We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice at great price”
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Canyon Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Montrose
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great choice at great price”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Great motel within easy distance of Black Canyon, 2 min. drive to cute downtown area. Room was Very large and very clean--even the carpet was clean enough to walk on. Coffeemaker and frig were provided. Wireless Internet and A/C worked fine. Outdoor pool ( large size) and hot tub (wonderfully HOT) were open until 10pm, a great way to end an active day. While the motel is located on a major road, the room was blissfully quiet--no road sounds to disturb your sleep.Breakfast area was small and oddly, there was no bread for making toast...but there were pastries, bagels (pretty tasty), cereals and milk, and even a waffle maker and batter--do-it-yourself. Coffee was excellent, too.

Motel felt safe, with computerized keys (not like the standard credit card style) to open your room door. Ask for room on 2nd flr.

I 've stayed in many, many inexpensive motels throughout the USA. For $50 (AAA or AARP rate, this motel getshigh marks from me.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    131
    50
    15
    6
See reviews for
74
124
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This wasn't a great experience of hosptality. The young man on the desk when we registered had little understanding of how to welcome customers. Almost surly..but not quite.
The noisy aircon was elderly, and ill-fitting undersheets which kept coming off was annoying.

The bathtub had a drainage malfunction so couldn't be emptied.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epicurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, AZ.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This is an older hotel. The room we were in was pretty small. the bathroom was tiny, but it had a colorful shower curtain and towels! Importantly enough, it was clean! There was a microwave and a refrigerator had we needed them. The television kept my husband entertained, so it did it's job! One of the mattresses sagged a lot, so we threw the kids on that bed. No complaints from them!

We did not arrive until late evening and it was close to the time for the pool and jacuzzi to close, but they stretched the time for us so that we could soak in the jacuzzi after our long drive! That was so nice of her!

The jacuzzi is like one that you would buy for your house, but it served it's purpose! It's an above ground and you must climb u into it, but awwww it felt good!

We slept passed the breakfast, so I can't provide any input on that. But, we did find a great breakfast at a restaurant down the road called the Red Barn!

If we ever happen to pass through Montrose again, we would probably stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This motel is conveniently located on the main road, near several restaurants. The room was quite large and very clean. Breakfast was a large assortment of Danish and muffins plus cereal, oatmeal, bagels and waffles. Of course, there was also coffee, hot chocolate, juice and milk. In addition, the desk clerk was helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SojournerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Have been traveling to Montrose for years & years. Have stayed @ many hotels here over the years. Booked the Black Canyon for this trip based on the good reviews and decent price. We weren't disappointed. It's a very clean motel and you can tell that the owners appreciate your business. Easy to book online, received a reminder email and the rates are about as good as you'll find in Montrose. Breakfast is Continental and sparse (But I love Starvin' Arvin's for breakfast here anyway). Stayed on the ground floor and had some issues with "loud plumbing" above whenever toilets were flushed but not a really big deal......Very common in older buildings. Also love parking right outside my motel room door. I will certainly book the Black Canyon on my next trip to Montrose.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATHRCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clever, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We were hoping to find a reasonably priced hotel near the Gunninson canyon (which is something you must see if you're in the area. INCREDIBLE) and the Black Canyon Motel was within 20 minutes of the canyon. The kids played at the pool while I snuck out to fish the Gunnison river for a little while. It'd not a fancy resort, but If you're looking for a nice clean hotel to lay your head, give it a try. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontgomeryFamily21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

The Black Canyon Motel was a very good place to stay. The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful. They have a wonderful outdoor pool which is great in the summer. The ice machine was always full of ice and the laundry facilities were helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tadbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.1 mi away
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Montrose
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#2 of 10 in Montrose
148 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#4 of 10 in Montrose
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 10 in Montrose
105 reviews
20.4 mi away
Days Inn Delta CO
Days Inn Delta CO
#2 of 4 in Delta
172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montrose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Property: Black Canyon Motel
Address: 1605 E Main St, Montrose, CO 81401-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montrose
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing