We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 by Wyndham Buena Vista(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Vista Inn(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites(Salida)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Ridge Lodge(Salida)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loyal Duke Lodge(Salida)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Circle R Motel(Salida)(Great Value!)
$119
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Salida)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,838)
Filter reviews
1,838 results
Traveler rating
902
542
213
111
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
902
542
213
111
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscliffside roombuena vistajuice barupper poolrelaxation poolthe riverbath housefamily poolspa areaadult poolghost townprinceton hot springshot poolslarge cabinlocker roomcascading poolsthe main lodge
Filter
Updating list...
1,542 - 1,547 of 1,838 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was my third time in Mt Princeton Hot Springs and I always love to come back. Even though I travelled a lot through the US since 2009 (Utah, Arizona, Nevada, California, ...), this is definitely my favorite spot.

Beautiful mountains, St Elmo, waterfalls, fairly close to Aspen via Independence Pass, Twin Lakes, ... plenty of attractions, e.g. horseback riding, white water rafting, biking, hiking, camping.

Resort itself is very nice, both cliffside rooms and cabins were very clean and in perfect shape every time I stopped by. Staff was very friendly and helpful, I never had any problems. Once the AC in our room stopped working, but it was immediately temporarily replaced with box fans and fixed the day after.

I would recommend this place to anyone who loves to enjoy Colorado from a relaxing and peaceful place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BugsBunny335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the encouraging review of your stay. We greatly appreciate your business and feedback.

It is always nice hearing that repeat guests enjoy their time spent at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs. Sounds like you are an avid traveler and to call Mt. Princeton your “favorite spot” is a huge compliment.

We are fortunate to be in such a beautiful area with so many activities to participate in. It is a pleasure to see our guests take advantage of the awesome things to do in the region.

We hope to see you back for a visit in the future. Thank you again.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The resort was clean and the staffs were friendly. The resort's exclusive pool was quieter than the public pools so I would highly recommend staying at the resort to gain access to this place. The spa was great! However, this place is more suitable for families than couples. My stay was relaxing but the ambiance was not romantic.

Room Tip: We stayed in Hillside. Even though from the outside looked like motels, the inside was clean and furniture was updated. It was sufficient for us to have a relaxing holiday.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San_n_B0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our Spa & Club is the newest addition to the resort and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere.

I apologize that all aspects of your stay did not fulfill your expectations. Perhaps a stay in one of our cabins would provide you with the ambiance you are looking for? We hope you will come back for a visit in the future. We would love a second chance to provide you with a wonderful vacation.

Thank you again.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went there as we were travelling accross the US. We heard about the place from our friends who visited it before. They talked us into not believing in any bad reviews. We are so glad they did.

The location and everything else about the resort is absolutely perfect. All resort employees we spoke to were carrying, friendly, welcoming, polite and super professional - from housekeepers, front desk, restaurant, pool and spa to a little country store. Even a maintenance worker helped us find a parking spot when he saw we were struggling finding the right place to park.

We spent only one night, but enjoyed our time at the resort for two whole days. We felt like a part of their family the second day since employees greated us and already remembered us by name. Especially great was a talk dark hair well dressed manager guy who had a nice conversation with us and asked us how we were doing, where we came from and to be sure to let him know if we needed anything. Being from Europe and travelling accross the East and West coast of US we all agreed that we got the best customer service there from all places.

The whole area and mountains are just charming. We enjoyed every bit of it. We loved having to walk to get around the resort. We spent so much time in the car and it was nice for a change. The resort was quite busy and there was a wedding going on, but it was still worth it. Pools are beautiful and you have it all - natural more historical looking pools on one side of the creek and luxury pools and spa on the other side of the creek. You get more of laid-back Colorado feeling at the historical bath house plus relaxing wellness by just crossing the little bridge. Pools were clean for how busy they were and the view was spectacular. Some people vacationing there were not so polite and respectful, and even loud but that is just a nature of the business. We travel so much that we thought it was still better than most places. Plus it was obvious that Management cares about everyone having a good time there.

We all like outdoor activities. We used the concierge help and went rafting, mountain biking and hiking. What a place? They just have it all. We stayed in one of the cabins and we all agreed that we probably never slept in more comfortable bed. Our cabin was also clean. We had everything we needed. We ate on the restaurant deck and it was a nice experience. Service was great and our waitress, hostess and bartender were all so nice and seemed to be a great team. Food was good. Juice bar was the best for us. We like more healthy food.

The whole atmoshpere of that place is amazing. We so wished to have more time to spend there. We didn´t get a chance to enjoy any spa services, but we talked to couple people who did and they were just raving about them.

We found our own "gemstone" in Colorado. Thank you everyone at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort. We will be back one day and we most definitely recommend your place to people travelling to US.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your business. It sounds like you truly experienced a Colorado vacation. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the time spent with us.

We are greatly appreciative of your kind words about our staff. It is top priority to provide every guest with V.I.P. service. It is fantastic that you felt at home while staying with us.

Our Concierge program is something new at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort. It is our goal to make sure our guests know all about the wonderful activities to take part in around the area. So happy to hear you took advantage of this amenity.

We look forward to seeing you back for another stay in the future. Please feel free to introduce yourself to a member of our friendly management team the next time you are in the area.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The website and lobby area portray Mt. Princeton as an upscale resort, but the accommodations were not to that level. We stayed in a Hillside room. Though this is the least expensive room, it was still about $160 per night and was really no more than a typical 3-3.5 star hotel room. There is no inside entrance, rather, each room enters directly from the parking area. The beds and linens were nice with a small flat screen tv and a normal size tub/shower with an extended wide curtain. There was no wi-fi access, which was disappointing. My biggest problem with the accommodations was the lack of anything other than hot (and I mean very hot) water. I learned upon check-out that the hotel uses the hot springs for all of the water in the facility. A 110-degree soak is one thing, but a 110 degree shower each night/morning was no fun. There were two small (16-oz) bottles of water in the room at check-in, but they weren't replaced. Unless you know to ration this (or bring your own water in), you quickly end up with no water to drink, brush teeth, etc. There are some private homes in the same general area of the hotel, so there is certainly access to a regular water supply. Other than the obvious cost savings of not having to pay for water, I have no idea why Mt. Princeton has chosen not to offer this.

We didn't use the spa facilities or the adult pool, but spent time in the soaking pool (108-ish) and the exercise pool (96-98 degrees) on both days. Those pools were comfortable, but neither was very relaxing with a lot of kids running around and no supervision from the hotel staff. The "historic bathhouse" was nothing more than a check-in desk with two changing rooms. The men's changing room had a common shower area (4 shower heads - again, nothing but very hot water) with used towels laying everywhere.

All in all, if I was interested in a hot spring experience in the Buena Vista area I would consider returning to Mt. Princeton, but only on a daily usage rate. The lack of regular water combined with the cost of the room does not justify returning for the accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jayhawk1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I cannot apologize enough that your time at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs did not meet your standards.

Over the past six years, our new ownership has been working diligently to upgrade the facilities in order to meet our guest’s needs. All of our hotel rooms have been completely remodeled and cabins added to the property.

I apologize that you were inconvenienced by the lack of wi-fi access in the rooms. We do offer free wi-fi access for guests in the main lobby of the lodge and at our new Spa & Club. Because of our rural area, it has been a challenge to provide internet access in the rooms and cabins. This is something that we are working on and hope to have completed within the year.

We do provide unlimited complimentary bottles of water for guests. Because Mt. Princeton is a family-friendly resort, we designed the Spa & Club to offer adult guests a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. This new addition to the resort offers a peaceful retreat to enjoy a relaxing soak, massage, or meal at the juice bar. It’s a shame you weren’t able to experience that area of property.

Once again, we apologize for your unsatisfactory stay. We hope you will decide to visit again and utilize our adult-only facilities. Thank you again for your feedback, and your business.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 1 night while on a trip to Colorado in the main lodge. The location was convenient for all pool and natural hot springs. The pools and natural hotsprings were worth the stop and experience. The hotel was average but clean. However, we called twice to have or television/cable fixed and they came but the problem was never resolved. One would have thought upon check out there may have been some sort of compensation but nothing... even when it was mentioned that we were surprised they didn't do anything for our inconvenience. On a plus note the bartender made a great margarita but their crab cakes lacked crab and had an abundance of filler.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Front Office Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. It is nice to know that you were pleased with our swimming/soaking facilities.

I apologize you had issues with the television which we were unable to resolve. We will be using your review as an example to our check-out agents to improve their sensitivity to guest comments.

We hope that you will return again and give Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort the opportunity to provide you with the service and experience you deserve.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews