We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,996)
Filter reviews
1,996 results
Traveler rating
1,002
580
224
116
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
580
224
116
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscliffside roombuena vistajuice barrelaxation poolthe riverupper poolbath housefamily poolspa areaadult poolghost townhot poolsprinceton hot springslarge cabinovernight guestscascading poolslocker room
Filter
Updating list...
1,654 - 1,659 of 1,996 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family has stayed in both the main lodge and up on the hill across the county road. WIFI is only available in the main lodge. It did extend back to the lodge room we stayed in. The hillside rooms are tight. There are two queen beds and some sort of lounge chair crammed in between one of the beds and the window. There is no upright chair to sit in. Drinking beer while lying down gets quite old! There is no outdoor seating outside of the hillside rooms either (bring your own folding chairs). It would be nice to be able to sit outside of your room and checkout the great view. The room was clean. Be prepared, even the cold water is hot! Walkways have been updated to be a brick path. The adult spa area is nice, new, and clean. The restaurant is pricy compared to the great restaurants in Buena Vista – many of which are GF or have organic choices. The beef at Mt Princeton restaurant is most likely injected since the menu didn’t state otherwise (hormones/antibiotics). The tall white dude that is the night bartender in the lodge gets a little crabby if kids sit next to his bar. Unfortunately the front door is right next to the bar. The grounds are nice, but there is a little trash here and there. Cabins are available. If you can afford one try to get one on the same side of the county road as the spa. Also, bring your own food and drink and skip the restaurant. Most nearby adventure activities start before the restaurant opens or soon after.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My brothers wedding was held here last weekend and it was a great location and people to host such an event. The staff was fantastic and the venue was perfect. Swimming and soaking in any of the 5 pools or the natural springs down by the river is a great way to spend a weekend. The juice bar is full of great employes Jackie A., Michael S., and Eric were amazing people and made it easy to enjoy the pools with some delicious cocktails! I would highly suggest Eric's water Mellon margaritas or Jackie's delicious freshly juiced bloodies. The area is also full of amazing hiking locations and very scenic views from just about any where at the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carnyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After camping on the mountain and successfully climbing to the summit a dip in the hot springs,good meal, and comfortable bed was all we thought about. Without reservations,we asked for availability to find one room left; we took it it was on the hillside with a good view, although not as good as our last stay. A large room with two kingsize beds and spotlessly clean and quite. A good long soak in the river before going to the adult springs area for a cold beverage. Sitting in one of the pools looking up to the 14000 ft. peak where we were earlier in the day. all was right. Off to dinner at the on sight restaurant in another review.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfisher132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our extended family gathered at this resort for a long weekend. Many families stayed in the cabins and also the Cliffside rooms. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin, near the creek, and it was fantastic. Clean, comfortable, plenty of room! Our kids, ages 12 & 10, really enjoyed the upper pool as there was a water slide. The pool was crowded, but not so much that the kids couldn't have fun and enjoy swimming, playing and using the waterslide. There were other pools to use and one could also relax by sitting in the "warm spots" in the creek. The resort staff was friendly and eager to offer any assistance. I was a little surprised at the distance our cabin was away from the lodge and the upper pool, but it wasn't a huge issue for our family. If you want to be able to walk to the upper pool then I would definitely make sure to request that when making a reservation. Our family had breakfast at the lodge - friendly waitstaff, good food and nice size servings. We did go horseback riding at one of the local stables and that was fun. Several family members went on hikes around the area. The area surrounding the resort is just beautiful. There isn't good cell phone/internet service at the resort, so that could be bothersome for some people. Overall, it was a pleasant experience for our family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDWood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Mt. Princeton is on old resort that has been updating its facilities in an attempt to become a modern five-star resort. They have certainly gotten the pricing right for a top 5-star resort. Unfortunately, they still have a way to go for everything else. They need to have their service and facilities catch up with their pricing - then this resort will truly be top notch. GOOD: Our kids liked the family pool and the water slide. NEEDS WORK: For the price we paid, we expected a luxury resort and while they are trying, this is by no means luxury. Twice during our short stay the pool ran out of towels. The attendant shrugged and just said they were out. In a 5-star place, the attendant would have apologized and offered to bring towels to us as soon as they got more in. Our room was a very plain motel room. Spacious, but nothing special. Check-in was chaotic with a very long line - we were waiting about 40 minutes to check in and the clerk didn't apologize for the wait. The older hot springs pool was a little dirty - not kept up so nicely. There are also some newer pools in an adult-only area that was very nice. The workout room was quite small.
In summary, this place wasn't terrible at all - our kids had fun, the room was fine, etc. But for the money you can get a much better value at more established resort hotels in or near Aspen or Vail. Other Colorado hot springs (Glenwood, Steamboat) are cheaper and just as nice if not nicer. If you want to splurge and be pampered at a luxurious resort, this place misses the mark somewhat. It seems they are trying to upgrade, but they need to work on service and amenities first and then increase their rates. Seems they got it a little backward.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews