We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daughter's Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Daughter's Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Last Saturday, September 22, we held my daughter's wedding at Mount Princeton. We had considered several venues in Denver and the mountains but none came close to the total package of amenities, food quality, service and price which we found here. We booked in March, 2011 so that we had the perfect date for the annual leaf change. The weather was perfect as always and the guests from around the country and even Europe were blown away. I can't say enough about the attention to detail by the special events coordinator, Zelma Warren, who made sure every item was attended to. Chef Leo prepared an outstanding meal which I feel was the best dinner I have ever had at any wedding.. He even went to the trouble of preparing two unique salad dressings specifically for this meal, a three berry vinigrette and a creamy goat cheese one. The hall is totally unlike the normal rooms available for weddings with glass doors around three sides which can be opened for ventilation and and an unreal view of the Collegite Peaks from the west side of the hall. We had first visited Mount Princeton 20 years ago and at that time it was quite "rustic". New owners took over approximately 10 years ago and since that time they renovated and added many new facilities including modern cabins, pools, the event hall and the spa building this past spring. This was the perfect place for our extended families to celebrate the wedding and just chill out for a few days and catch up on our lives. There are endless activities in the area including rafting, hiking, horseback riding, fly fising and just enjoying the scenary while sitting in the hot springs. I couldn't imagine a better venue for this wedding considering all the aspects involved. I want to thank Zelma, Chef Leo and the staff for the for providing great service and a memorable experience that the participants will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    449
    182
    93
    61
See reviews for
516
522
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've been coming here for 3 years now, and it keeps getting better. The pools are great, and the new spa building that overnight guests have access to, is really nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant is actually pretty decent.

However, this last visit we stayed in the "cliffside" rooms, at the top of a short road from the main resort area, and both nights we had noise issues. Bottom line is that these rooms were not built with sufficient noise isolation, the last thing you want when going to a getaway resort for rest and relaxation. We could hear conversations (and other things) from the adjacent room. It was kind of a nightmare. Almost made me never want to come here again, but I'll just stay in the cabins, simple as that.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the cliffside cabins unless you take earplugs and are willing to use them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The resort itself is seated in the beautiful Colorado mountains-close to the old ghost town of St. Elmo. Beware...when you are told that your room is on the "hillside" this means that your have a small cheesy HOTEL room-which is located far enough away from the main resort that you would have no idea what you were in for. This room went for $175 and it definitely WAS NOT worth it. The room numbers for these rooms: 21-40.

Room Tip: DO NOT take a room on the "hillside".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wise179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Loved the view from the Cliffside room. The restaurant had great service and food. Especially enjoyed the private for guests only hot pools. I liked the laid back atmosphere where everyone was friendly and no one was uptight! Nice hikes along the road to St. Elmo too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gailannod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the resort this past July and got married there and our experience was nothing but positive! My entire family from all over the US also stayed at the resort and they all really enjoyed it as well. I was so impressed with the entire staff especially Zelma Warren. They all went above and beyond to make not only our stay perfect but my entire families as well. Everyone we met who worked at the resort was so kind and really made us feel welcome! The food was great, our room was very clean and really nice and the resort pools and creeks were awesome. I was really impressed with the new spa as well. It was great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped there on the way to Colorado Spring from Aspen. So glad we did.
My son had a blast on the $5 unlimited water slide and Chalk Creek which has many different temp small\tiny pool. Water is crystal clear and not taste salty like other hot spring. We spent almost 5 hr there.


Tip:
1. bring a water shoe if u want to venture out in Chalk Creek
2. bring some picnic food, if u plan to stay there more than 2 hr since there's no snack bar on site.

Only con i can think of is that there's not place to sit on the big hot spring pool u have to stand in the water.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tx_pearland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Not many places where you can sit in a creek bed and have warm water & no odor. Great staff, amazing cabins, the new pools & spas are a great addition and indicate a commitment to ongoing improvements. Will go back again & again. Yes, some parts of the resort are older, but not many areas have not been renovated - adds to the charm of the place, very cool history.

Room Tip: Cabins right by the creek are great and fairly private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
8.0 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Property: Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing