Our maintenance staff is inventorying needed replacements and will resurface floors as occupancy allows.

This is not the standard of service at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort and we would encourage you to give us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Again, thank you for your review as well as your business.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
There are newer reviews for Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,283 - 1,289 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I recently got married at Mount Princeton and could not have asked anything more for this amazing beautiful place!! Zelma and Erin (wedding coordinators at Mount Princeton) where incredible gracious and kind. They always responded to my questions quickly and asked often what they could do to help.
On the day before we were able to set everything up and Leo and the wedding setup crew were AMAZING. They helped everything go smoothly and were able to make everything go easier and even went above and beyond to help out. They were incredibly nice and sweet. The night of the wedding George the night security detail saved my butt! He helped me do the last minute changes I needed to do for the wedding AND brought me coffee while I was trying to finish. Incredibly sweet. Even at our rehearsal dinner they brought us chairs and tables by the cabins so we could have a successful bbq. I'm telling you. You cannot find a staff more accommodating. My husband and I have been up here before for previous anniversaries and have never had a bad experience. We love having weekend getaways in the nice hot springs and chatting with all the people that come to this gorgeous space.
We did have some little problems with our cabin, BUT the staff fixed these quickly and with no trouble at all. We would let them know what was going on and they would fix it within an hour.

My husband and I love this place because it is NOT corporate, but it still has the great amenities of one. I hate going to places that are corporate and you are constantly pestered by the staff to buy this, buy that, upgrade to this. This staff leaves you ALONE, but also is easy for you to find when you need them. If you want a true weekend GETAWAY from the crazy life. This is the place.

Room Tip: I recommend staying the lodge for couples. Its a tad bit more money, but the pools are so close its...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TH816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to congratulate you again on your recent nuptials. We are pleased to hear that we were able to create a memorable event for you and your loved ones.

All of our staff members want the absolute best for our guests and go above and beyond to provide the best service possible. We are very lucky to have them as a part of our company and we greatly appreciate your encouragement.

We wish you the best of luck in your new marriage and hope you are able to come back to celebrate with us year after year. Thank you for your kind review.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here as part of a wedding party and I was hugely impressed with the cabins! Very spacious, clean, and well-appointed. Not to mention cute! The hot tubs and pools and waterslide were fun, and wading in the river to feel the different temperatures was simply amazing. I didn't try any of the spa services, but the gym was good and the locker rooms very nice and well-stocked.

Nice hiking trails all around, or you could just bask in the sun by a pool... something for everyone!

I could easily see turning this into a family reunion site in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdobbins_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your kind feedback. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our pool and gym facilities.

It is our hope that you will be able to visit again sometime soon and take part in everything else Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort and the surrounding area has to offer.

Thank you again.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are nice and clean with new finishes and fixtures (a must) with comfy beds. The grounds are really nice with everything you may need- they even have a little food mart and gas. The views are awesome and we really enjoyed the hot springs- although it took us a day to figure out the river had hot springs not just the pools.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had been to the hot springs previously and loved it! I organized a girls weekend and was disappointed by the service at the spa and restaurant. At the spa, my friend booked an hour massage and was given a nice robe and slippers. I booked one also and was given a very ratty worn out robe! I hate for one little thing to ruin an experience but the old work robe did not seem very spa-like to me. The room and soaking pools war nice however!

Room Tip: do not accidentally book a non-smoker room if you are nonsmoker
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockchalk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I apologize for your issue with the robes at the Spa and the poor service you received in the restaurant. We have purchased more luxury robes provide consistent excellence for all spa guests. Our restaurant service has been addressed about the consistency of their service as well.

We would like to invite you back so that we are able to have a second chance at surpassing your expectations. If you are ever in the area please, introduce yourself to a member of our management team so that we can guarantee a pleasant experience.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

First of all we love Joann who has worked at mount Princeton since we started going there 4 years ago. She is super sweet and its always great to see her. This trip we met Gary who was hosting at the restaurant and he went out of his way to be helpful to the bar/wait staff. It was our last meal at the venue before leaving and Gary made us leave on the best note possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnelson2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kindly worded review. We appreciate your feedback and business. It is wonderful to know that you have had positive experiences with both Joanna and Gary. They are exemplary members of our team here at the resort.

We love receiving feedback from repeat guests so again, we thank you. We will be looking forward to your return.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family has stayed in both the main lodge and up on the hill across the county road. WIFI is only available in the main lodge. It did extend back to the lodge room we stayed in. The hillside rooms are tight. There are two queen beds and some sort of lounge chair crammed in between one of the beds and the window. There is no upright chair to sit in. Drinking beer while lying down gets quite old! There is no outdoor seating outside of the hillside rooms either (bring your own folding chairs). It would be nice to be able to sit outside of your room and checkout the great view. The room was clean. Be prepared, even the cold water is hot! Walkways have been updated to be a brick path. The adult spa area is nice, new, and clean. The restaurant is pricy compared to the great restaurants in Buena Vista – many of which are GF or have organic choices. The beef at Mt Princeton restaurant is most likely injected since the menu didn’t state otherwise (hormones/antibiotics). The tall white dude that is the night bartender in the lodge gets a little crabby if kids sit next to his bar. Unfortunately the front door is right next to the bar. The grounds are nice, but there is a little trash here and there. Cabins are available. If you can afford one try to get one on the same side of the county road as the spa. Also, bring your own food and drink and skip the restaurant. Most nearby adventure activities start before the restaurant opens or soon after.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.1 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
478 reviews
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
7.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
203 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range: $143 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing