We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deer Valley Ranch Close to Heaven”
Review of Deer Valley Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nathrop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Valley Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Deer Valley Ranch Close to Heaven”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Can't go wrong with Deer Valley for any occasion. Highly recommended in the Fall when crowds are less and mountains are at their most beautiful. We went for the fishing which is excellent but the mountain horse back rides also are very rewarding.

Room Tip: All about the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your Fall Getaway with us.Thank you for taking the time to review the Ranch. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    25
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
133
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have been coming for as many summers as we can since 1976. Need we say more?
But, we will! We love Deer Valley Ranch. There is a feel of warmth, friendliness and beauty
that keeps you coming back. The owners and staff are the best anywhere. The food delicious
and plentiful. The opportunity is there for wonderful horses, hikes, rafting or sitting and enjoying
the view. Deer Valley Ranch is always our first choice for a vacation spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Oh, we are so glad Deer Valley is your first choice for a Vacation Spot! Thank you for posting and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent vacation experience. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The horseback riding options were worth the trip. Plus there are lots of options if riding is not your priority. Beautiful setting. The cabins are spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you for posting and we look forward to having you back with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This ranch is amazing! Every aspect of our week was perfect, from the incredible food, to the wonderful staff and the excellent planned activities. Our family travels often, and this is the most memorable family vacation we have ever taken.

Room Tip: The cabins are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are delighted that we could be the venue for your family vacation and are honored by your review. Thank you for posting and we look forward to having you back with us again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

4 generations of our family have been going to Deer Valley Ranch for 50 years. It is a great place for a family vacation for all ages. You can do nothing but relax or be as busy as you can. They have two naturally heated swimming pools, 2 hot tubs, wonderful horses for expert or novice for ages 6 on up, beautiful hiking from easy to 14000 plus mountain climbing, rafting in the most popular commercial river rafting on Arkansas River that even pick you up at your door for a 1/2 day of thrills.
There are 15 cabins and about that rooms in the lodge. They are comfortable, most cabins with fireplaces that come into use even but the most summer of days (air conditioning is not needed).
We have ala carte meals one per day and then fix the rest in the cabins. Our favorites and they stay the same through the years are:
Saturday dinner buffett, wrangler breakfast, lodge breakfast, deck lunch, mexican buffett, wrangler cookout, etc.
The meals are very yummy, but don't worry as you will likely be so busy you likely will not gain weight.
We love St. Elmo, about 1/2 hour further up the road, a ghost town, with plenty of chipmunks to feed sunflower seeds.
The Woolmington's started the ranch in 1950s. There offspring run in now.
We just got through spending 7 wonderful days with about 9 family members and are planning another week with more next July.
It is a Christian atmosphere. Limited availability for TV, cell phone and computer internet may drive some crazy but it is good for getting away.
There is a great summer group of college students that work at cooking, serving meals, wranglers and housekeeping supervised by the owners and some other long term staff.
It is at the base of chalk clifts and the creek is nearby.
This is rare for guest ranches to allow ala carte meal plans. They require one meal per day with other vacationers and that is good, since you can get to meet some wonderful people. Horses are option, only a couple of us ride. The falls ride for 1/2 day is our favorite.
You will see deer that come up to feed from your hands. A first this time was a visit by two bears in the middle of the night raiding our trash cans.
By all means, go. Take the kids, they have programs for school age through teens. There is availability of baby sitters at $8 per hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler60bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review with lots of specifics. We are so glad you enjoyed your week's stay at Deer Valley this month and look forward to having your family Back at the Ranch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family of 10 had the most memorable vacation with a variety of activities that appealed to all ages! Whether sitting out on the deck to work on Bible study, hiking, or on horseback, the landscape scenery was always awe inspiring and rejuvenating to the spirit! Combine this with the fellowship of Deer Valley staff and other guests, and the vacation was the best we've ever had as a family!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are happy to know that this was your best vacation ever! We hope you will be back again and again for many more wonderful Deer Valley memories. Thank you for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

In the last 30 years we have visited 19 different ranches in a half dozen states. This one was so outstanding in the quality of its staff, management, food and programs that it will be the first ranch that we go back to. It seemed like many of the guests that were there had been returning year after year-- a sign of an outstanding operation. The ranch is in a beautiful mountain location.

Room Tip: Lodge was very good for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you! We know you have many options when looking for a ranch vacation, and we strive to be the best. Our quality staff, family-friendly atmosphere, outstanding food, and fun-filled program are just some of the reasons to visit Deer Valley. We are so glad you came, and we hope you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
16.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
8.9 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
421 reviews
13.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
8.8 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
177 reviews
12.8 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Valley Ranch

Property: Deer Valley Ranch
Address: 16825 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destination Christian family dude and guest ranch, south central Colorado, located between two 14,000’ peaks. Horseback riding, whitewater rafting, hiking, fishing, children & teen programs, hot springs pools and outdoor hot tubs, outdoor meals, great food. Families, singles, couples and family reunions. Discount weeks. Open year round. September to May great for groups – church, ski and corporate - and weekend cabin rentals. Making memories since 1954. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing