We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for a friend's wedding and we really enjoyed our time. We stayed in a poolside room that was nothing special, but was clean and comfortable. The bathroom looks like it has been renovated recently, and was very nice.

Being from Texas, we were nervous about the idea of no air conditioning, even in September. But, it wasn't a problem at all. Each room has a box fan, and in the afternoons that was plenty- or we just opened the window.

The wedding was outdoor and the reception in the event hall on site. It was all beautiful, temperature was great during the wedding but got cold after the sun went down.

The views were great and we really enjoyed exploring the area around it a bit. A short drive into the town had some great food, and driving into the mountains was a treat. Walking around the grounds of the resort was fun, and in the evenings we saw lots of deer.

The only negative was the food; the restaurant was pretty expensive and the food was just okay. But it wasn't bad enough to take away from the other positives of our stay.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeaH1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,509 - 1,515 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

The room we stayed in (cliffside lodge) was spacious, clean and adequately furnished, but not anything luxurious. What you come here for are the mountain views and the hot springs, both of which do not disappoint. While the present "spa" facility is rather "worn", a brand new spa center is under construction adjacent to the present building that should be ready for the Christmas season.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ron11_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed in a 6 person cabin. It was clean & had everything you could need. We were there for a wedding & the reception venue & food was fabulous. Hot tubs by the pool were great. We saw a room in the cliffside area, used for a hospitality room & it was very nice, so was the one next to it - I wouldn't complain at all. Viewing the stars here was amazing from the hot tub at night (obviously). We thought it was too cold, but it was perfect. I would go back again.

Room Tip: Great place to stay or have an event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherryOrndorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I learned to swim in the original Mt Princeton Hot Spring pool 50 years ago. I've observed the several times of prosperity and trials for this resort in the years since. This is a time of wonderful growth and deserving favorable acclaim for this welcome oasis tucked in a unique, beautiful gulch-surrounded by the majesty of the Chalk Cliffs, Mt. Antero and Mt Princeton. Nearby are fabled ghost towns and numerous climbers-choice mountain peaks. The views are incomparable- from the porch of your nicely apppointed cabin, the resturant, the 3 hot spring pools, or your personal hot soaking pool within the roaring mountain stream. I stayed a week in lodge cabin 2B this September- it was wonderful. The cabins are new, nicely appointed and spotless. Enjoyed my hot chocolate each morning early on the front porch (peaceful) and then off to climb Antero, Princeton, walk about St. Elmo ghost town, grab a burger at the Lariat Saloon in Buena Vista, hike to Agnus Veils Falls, drive to Mt. Elbert and the Twin Lakes area, etc. Breakfast in the resturant was very good as was the service. The staff at the hotel were very courteous and helpful! After a physical day, relax in my choice of the hot pools, lay back in my mountain stream cusomized soaking pool (nibble on cheese and crackers), then home to my fireplace and dinner prepared in my full kitchen or 15 minutes to town for grub. The local deer would often visit me (3 feet from my porch rocking chair) as I would eat dinner on my porch (beautiful, unafraid, and partial to my banannas), Sleep in a very comfortable bed, awaken and do it again! The negative reviews I imagine are a reflection of expectain- if you wish to stay at the Ritz Carlton in Chicago (I've been there often) by all means do so. This is a mountain resort- with wonderful hot springs, commendable staff, very fine log cabins, and views no amount money can buy! You can find peace here. "Thousand of nerve shaken, overcivilized perople have found that going to the mountains is going home". John Muir

Room Tip: The log cabins are perfect. The poolside and Cliffside accomodations are very clean, offer wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I went there for a one night anniversary getaway. The cliffside room we had was very spacious and had updated ammenities. The bathroom had been renovated but the grout and caulk did appear to need a little maintenance. We enjoyed the views the room afforded however, it should be noted that the patio is not private for each room but shared adjoined to other cliffside rooms' patios. We enjoyed the hot springs but do to my pregnancy could only go in the large cooler pools and not the hotter ones. We wished there was something in between the extreme hot and more lukewarm-ish pools. We ate at the restaurant on site, and while the food was good, it was overpriced for what it was. We will probably plan to eat in Buena Vista next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheelerfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Rented a cabin for two nights which was new and fresh. Liked the hot springs pools (went after kids were back in school!) especially the adult area. Fantastic massages both days. Food in the restaurant was outstanding for being out in bfe. Natural springs along the river you can lounge in as well as their pools. Not an easy place to move around if you are physically limited at all as there are steep steps and paths everywhere so make a note.

Room Tip: we had a 2 bedroom cabin ask for a view of the river it matters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have stayed here previously over the course of 10+ years and every year it gets better. Recently they have built new family-style cabins and updated both the pool/creek areas and also the upper kids pool/slides. The magic of this place though is the ability to go sit in this creek where you can choose to surround yourself with rocks and get all of the hot spring water bubbling around you or, better yet, push down part of your rock wall and let in as much as you'd like of the 30 degree creek water that rushes past you.
For vacationers that need parking for large travel rigs, there are also motel-style cabins with good parking across the road from the resort lodge and perched on hillside with great views of the valley. The "lodge" does have a decent restaurant and the resort also has a very nice gathering room for reunions or weddings, etc. If you are camping nearby or passing through, stop by to at least have a dip in a pool or creek, there is a day pass available.
We have never been disappointed here- great location to stay as base camp and do day trips within the region.

Room Tip: You are in Colorado so not every room has A/C and even through summer it's not necessary. Ask if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeeperTulsa_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.1 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
497 reviews
14.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
7.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
207 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-9703
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range: $143 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing