We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fort”
Review of The Fort

The Fort
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fort is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Morrison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: An award winning and nationally acclaimed “truly Colorado” restaurant, The Fort is located in Southwest Denver’s Red Rocks Territory. Specializing in regional game, such as bison, elk and quail, as well as seasonal fish and hearty vegetarian fare influenced by American Indian and Mountain Man cuisine, The Fort’s creation of “New Foods of the Old West,” brings back popular recipes from the 19th century, prepared with a twist. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Fort is a full-scale adobe replica of Bent’s Fort, an important fur-trading fort originally in Southeastern Colorado (1833-1849). Paying homage to the property’s historic inspiration, The Fort’s cuisine is modeled after the diets of pioneers along the Santa Fe Trail, mountain men and native Indian tribes, as well as the culinary influences of the Mexican and Spanish traders who once occupied the border of Old Mexico and the U.S. Territory where the original Bent’s Fort sat. Kinney leads The Fort’s creation of “New Foods of the Old West,” bringing back modernized versions of popular recipes from the 19th century, utilizing a rare cookbook library with more than 3,000 volumes. Dishes such as roasted bison marrow bones, braised bison tongue, Rocky Mountain Oysters and Buffalo tenderloin filet mignon are menu staples, as are cocktails like Trade Whiskey, made with “organic” gunpowder, and “The Hailstorm,” the first Colorado cocktail served in 1833 at Bent’s Fort.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Fort”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Dinner at t
The Fort is always a delicious treat. Offering local fare such as buffalo, elk, lamb, trout and quail at a picturesque, western venue adds up to a memorable evening. The tough part is deciding what to order but be assured what ever you decide on will be scrumptious!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    189
    83
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
287 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Have you been to a real PowWow?”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was the 14th year, and the annual PowWow (hosted by the Tesoro Foundation) at The Fort didn't disappoint! The dancers in competition were phenomenal, particularly one teen man who moved with speed and grace - so fast his face was mostly a blur. Intertribal dances invite visitors to dance along with the participants. I visited and "danced" with a very informative lady named Samantha who competed in the Jingle dance. A variety of Native American artists showed their work. I especially enjoyed a drum maker from Taos, whose work with irregular cottonwood stumps was something I'd never seen before. The Fort's gift shop has some first class items. I did not eat this visit, but am reminded to bring friends who will come to Colorado this summer. Always an excellent experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaraF742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great "date night" dinner”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I went to The Fort for date night. We had heard great things about it, and were not disappointed. The atmosphere was what I would call dressy western casual. Our server, Christy, was the perfect blend of friendly, attentive without hovering, and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. And while we were much too full to think about dessert, we enjoyed finishing our meal with a table-side serenade by a Native American flute player who gave us a little history about Ute flute music and played us a traditional love song. Everything on the menu sounded so good, it was tough to choose. We started with the sausage sampler of bison, boar, and "jackalope" - a blend of rabbit and antelope. All were juicy and bursting with flavor. Following that, we shared the mixed game plate of quail, elk chop, and bison. The elk was super tender and had great flavor; the quail was so tasty, we almost changed our minds about what to order. But for our entrees, we shared the smoked bison ribs and beef rib-eye,and both were excellent. The accompanying salad was lots of mixed leafy greens, and we both had the house honey-mustard dressing - quite delicious. The other sides were also great - asparagus, potatoes, and a bread basket. We chose one of our favorite Colorado wines to go with our meal, a Two Rivers Merlot. The menu pricing was what we expected for a restaurant of this caliber. The panoramic view from the dining room overlooks the foothills down to Denver, and we were treated to a spectacular double rainbow as we arrived. If I were to have any complaint at all (not really even a complaint, just a personal preference) it was the drum beating and hip-hoorays for other diners celebrating a birthday. There were about half a dozen while we were there, and it became slightly annoying. That sort of thing belongs in an Outback or Chilis, not a fine dining establishment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good setting but very average food”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Ate here after visiting red rocks, restaurant is a fun replica of a fort set in a decent setting. Service was good as you always expect stateside but the food was very average. Ordered meat rare and it was certainly well done. The Elk was to be recommended, all in all not a bad experience but wouldn't make a visit on basis of the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maraalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular & unique”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here in April 2014. The food options were different and very appealing. I had the buffalo tenderloin which truly melted in my mouth and was superbly flavorful. My husband had the trio meat plate which consisted of a buffalo steak, an elk chop and a quail. I of course tasted the elk chop and quail which again were very delicious. The dishes were served with vegetables and small buttery potatoes. Yum! The decor and music was Native American and was very tasteful and actually lovely. The entire restaurant carried a very relaxed ambiance and the views all around are beautiful. Red rocks and a long view to downtown Denver. Just awesome. The grounds around the restaurant are so interesting. Containing an area with benches and a fire pit. Although we didn't look at all the buildings there appeared to be a shop and some other buildings we would have viewed had we not been heading to a movie. We will be going here again add I see this being a special place to take our out of town guests when they visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwickline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fort also viewed

 

Been to The Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing