We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing time at Mt Princeton Hot Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing time at Mt Princeton Hot Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort is well worth the money spent! We stayed 2 nights in the Cliffside room. The room was large and very clean. The patio was nice with an amazing view. A few times we thought there was a mist between the mountains, only to realize it was a cloud. So basically, we were sleeping in the clouds! awe-some-ness! I woke up to an epic sunrise - had to jump out of bed and take a picture!

The spa treatment (massages) were fabulous. We didn't try the juice bar but the concoctions they were making looked tasty. The pools were clean, hot, and uncrowded. At one point, we were in the pool and it started to rain/hail. Small hail stones were keeping us cool while soaking in the hot water. The staff was VERY friendly. Anything we asked from them was met with a smile ! All in all it was a magical experience that wasn't too expensive. We absolutely loved it and will return again and again.

Room Tip: When booking a reservation on the website, check the pull-down bar for monthly specials. We found o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intheknowinlongmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time spent with us. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future. Please feel free to introduce yourself to a member of our management team upon your next visit.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    455
    183
    93
    62
See reviews for
527
529
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent one afternoon and night at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs in May 2013 when we were traveling from Northern Colorado to Albuquerque. Overall, we enjoyed it. We were there during the Spring run-off, so the creek-side pools were not available. Since we were lodging guests, we had access to the newer relaxation pool and adjacent cascading pools. The spa/locker room was spotless and quite luxurious. The spa and bar staff were professional and friendly. Due to the season, we did not have a great variety of pools to choose from (as opposed to say, Pagosa Springs), but the ones that were open were clean and nice. The resort could have done a bit better job enforcing the "no children" rule at the relaxation pool area. The water does not have the sulfurous aroma found at many natural springs.

We stayed in one of the hillside lodging units because we got a bargain rate (about $80 per night). Those are essentially motel units, but ours was very clean, nicely appointed, and comfortable. Those rooms are just above the large public pool and water slide, so we would probably not stay there when those areas are open (noise). The 5 minute walk down to the lodge and pools was not a problem for us.

The bar and restaurant in the lodge are attractive. The food is basically hotel-quality. Some items were good, some were lacking. The wine list was okay and the prices were fair. The kitchen overcooked an order of eggs Benedict, but happily re-did it.

We enjoyed the short drive up to the nearby St. Elmo ghost-town and recommend it.

This was not the best hot springs experience we have ever had (we like the variety at Pagosa and the rustic appeal of Ojo Caliente in New Mexico), but the overall experience was a bit more luxurious and quite nice.

Helpful?
2 Thank TexTri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed 4 nights. We had at the spa resturant and the main resturant. Service was wonderful and food presentation great. Quantity was large portions, more than was needed. I am already wanting to go back.

Room Tip: Cabins by water. #3 and 5 are my favorite. This is not the area you would want to be in if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niv3Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you had a nice time. Hope to see you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a Cliffside room and it was good. The room was large and clean with a patio that had a fantastic view. The spa and relaxation pool (open to just overnight guests) was uncrowded and looked new. The old bath house and its pool looked funky and packed. The resort is in a very picturesque part of Colorado and the drive down on route 285 is very special. Didn't eat at the restaurant it was very busy and loud on Sunday morning.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank honestmiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is such a pleasure to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We greatly appreciate your feedback and your business. We hope to see you back sometime in the future, please be sure to introduce yourself to a member of our management team.

Best Wishes,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall the updated hotel is fantastic. Don't waste your time eating at the restaurant, as the food and service is horrible. Service staff is generally rough and pretty discourteous. Slow waitstaff, untrained bartenders, gruff cleaning staff, unattenyuve front desk personnel... Basically they need to hire new people. Wedding was beautiful though!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celeste2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband & I used to frequent Mt. Princeton for a 1-2 hour soak. We arrived a few days ago to see that property was recently updated. Their website stated $15 for a pass. When we arrived the unfriendly staff asked for $23 and would not honor the prices shown on the website. Will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AprilM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

For our 12 year anniversary, I though Mt. Princeton would be a wonderful place to stay. I originally booked a Hillside room a few days before arriving. Upon arrival we were checked in by a rather surly front desk attendant. We arrived at the room and after trying to make the best of it decided the the room was not remotely worth $143 per night. The Hillside Rooms are similar to a strip motel from the 1960's. Although there are upgraded linens and a rather modern sink fixture, the room was pathetic. Hideous furniture, peeling plaster walls, drapes that do not shut completely, and stained carpet. We headed back to the lodge (where you check in) and told another attendant, who was a very polite and apologetic blonde girl, that the room was unacceptable. She asked us to wait a few minutes and came back to let us know that she was able to upgrade us to a cabin, which is the only reason that I am rating the property a "2". Out of all of the resort staff we encountered, this young woman, the bartender, and the two attedants at the spa (more on this later) were the only individuals who were polite and customer service oriented. The cabin was certainly a nice upgrade with a gas fireplace and a small kitchen area with anything you would need to fix a meal. Instead of eating at the resort we went into Buena Vista and had dinner at one of the many local restaurants.

After spending Saturday exploring the local area and having dinner in Salida, we headed back to the resort and were looking forward to a nice quiet evening in the relaxation pool. We headed down to the pool around 9pm expecting it to be relatively quiet and RELAXING. Yep, you guessed it, not so much. The Spa area is absolutely beautiful with comfortable chairs, a place to get a drink, and the locker rooms are very nice. The two desk attendants were polite and welcoming. The pool water was comfortable but this was not a quiet area as advertised. Between the 14-18 year olds and the college kids who thought it was appropriate to drink beer and do hand stands underwater, it became very loud, very quickly. We waited it out thinking they would head over to the hot tubs after a bit, but unfortunately that didn't happen. As we were leaving one of the attendants asked if we had enjoyed our "soak." I made a comment that it wasn't nearly as quiet as I expected and it was crappy the let the kids take over. His comment was there had been a wedding earlier and they were just relaxing. We weren't the only adults (between 35-55) who left as the college kids and teenagers were beginning to get loud and obnoxious.

When we checked out this morning we weren't asked how our stay was, did we have a nice time, or any other number of pleasantries one is typically asked by hotel staff. Instead they processed our card and handed us the receipt. I normally don't take the time to write reviews, but the website may lead you to believe that this is a 4-star resort with wonderful service and amenities. It's not. Truly a disappointment and as an event/conference planner I will never recommend this "resort" to anyone. Instead get yourself a decent room at either the Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn in Salida and get day passes to the Salida Hot Springs. You'll be much happier and save a few bucks as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 445DenverTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
7.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Property: Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing