We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air Force Academy”
Review of Ramada Monument

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Monument
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monument
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Air Force Academy”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This is a great property for anyone looking for a place to stay for Academy events.
It's about 10 minutes north of the North Gate, which means you don't have to go through the Colorado Springs commuter traffic to get to those morning parades.
The staff was not just friendly, but helpful and accommodating.
The prices are in line with the premium chains, but the personal service was much nicer.
Warning, when we were there, they did NOT have any provisions for breakfast [although there is a Village Inn just on the other side of the highway].
When we asked to extend our stay by a day, they matched the pricing I'd gotten as a special here on Expedia.
We did have some problems with card keys, but that was more of a nuisance than anything major.
I would definitely recommend this property for graduation, and they also have facilities that would make this a great place to do the 'after grad' weddings and/or receptions.
My pictures are at
<https://picasaweb.google.com/113610786476331617871/SundanceMountainLodge>

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I am so pleased that we were "more than just friendly". That is such a nice compliment. I apologize about the breakfast supplies, we are generally very well stocked. I will look into this.

Thanks for noticing our unique qualities compared to typical hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    61
    87
    130
    285
See reviews for
292
179
58
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This trip was a quick weekend getaway to watch the Air Force/Army Football game and celebrate my daughter's 20th birthday. I had made reservations and pre-paid for a 2 night stay with an interior (Court yard) room with 2 double beds. I gather there was a group in town that arrived prior and took all the 2-double bed rooms. I arrived about 5:30 pm on Friday and was given an exterior room adjacent to a busy highway. The room had no power and the smoke alarm chirped constantly. The next room had occupants that smoked and the room smelled like an ash tray. I repacked my car and left for a dinner engagement in my sweats with a promise to return. I came back to a third room that was in need of a new heater, armoir, and telephone. The TV was on a low dresser and difficult to see from the beds. Heater knocked and groaned all night long and the thermostat needed to be calibrated. The promised 'comp' and subsequent 10% discount went unfulfilled. Even the free drink coupon wasn't applied to our breakfast tab. The 50% gift certificate turned into a 25% for a future stay. Never again!

Room Tip: Interior and not in the Aspen bldg unless they have completed whatever renovation they are doing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bebe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary O, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Ouch! It sounds like you did not have a good experience. We have made many gratifying improvements over the past several months and invite you to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monument hotels

FantaSe, NM
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Sundance Mountain Lodge is a truly unique property. What a great alternative to the boring chain hotels. The rooms have character and great bedding, and are surrounded by nicely landscaped grounds and a little river! The restaurant has great food and both it and the hotel are very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Kendeena- thanks for using the word:"authentic". We are striving to be authentic Colorado and I am so glad you appreciate our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed there for the Halloween party. What a great deal! Had dinner and breakfast at Oakley's. The food was great. Service a bit slow, but overall the property had a nice feel. A great value and a good location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Teri, thanks for staying with us and for taking time to write nice words about yours stay. The Halloween party is a major event and it can be a bit busy when it comes to speedy service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

I won a free night's stay at Sundance Mountain Lodge through Facebook. We had a great time, the room was really nice, unique and we exclaimed over the plethora of bedding compared to most other hotels (which typically have very chintzy bedding). We got complimentary drink coupons and we got the house margaritas...they were really good! We enjoyed drinking them while sitting in a cozy little side room off of the bar and the waiter was very pleasant. The menu for the restaurant looked varied and had something to offer for everyone.

Overall, it was a very nice little getaway close to home.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kegskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I am so glad you were "cozy" and well attended to. Yes, we put on lots of pillows on our beds with upgraded linens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We came upon this lodge as we were getting off the highway trying to find Olive Garden. My husband was tired of driving. There were no other Hotels around, & I am glad because this place was a gem. Very cool layout. All the rooms surround the pool & "amazing" hot tub. We saw there traditional 2nd floor room with vaulted ceililngs which we thought was awesome, until Gary the owner found out it was our honeymoon & then upgraded us to their "Bridal Suite". Talking about feeling first class. The jaccuzzi bath tub...so Awesone. I have never seen one before in a Hotel room.
For each guest you receive a complimentary drink from the bar from a list of choices...and they aren't weak.
The second night we decided to stay again because we were so blown away by the hospitality, that Gary put us in the "Executive Suite" since the Bridal Suite was taken. It was also nice, but the TVS are hard to watch while laying in bed.
We also highly recommend their breakfast in their restaurant. A plate full of eggs, potatoes, meat & toast for $4. Can't beat that.
We are definitely going to stay their on our next trip in that area.
Thanks Gary, Bill & Britny

Room Tip: 2nd floor vaulted ceilings are the way to go...No view was bad that we could tell. Grounds are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I guess I am the hero of this story! My goal is to please our guests and when i heard it was a special event for you it only seemed natural to give you an upgrade. Thanks for taking time to write, I really appreciate the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We had to stay in Monument due to some car and travel trailer issues we were having and got a room here last minute. We were lucky they accepted pets, $25 per night. There was a wedding there, so we got one of the last rooms available for $79, and a 10% AAA discount. Not bad. The room was on the bottom floor in the back of the property, no view whatsoever. There was plenty of room in the parking lot to park the truck and travel trailer, however the walk to the room was dark because the parking lot light in the back was out. It looked like the property was an old hotel that was just remodeled, like another reviewer said, not a lodge per say. But, they did a decent job on revitalizing the exterior. The room had a slider out to a bit of grass, perfect for the dogs. The hotel has consciously tried to be more green, by using bulk shampoo, soap, lo flo toilets, etc. I too was irritated by the low lights in the bathroom, but for the price, no big deal. Linens and bath were very clean. This was a much better deal than our last trip to Taos. They have super comfortable beds, got a great night's sleep. We did hit the restaurant and like other experienced very slow service. Food was decent, not too bad. All in all, we lucked out they had space with our situation. Good value I say.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaiden22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEO-on-the-go, Owner at Ramada Monument, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Glad your stay was decent. We are constantly improving. Yes, the bathroom lighting in one of our buildings is not up to par. That will be our winter project!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monument
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado Springs North/Air Force Academy
Fairfield Inn & Suites Colorado ...
#45 of 105 in Colorado Springs
182 reviews
7.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Springs near the Air Force Academy
Drury Inn & Suites Colorado Spri...
#2 of 105 in Colorado Springs
426 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Peak Vista Inn...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Force Academy
Days Inn Colorado Springs Air Fo...
#25 of 105 in Colorado Springs
550 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of the Gods
Quality Inn & Suites, Garden of ...
#42 of 105 in Colorado Springs
492 reviews
10.7 mi away
Econo Lodge North Academy
Econo Lodge North Academy
#72 of 105 in Colorado Springs
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Monument

Property: Ramada Monument
Address: 1865 Woodmoor Dr, Monument, CO 80132-9066 (Formerly Sundance Mountain Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Monument
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monument
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Monument 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$100.00 room deposit due at check-in. Deposit is refunded after check-out provided there are no damages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Monument reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Mountain Hotel Monument

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing