We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Morrison B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The location started the great experience, located just behind Red Rocks Amphitheater. The cottages were rustic, cozy and comfortable. Colorado's new legalization is allowed there. Private hot tubs...beautiful decor. The staff were friendly and happy to serve. The breakfast was delivered to the room daily, hot and freshly cooked...and very delicious! Shops and restaurants very close...within walking. If you are wanting to tie the knot...there are charming little chapels located nearby. This place was so romantic and wonderful I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: All rooms were cozy and off the beaten path. I can't imagine that any room you chose would be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    17
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
5
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

If you are use to quaint bed and breakfasts in an environment that is very Victorian, then this is not your place. While it looks like your typical B&B at the main lodge, there is an eclectic vibe I have never before seen in our cottage. Admittedly our cottage was a bit run down, and it was evident some repairs were needed. At first we were like, "Where are we???", and then you just shrug your shoulders and go exploring because the Peking cottage has a lot going on! Our room was clearly meant for couples only. Not shy couples. There are journals in this room of all of the past guest's escapades. We spent some time reading them, and had a lot of laughs. The gas fireplace was a beautiful touch. Breakfast served in our room was fantastic, and the host seems very pleasant. Not too overbearing, but there to help if needed. The only con, besides being more run down then one may initially expect, is that the wall are pretty thin by the bed. However, all in all, this place has a charm that isn't luxury, but funky and cool. And a heck of a lot of fun!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank aishamichelle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Location, Location, Location. In addition to loving our surroundings near Red Rocks we were pleased every step of the way at the Cliff House. We found the owners, Angela & Daniel, to be warm, welcoming and extremely helpful with suggestions and tips for things to do in and around Morrison. They truly love what they do and it shows in the way they care for their guests and the passion they put into their work.

Breakfast was top notch with ample portions and a much appreciated way to start off the day. The cottage we stayed in was quaint and unique with a private hot tub area (what a treat to soak in after an amazing day of hiking). I truly felt at ease and able to relax knowing that if I needed anything to make my stay more comfortable Angela & Daniel would be looking to accommodate us as much as possible.

I have nothing but good things to say when I look back at my experience. Every expectation was met and even exceeded at times. We are already planning our next trip to Colorado and there is no doubt in my mind that we will be staying here again at some point in that next adventure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraJo1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Where do I start.... My girl friend and I came across the Cliff House in our quest for a getaway weekend for the John Mayer concert. The innkeepers Angela and Daniel were very helpful from the word go as they checked us into the Hogback Hideaway, their rustic cabin. After relaxing a little we enquired about the places around town to grab a bite to eat before the show, not only were they "spot on" with their dinner recommendation (a roof top tapas restaurant), they also told us about a hiking trail that led up to the back of Red Rocks so we didn't have to drive and park. They even supplied us with the headlamps to make the journey safely! The next morning was just as special, I think I counted four quiches, fresh squeezed OJ, and all the other breakfast essentials which we dined on while sitting on the very inviting porch.

So to sum it up.... This definitely is not the La Quinta (I have stayed in plenty of them) and if you are looking for the Ritz, well I think there is one in Beaver Creek, if you are looking for relaxing, private rooms run by great people, then the Cliff House is the spot for you! I know we will be going back!!!

Room Tip: Look at their web site and go with what moves you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am between a 3 and 4 star on this, but price pushed me to 3. The property is well located if going to Red Rocks and the town of Morrison (and surrounding) is a quaint place worth a few days of discovery. The property itself is tight and aged, but still each cottage feels private. We loved the breakfasts - my wife was truly inspired. We stayed in Camelot, and the resvation process, checkin and etc were all done as promised. My biggest disappointment is that the cottages are aged - not necessarily badly, but things didn't seem quite clean and crisp. I have a feeling that maintenance is tough in this place if constantly occupied and that shows. It seems like things have been given updating, but I think still needs another level up to justify prices.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
267 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

July 28, 2013 Sunday
We stayed in the Honeymoon room. It was relaxing. I enjoy my Sunday bed and breakfast getaways. Steve and I go to a bed and breakfast every Sunday after working 3. 12 hour shifts. Thank you. Rita Bennett, Westminster, Colorado

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovetotravvel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Visiting Red Rocks? Want to have a nearby oasis where you can relax in the hot tub, hang out on the deck, watch the humming birds and just chill in a conducive atmosphere?
This is the place!

If you're looking for plush comfort - maybe not. But if you're looking for a fun zone to host the crew before or after the show, you're in luck!

Thanks Daniel and Angela for making our visit absolutely perfect. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoodahMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morrison
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Denver West / Golden
7.1 mi away
Table Mountain Inn
Table Mountain Inn
#1 of 18 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Residence Inn Denver West/Golden
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Denver West/Golden
7.2 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages

Property: Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages
Address: 121 Stone St., Morrison, CO 80465
Location: United States > Colorado > Morrison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Morrison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff House was taken over by a new management team at the end of July 2012. New Innkeepers, Angela Dowdy-Bernhardt and Daniel Bernhardt, have moved in to the Main House and have brought with them their love for both the Cliff House and those that visit it. Their outgoing nature and attention to guests are just two traits that will help insure a fabulous stay. Angela and Daniel always strive to provide a clean, warm and welcoming environment, perpetually seeking feedback as to how they may provide the best stay possible. Come see all the positive change that has taken place and help us continue to improve!The Cliff House Lodge is a popular boutique bed and breakfast located in Morrison, Colorado. Nestled in a peaceful and serene gated enclave featuring natural and manicured gardens, it's within walking distance of many of the best attractions and restaurants the town has to offer as well as driving distance to nearby ski areas. The 8 private and themed cottages surround the mansion on the property. Each non-smoking cottage tastefully combines the charm of the past with modern amenities, including indoor Jacuzzis or private outdoor hot tubs. Mornings at the Cliff House start with a tempting gourmet breakfast delivered right to your cottage door. The menu varies, but it’s always a delicious beginning to your day. For guests arriving Friday or Saturday, your visit begins with a bottle of champagne chilled and waiting in your cottage for you. Come spend your next romantic getaway or Red Rocks adventure with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cliff House Lodge and Hot Tub Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff House Lodge And Hot Tub Cottages Hotel Morrison
Country Inn Morrison
Morrison Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing