We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Dude Ranch”
Review of Deer Valley Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nathrop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Valley Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

2nd yr to bring my family to Deer Valley Ranch. This dude ranch has the best atmosphere of any family resort I have ever found. It is rustic. The horse back riding is excellent. The teen program and the children's program for the week are excellent. My 16, 15, 13 yr old girls cry to come back to the same week each year because of the friends they have made. My 8 yr old boy loves the horse riding and his friends he plays with. This ranch has excellent college age wranglers, dinner servers, etc. (I do not know how they find these quality young people yr after yr.) It has been doing the same thing since 1954. Try it you'll love it. (from a very satisfied customer...)

Room Tip: The cabins are more private; however, we stay in the lodge for a more central location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3nails4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 200 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was our family's second trip to DVR, and as before, everyone from age 9 to 80 enjoyed our week. The staff is incredibly friendly and attentive. Each one makes a sincere effort to get to know each guest, and everyone (staff and guests) feels like one big family by the end of the week. There are plenty of activities to choose from: horseback riding, hiking, fishing, whitewater rafting, childrens and teen activities, etc. This is a wonderful place to get away and make wonderful memories! We will be back!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bevearlyjo, Front Office Manager at Deer Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you, Katie! We're so glad you and your family had wonderful week with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I love everything about Deer Valley. The beautiful mountains, Christian staff, family environment, fishing, square dancing, skit night, hiking and the FOOD! Wow. I grew up going as a little girl and now 25 years later not much has changed. There are not many places that do not have keys to the cabins! There is always something to do and something for everyone. My four year old son loved the kids' activities and the freedom of running around with his cousins. DVR is an amazing place. It just gets in your heart and soul. You never want to leave, and when you do you are already planning your next trip back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed in the lodge with my 13 year-old daughter. The staff, horses, scenery, activities, meals are fantastic. There are so many special moments: the ride to the Alpine Falls; reading from Psalms after reaching the summit of the 13,000 ft hike; the Wrangler breakfasts; the worship time on Sunday morning and evening; the cool mornings and evenings sandwiched around warm mid-days well-suited to relaxing by the pool... We love this place. The people you meet during the week (guests and staff) have a special place in your heart by the week's end. There are very few guests you meet there that are not repeat customers. This was our 2nd visit and I hope there will be many more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyRedeemerLives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Amazing postcard like views! Excellent service! Super friendly staff! A place to relax and make great memories. Definitely a place to return year after year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grettel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We were given a lovely cabin that slept 8 (even though there were only 2 of us). The views were incredible - mountains all around, trees, snow and deer. The cabin was fully equipped with everything you would need to spend months there. The living room furniture was pretty worn down and uncomfortable but it was all very clean and usable. The lodge offered free hot beverages at all times although at this time of year there was no meal service. the staff was very friendly - as were the ranch digs. Beware that there is no cell service and wi-fi is limited to the office or nearby meeting hall. But really, if you're there in the summer or the winter and want to take part in all of the activities offered, there is no time to plug in the technology! Just enjoy the nature.

Room Tip: You have options to be high on the hill, closer to the lodge or the pool, have a large or small deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnittingNut53110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Deer Valley Ranch is a FABULOUS choice for families. Situated in the "banana belt" (that is, mild climate) of the dramatic Chalk Cliffs and mountain peaks, DVR offers non-stop choices of activities for all ages. Or, when you're ready to relax, you can simply lounge by the pool or sit on the deck and watch the deer graze on the lawn. The food is phenomenal, and the cabins are cozy (you can also stay in the beautiful lodge). They offer horseback riding that's exciting for every level of rider, fishing, hiking, and many specialty outings. I highly recommend signing up for the Ranch package - it's a great deal. We met so many fun, friendly, interesting families - great new friends! The staff is extremely polite, helpful, friendly, and well-trained. (This is the one place where I would trust my kids to participate in the kid's programs). So refreshing to have top-notch service at all levels, in such a relaxed atmosphere. Our family had a GREAT time - we can't wait to go back ASAP!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyTraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deer Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Valley Ranch

Address: 16825 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Nathrop
Price Range: $75 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destination Christian family guest ranch, south-central Colorado, located between two 14,000’ peaks. Horseback riding, mountain biking, whitewater rafting, hiking, fishing, children & teen programs, hot springs pools and outdoor hot tubs, outdoor meals, great food. Families, singles, couples and family reunions. Discount weeks. Open year round. September to May great for groups – church, ski and corporate - and weekend cabin rentals. Making memories since 1954. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing