We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actual Dinosaur Footprints - Incredible”
Review of Dinosaur Ridge

Dinosaur Ridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$478.80*
and up
Private Foothills Explorer Tour from Denver
More Info
$720.00*
and up
Private Tour: Denver Foothills Explorer
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Foothills Explorer Tour From Denver
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Morrison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dinosaur Ridge contains over 300 Cretaceous dinosaur footprints, a few dozen Jurassic dinosaur bones, plus many other trace fossils from ripple marks to plant impressions. At the Visitor Center, you can visit the gift shop, sluice mine for your own mineral or fossil finds, or take a Trek through Time in our exhibit hall.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Actual Dinosaur Footprints - Incredible”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a great place to hike and explore in the spring and fall. If you find yourself in the area on a hot, summer day, bring water and mind the sun and altitude. Would agree that the small museum is still enough to hold the interest of most kids and the guide, if you opt for the bus ride, provides additional info. We enjoyed hiking the trail with our older elementary sons but it's nice to have the bus option too.

The dinosaur footprints are definitely the best part and the area offers some examples of Colorado's unique geology. Nice stop paired with the Morrison Natural History Museum.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank with2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    136
    50
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great walk for all”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We picked a cool day to walk from the beginning of Dinosaur Ridge to the end on Alameda Parkway. There are places to stop and read about the dinosaurs that lived in that area. The children could actually see their tracks. Then we continued our walk to the Red Rocks Amphitheatre. The road got a little narrow near the top, so we waited in the Red Rocks Trail Parking lot and drove the rest of the way, as we had small children. It was a great way to get outdoors, get some exercise and learn about Dinosaurs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelseadoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“worth the hot sweltering day trip...”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went there for the afternoon and looked at dinosaur fossil tracks, etc...and appreciate the interesting geological history that Colorado has.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ex-globetrottingbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing to see the actual dinosaur prints!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We went there for a field trip. It is quite worth taking the tour because there are many things we didn't know when we just went there on our own. The museum there is small but interesting with a couple of hands-on exhibits for the kids. The dinosaur prints are the best part.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for dinosaur lovers, geologists and hikers”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice little area in which one can see dinosaur tracks and other fossils. Can be done by hiking over about a three mile trail plus cool side trails, or by bus for only $5 a person. Easy drive from Denver and good for all ages.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank raizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur Ridge also viewed

 

Been to Dinosaur Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing