We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice walk, real fossils”
Review of Dinosaur Ridge

Dinosaur Ridge
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Morrison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dinosaur Ridge contains over 300 Cretaceous dinosaur footprints, a few dozen Jurassic dinosaur bones, plus many other trace fossils from ripple marks to plant impressions. At the Visitor Center, you can visit the gift shop, sluice mine for your own mineral or fossil finds, or take a Trek through Time in our exhibit hall.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This has been a favorite over the years. The dinosaur footprints are astonishing, and you get a great view of Denver. You can take your time strolling and there is a great hike over the top if you have the energy.

1  Thank Seasick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FODRStegosaurus, Amber Cain, Volunteer Coordinator and Programs Assistant at Dinosaur Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to rate us. I enjoy the views from the top, too, since we overlook Denver on the east and Red Rocks on the west. If you are in town during one of our Dinosaur Discovery Days, definitely stop by and you can walk and get great information from the volunteer guides on those days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"red rocks"
in 47 reviews
"bus tour"
in 22 reviews
"gift shop"
in 40 reviews
"dinosaur bones"
in 21 reviews
"foot prints"
in 10 reviews
"small museum"
in 20 reviews
"million years"
in 10 reviews
"dino tracks"
in 12 reviews
"discovery center"
in 6 reviews
"exhibit hall"
in 7 reviews
"paved road"
in 12 reviews
"walk up"
in 9 reviews
"nice walk"
in 11 reviews
"small fee"
in 6 reviews
"miles round trip"
in 6 reviews
"all ages"
in 19 reviews
"points of interest"
in 5 reviews
Filter

302 - 306 of 432 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went during "Dinosaur Week" so there were guides along the way to talk about what we were supposed to see. I recommend walking over taking the bus and it's easier to see the footprints and other items of interest up close.

The guides were extremely knowledgeable and we enjoyed checking out the sites. You have to walk up a large hill and then down and then back so make sure you have good walking shoes when you visit.

1  Thank pbertucc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FODRStegosaurus, Volunteer Coordinator and Program Assistant at Dinosaur Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your feedback! I am glad you enjoyed Dinosaur Ridge's Dinosaur Discovery Day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This place would be great for kids and people who are into geology and fossils, etc! The gift shop is very cute and has many reasonably priced items. The bus tour they offer is only $5 and over an hour long. There's also a picnic area in the front with life-size dinosaur statues! It's cool place to check out, even if you don't take the tour.

1  Thank beautifuleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FODRStegosaurus, Volunteer Coordinator and Program Assistant at Dinosaur Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We have been working hard on improving the Visitor Center experience and it looks like we have with your review. Thank you for taking the time to spread the word about our "awesome" dinosaurs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

When we arrived to Dinosaur Ridge, we went into the visitor center to see if there was any fees for the self-guided tour of the ridge (free!!!). The gentleman at the desk was friendly and very helpful at detailing the walk and points of interest of not only Dinosaur Ridge but Triceratops Trail in Golden as well. My husband, sons (ages 7 and 11), and myself headed up the ridge to enjoy all there was to see. Keep in mind as you read my review, as a 31 year old woman, dinosaurs kind of lost the magic they once had on me. I've seen many fossils at a number of museums across the country, but never before have a seen them where they were discovered. I was awestruck by the varying footprints and even more amazed at the bulges left behind by brontosaurus in the mud. The magic of childhood crept up and grabbed me when we came to the bones embedded in the rocks. I actually felt the remains of a creature that lived millions of years ago with my own hand!! Incredible! And the views from the top of the ridge were stunning of the area below. My kids were even more blown away than I was. I just wish everyone that visits would respect not only the rules, but this treasure and not climb on the embankments where the fossils are located and not pocket shale that contained fossils. I understand that the shale would make an awesome souvenir, but please leave it for everyone else to be able to enjoy.

3  Thank juliebern2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FODRStegosaurus, Volunteer Coordinator and Program Assistant at Dinosaur Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. Working here has allowed for me to witness the wonder and awe of childhood with many of our visitors and I am glad you got to experience that, too. Also, thank you for being respectful of the resources located at Dinosaur Ridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The paved road up to the ridgeline is relatively easy hiking. Some exhibits on the dinosaur fossils and tracks along the way. Enjoy the views from top of the ridge.

Thank Scott-Michaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FODRStegosaurus, Volunteer Coordinator and Program Assistant at Dinosaur Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of the great views from the top. My favorite views are looking towards Red Rocks from the top of Dinosaur Ridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Ridge also viewed

 

Been to Dinosaur Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing