We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deer Valley Ranch
Nearby Hotels
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Super 8 Buena Vista(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Vista Inn(Buena Vista)(Great Value!)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites(Salida)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Ridge Lodge(Salida)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
172
24
0
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
24
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorseback ridingchalk cliffsfamily vacationoff seasonsquare danceghost townhot springskids activitiesfly fishingbuena vistaself cateringiron citygod's creationwonderful weeksmall cabincolorado rockiestrout
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 199 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Deer Valley Ranch is amazing!! Our family of 6 had a terrific time horseback riding, hiking, rafting the Arkansas River, tubing, bouldering, fishing, swimming. Highlights were the Wrangler Breakfasts, rafting, and the endless variety of teen and children's activities. The staff is terrific top to bottom! Service was above and beyond! The horseback riding was so fun even though several of us were complete novices. The food was fantastic and all included in the Ranch Package (along with lots of horseback riding!). We hope to go back again--it was that fun!! Deer Valley Ranch is our new family favorite!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your review of your recent stay at Deer Valley! We are delighted that your family enjoyed so many aspects of the ranch. We very much look forward to your family returning to the ranch for even more fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our family (2 adults, 4 children) went in the "off season", so our rates were lower and not everything was up and running yet, so it may not have been the full dude ranch experience. We enjoyed it a lot --- it is beautiful and the staff there are really wonderful. I loved that the college age kids who worked there were focused on Christian values --- they were all just good, clean young adults. We took a trail ride and ate most of our meals in the lodge. I would recommend eating in the lodge just for the experience of it. What knocked it down from 5 to 4 stars, though, was the accommodations. We stayed in a small cabin and, while my kids LOVED it because we could build fires in the fireplace and it was cozy and well appointed, the beds were hard and the bedding is more like motel bedding. A couple of tweaks, in my opinion, could elevate this to an amazing place. I hesitate to complain about it because it is a wonderful place, but if I had been paying full peak season prices I would have been disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at Deer Valley. We are happy to hear your family enjoyed our staff, the meals and your cabin's fireplace. We are very sorry you were disappointed in the mattresses and the bedding. We are continually striving to upgrade our mattresses as we want our guests to be comfortable. We hope you will return to the ranch and find more comfortable beds in the next cabin you stay in. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is my 2nd trip to DVR and on both occasions the staff has been amazing! Personable, attentive and quite like good family. They will go out of their way to help you. They will take the time to answer questions and share stories of the old days. The cabins are beautifully furnished and clean - filled with all amenities.The food is delicious and hearty homecooking. The views are magnificent! Both pools were full and clean (May 2), one with warm well water and the hot tub was clean. All the common areas were well maintained and clean. The landscaping around the lodge was also well maintained. Enjoy some spiced cider, coffee, tea or hot cocoa while viewing the gorgeous views from the large deck that is attached to the lodge There is plenty of wildlife, local hiking and clean fresh mountain air. I would highly recommend this gem. Close to Denver yet far enough away. Leave the city behind and enjoy some wonderful hospitality, beautiful views and comfortable cabins. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grateful20130502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at Deer Valley. Thank you for taking the time to share a candid review of the ranch. We appreciate the details you noted that all helped make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to your return visit! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We went during the first week of April 2014 during the off season so some of the services were unavailable to us but it didn't matter. Everything about our trip was awesome. The cabin decor was awesome. There is no tv or internet at the cabin if you need it but you shouldn't. There are plenty of places to go and things to do in the area. The view from the cabin is also very nice. There are deer everywhere. We even had some come up and eat popcorn out of our hands. I highly recommend checking this place out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FloydMorganJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thanks so much for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share about your stay. We're so glad you had such a great time at the ranch-- hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Deer Valley ranch offers lovely & clean cabins with a great view, but if you look closely at the notebooks they leave in each cabin it might not be worth it. The notebook requests that if you are an in married couple that you stay in separate cabins & that alcohol is strictly forbidden due to their religious beliefs. I can respect these views, but was not made aware of this befor me stay. I'm sorry, I was in vacation and had hopes to enjoy an adult beverage in front of the fire.
It's not huge in the overall scheme of life, but I will not stay at Deer Valley Ranch again and I will not recommend it to anyone either.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katydid1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a candid review. We sincerely apologize that you felt uncomfortable during your recent stay with us. Our policies are current and accurate on the confirmation you received in advance of your stay i.e. we do not prohibit alcohol but simply ask that alcohol be kept inside the cabins. We no longer have an "unmarried couples" policy of any type. Unfortunately, however, the information you read in the notebook was dated and inaccurate. We apologize for this oversight on our part and have made the changes in our notebooks. We are glad you enjoyed the cabin and the views but again, we are very sorry your stay was less than comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews