We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome new spa and improved lodging!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I love the brand new over 16 pool and hot springs. The new spa building and facilities is fabulous! There is even a new done if it is windy. Great work and awesome service. Thank you for a wonderful birthday experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyKearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,448 - 1,454 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

With 14,00 foot snow covered peaks as a back drop the views are stunning. Except for the person working reception, who was very helpful, the rest of the staff seemed disinterested at best. Breakfast and coffee service was not scheduled to start till 8:00 AM, but was always late. Housekeeping's idea of making up the room was to pull the sheets and leave some clean towels, not always taking the dirty ones.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fly_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was not our first trip to Mt. Princeton Hot Springs, but it is the first time we stayed in a lodge room and spent time in the guest only pools, so I wanted to review again. I am giving a 5 star rating based on the wonderful time we had, although the property is probably a 3-4 star one, depending on which room you stay in.

The previous trip advisor reviews are accurate, so let me say this: if you are expecting a super fancy resort spa experience, you will be disappointed. If you are expecting a unique stay at an older hotel/motel with some nice services in a beautiful remote area, you will love it. I would describe it as Colorado clean; clean enough in the middle, just don't look too hard at the corners.

We stayed in a lodge annex room (which is a lodge room with an extra bedroom attached). It was nice to walk to the pools and restaurant, but we will stay in a Cliffside room next time. Why? Having a patio on the Cliff rooms was great, and it's quieter and brighter. Yes, you will have to drive to the pools, but that is not the deal breaker it seems (the drive is down a hill, that's it). The lodge room had been redone, but it's obvious that it's an older room with some new furniture. It was clean in general, but my husband found a hair in the new sheets on one bed (fortunately there are 3 beds in an annex room, so we went with one of the other ones). This would be a great room if you have kids, since there is privacy in the extra room...but then you'll be driving the kids up to the Hillside pool where there is the giant slide (in the summer). Which again, not a deal breaker.

So...the nicer rooms are further from the pools, and you are away from the hustle and bustle (if you can call it that) of the lodge. If you like the social atmosphere of the bar and having the restaurant and services right there, go for the lodge.

The new spa was lovely, clean showers and everything you need. The new guest only pool was great, it was enclosed by a tent in the winter (they can't keep it hot enough otherwise) so you were swimming in a steamy indoor pool, lots of fun. If you are thinking of swimming under the stars, you need to go to the other pools (which we also thought were great). We used the smaller guest only pools too, but after awhile we noticed it was a little skeevy; the pools run a stream from the top pool to the bottom pool...so if you are in the top pool (a little bigger than a hot tub) you have fresh hot water...by the time it flows down to pool 3, the water has cooled off and brought dirt and hair down to that lower pool. At night we didn't notice but during the day we could see the dirt...again, these are outdoor hotsprings and there will be some dirt in the water, but we went back to the larger pool after my husband kept saying, "We're soaking in people soup".

We had a decent breakfast at the restaurant; would love a little more attetion to detail--for example, the fried potatoes seem like the frozen kind they fry up; but no spices were used on them so they were okay but bland. Also, the fruit that comes on the side was from the previous day, it was starting to dry up and was definitely not cut that morning. We both liked our eggs, but was surprised that the room coffee was better than the restaurant coffee.

If you are visiting, bring some food. You will have a small refrigerator and will be glad to have something to eat, there is nothing near by and the restaurant has limited hours. We also brought a gallon of water, we found the coffee tastes better when made with it.

I'll say it again: lower your expectations and expect a mountain motel/hotel with some awesome ammenities, and you will have an amazing time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColoradoPetLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The resort is spotless in appearance. Our room high above on the hill was gigantic, with an unbelievable view of the mountains. No. 20 I recall. Out your door is hiking, biking, climbing, or just soaking in the hot springs pools or in the river bed, which I recommend. Be careful climbing on the slippery rocks, but well worth it. Restaurant on site with convention hall great for any occasion.We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfisher132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Jus spent a weekend at Mt Princeton - the trip was a surprise for my visit home from Afghanistan. From the online reservations to special requests and the actual visit the ntire trip was spectacular. The facility has been very well updated, the staff is unbelievably professional and friendly, I cannot speak highly enough about our weekend there. This is definitely a new annual trip!

Room Tip: For couples we suggest the lodge, it is great - for the family we suggest the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpthewiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is a bit off the main trail but is definitely worth the drive. We were celebrating our 25th Anniversary and wanted to visit a Hot Springs. We weren't able to stay at the lodge but they looked beautiful. The view at this place is hard to describe.. So peaceful and nestled in the mountains. We went just for the Hot Springs but said we should plan a Christmas family get together here. The springs were a good temperature. There were 3 different pools so you could choose the temp you want. There are changing rooms at the lower and upper pools. The upper pool is geared more for families with a small waterslide and floaties. There are also lots of beach chairs to relax on. The lower springs is a warmer spring and is nestled along the river so as you sit in the springs you can relax to the sound of the river slowing and it is as if you were in Heaven. You can walk in the river as it is shallow. There is a little store to buy souvenirs and snacks. Looks like there was horse riding available near by. We didn't try the restaurant since we were just there for the afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Some of our best vacation stops have been by chance and our stop at Mt. Princeton Hot Springs was one of these. This is a beautiful Lodge nestled in a magestic setting. We enjoyed many of the hot spring pools and made time for the steam room. This was such a relaxing break from hiking and driving in the mountains.
With that said, what made this stay so much more enjoyable for us is the people. Not just the other guests we met but the many staff workers throughout this resort. Entering this grand lodge, we were greeted by Joyce - Guest Services who gave us an assortment of options to choose from for our stay and could not have been more friendly. She was so helpful sorting out our choices.
Inside the Lodge, we stopped at the bar and met Megan, another angel that took time to enlighten us on some of the finer points of the area and also how to enjoy the many pools at the resort. These tips were so helpful. She made us feel at home so we had dinner right at the bar and enjoyed the company of fellow guests, the food was excellent.
I think it's easy to find places w/ clean sheets and nice amenities but the real pleasure of a good experience is the staff. The personality of people like Joyce, Megan and so many more (whose names I can't remember) that treat you like friends is the key and why we truly love Mt Princeton Hot Springs. thank you.

Room Tip: Bring your flip-flops when walking out to the Hot Springs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol-Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
8.1 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
506 reviews
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Great Western Colorado Lodge
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
7.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range: $143 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing