We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing! Clean and mature!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Being a local to the BV area I would say Mt. Princeton Hot Springs beats any of the other hot springs in the area. I noticed there are a few negative reviews of Mt. Princeton. Please take this from a local. IF YOUR GOING TO VISIT CHAFFEE COUNTY!!! Do yourself a favor and stay here! If you don't enjoy your stay at Mt. Princeton then you not going to enjoy it anywhere!! PS: Not the place to go if you can't live w/o your cell phone, if that's you then just stay in the city! :)

Thank you Mt. Princeton!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtPrincetonMngmt, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are proud to be a part of the Chaffee County experience and share a unique aspect of the Rocky Mountains with our visitors.

We are glad you enjoy our hot springs and thank you for supporting local business!

Best Wishes,
Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Reosrt Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,440 - 1,446 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed at Mount Princeton just the past couple of days and had a completely Zen-ish blissful time. I would recommend staying at Mount Princeton in order to get the full experience of the spa building and pools as well as the general admittance pools. We went during the week so it was not overly crowded. We also partook in the January stay-one-night-get-the-second-night-free special and so our value was stupendous.

After some -25 degree nights in Steamboat Springs, the 40-degree weather, blue skies, and glorious peaks were welcomed. I enjoyed lounging in the creekside pools in the afternoon, the cascading pools in the AM, and hopping around the other pools throughout the day. The new spa building is incredible, and the staff there was incredibly polite and helpful. I would not want to use the historic spa building's locker rooms, however, and the attendant there was downright rude. Needless to say, I took full advantage of our overnight stay and used the spa building, enjoyed the juice bar, and enjoyed all of the pools. There is a great variety of pools available for overnight guests.

We stayed in a Cliffside room and were extremely pleased. Since it was winter, we drove to the pools and it was not a hassle at all. The rooms were very clean, had all of the amenities that we needed or wanted, and, most importantly, were PET-FRIENDLY!!! So we were able to bring our three dogs with us and enjoy the luxuries as well. Some resorts simply do not allow animals, and this was a very important aspect for us as we have older and special needs dogs.

We also dined at the restaurant, and were kinda disappointed. The ambiance and the wine list were great, but both the service and the food were just okay for what we payed for the dinner. I would definitely recommend more vegetarian options, and either raising the quality of service and food or lowering the prices.

But enough of that...the whole experience in its entirety was one of the best I've ever had. I definitely was able to reach a state of bliss here. Thank you Mount Princeton!!!

Room Tip: Cliffside rooms are wonderfully sunny and the patio is great. The drive is worth the privacy and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellynboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtprincetonagent, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to hear that your stay at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort was so relaxing.

It is always a pleasure having guests during the week. We are grateful for our guests that take time out of their busy schedules and make arrangements to visit when we are a little less busy. It is so nice that you were able to endure the cold temperatures to spend sometime with us!

We are so pleased to hear that we were able to meet your expectations and encourage you to come back for a visit sometime in the very near future.

Thank you for your business and the time spent writing this review. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My family and I booked a cabin around Thanksgiving. The description of the cabin read 'One bedroom with a king size bed, two queen size beds in loft, queen size sofa pullout in living room and one bathroom.' Well when we got there the Master bedroom did not have a king sized bed and the queens seemed more like doubles. We had to utilize the pullout sofa but the extra sheets and blankets were no where to be found. It was late, there were no phones in the cabin and there was no cell service so we made due with what we had. Upon returning home I notified the resort of the issues and in return they provided a 10% discount coupon to be used on my next visit. The coupon expired in 3 weeks. I was appalled. $375 for one night and I did not get what I paid for. Such a rip off. Next time I will be sure to spend that money on a condo in Breck rather than this poorly run waste of money resort.

Oh, and if you are looking for the extra sheets, they are in the entertainment center, not the linen closet (because that makes sense).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColoradoGirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtprincetonagent, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are so sorry to hear that your stay at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort did not meet your expectations. The description that you quoted is correct. All of our cabins are set up identically. Our apologies if something was misconstrued to make you so unhappy. The beds that you describe as being ‘doubles’, are indeed queen sized beds. We do not have double beds anywhere on property.

Our cabins have been set up to best suit the needs of our guests. Because the sofa sleeper is located in the living room, we have found it to be most convenient for our guests to place the extra linens in the drawer of the T.V. stand. We are sorry that this became an inconvenience in your case.

Once again, we are saddened to hear that your stay at the resort did not meet your expectations.

We hope you give us the opportunity to change your opinion of this establishment. That is why we provided you with a voucher for 10% off your next stay, which was extended to be good for an entire year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This natural hot springs location in Nathrop, CO is a hidden gem in the real mountains of Colorado. If you need luxury 5-star accommodations, this isn't the place for you. However, if you appreciate the rustic elegance of amenities in the middle of the beautiful Colorado mountains in mining land, then you would appreciate the slate tile, electricity, and basic accommodations. The resort has come leaps and bounds from where it was in the 80s, and is now a coveted wedding venue. The cliffside rooms are motel style, but somewhat remote so it doesn't matter. The patio has great views and the walking distance to the slide pool is great. The lodge has decent food with fair prices and has a surprisingly swanky feel. It's as modern as it gets near Mt. Princeton. If you're high maintenance, you don't belong near Mt. Antero. This place is for real Coloradoans or visitors who want a taste of the less sophisticated, but underrated outdoor lifestyle.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alyssaskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtprincetonagent, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take a moment to thank you, both for your business and this well written review.

Since 2005 we have worked tirelessly to renovate our rooms and have made updates to the resort as a whole. It is our goal to provide guests with the most comfortable and enjoyable stay as possible.

It is such pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time spent at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort and that you were able to truly take advantage of the beauty that surrounds us.

We hope to see you again sometime in the very near future. Be sure to introduce yourself to our staff and management the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Everyone was so nice and helpful! We stayedin the cliff side rooms. They were very nice and spacious and the view from the room is amazing. The resort is very spread out, I'm sure this is nice in the summer months but in the winter be prepared to drive to the pools,lodge... The hot springs were very nice and clean! Make sure you start out in the spa and club building. They are just for guest staying overnight and they are much nicer than the historic bathhouse. If you forget your toothbrush, razor, sunscreen...they have all this for your disposal. If you eat at the restaurant make sure you try the bread, they have someone make it fresh everyday for them and its awesome!! Enjoyed my time and will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silverstreak32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtprincetonagent, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and your patronage. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves while staying the the resort.

We hope that you are able to visit again soon, please make sure to introduce yourself the next time you are in the area. Our staff and management love getting to know our repeat guests.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Mount Princeton is a wonderful getaway. I have been there several times and stayed in all there different rooms including the cabins. Over the years I have never had a bad experience, and seen many improvement be put into the resort. It is a great place. One of the best I have been to.

Room Tip: the cabins are great for large groups.. Cliff side rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scorebane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtprincetonagent, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort would like to take this time to thank you for patronage and this review.

It is wonderful hearing the opinions of repeat guests and just want you to know that we are so very thankful for you.

We hope to see you again sometime in the future, please be sure to introduce yourself to our friendly staff and management the next time you are in the area, we would love the opportunity to thank you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have been to Mt. Princeton hot springs and spa 6 times ib the last 4 years. My husband and I got married here also. Everything was wonderful we love this place! We had a perfect wedding with perfect service! Love the spa too!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gon14n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtprincetonagent, Manager at Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time spend at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort

The Historic Bath House was built in the late 1800’s. We have done our best to keep the historical value of the building intact while still creating a relaxing environment for guests to enjoy. The Spa and Club opened in February 2012. It is something we designed with our overnight guests in mind and we are very proud of what we are now able to offer.

It is great that you have had the opportunity to enjoy both of these venues and we hope you will be back to experience Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort at its finest, time and time again.

Please introduce yourself to our staff and management during your next visit. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
8.1 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
507 reviews
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Great Western Colorado Lodge
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
7.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range: $144 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing