We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We booked in error.....and won”
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Canyon Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Montrose
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had stayed in Montrose a few years ago across the street at the Country Suites. We could not remember the name of the motel from our last trip, but thought this might be it. Sort of figured we could not go wrong based on TA reviews. We realized our mistake when we drove up, but, since we had made reservations, we went through with it.

This motel was fine. It is an older motel and the furnishing are a little worn, but it was clean, comfortable, had plenty of hot water in the morning and the personnel were very nice and accommodating.

If we ever come to Montrose for a third visit, we will have a tough choice to make.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramps-nanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 313 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Black Canyon Motel was definitely a great value for the price! Clean, comfortable beds, great breakfast and very hospitable staff made this a great home-away-from-home while we visited Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park. We would certainly stay here again and recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Older property but very clean. Room was large and had micro and fridge. Comfortable beds and large bathroom/vanity area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Conveniently located in the older/business section of town. Close to new section of town with shopping and plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Second floor room (206) is pie-shaped and larger than others, I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soozeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our 9 state tour included a visit to the Black Canyon of Gunnison and we found the Black Canyon Motel to be convenient for that purpose. as a mature couple we preferred to be on the ground floor and our reservation was adjusted accordingly. The reservation mentioned a balcony - not sure what that was about but the location was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bucskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I think we picked the right Motel when booking here. We found Montrose to be a strange place overall. Perhaps late September isn't the time to visit but hardly any of the shops down the main street were open, it almost seemed like the entire town had come a standstill. The staff at the Hotel were friendly and suggested the best local places to eat. Our room was on the ground floor at the front of the Hotel and while it was in need of a little attention in some places it was clean and comfy. The thing that sticks with me the most is the fantastic spread put out for breakfast on a morning, this was a welcome change from other places we'd stayed. I'd have no problems staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Me and my wife had to come to Montrose because her dad is dieing and that made us feel so down home and cared for .great size rooms as nice as the 100 a night rooms .beds were so nice and comfortable .great hot tub big pool.very nice breakfast lots to choose to eat . .just great all around people and staff .PS ty you for letting us stay in the hot tub till 11 pm that night it made my wife and mine stay well worth it .we will be back soon

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdmf420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed three nights in May 2013. Great value. The property really could increase rates and I feel still offer a value. Breakfast is adequate. Clean. No complaints. You won't go wrong. Small Mexican restaurant next to Shell station just down the street offers great value also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank enondoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.1 mi away
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Montrose
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#1 of 10 in Montrose
180 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 10 in Montrose
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#3 of 10 in Montrose
483 reviews
21.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 4 in Delta
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Montrose
Super 8 Montrose
#2 of 10 in Montrose
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Address: 1605 E Main St, Montrose, CO 81401-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Montrose
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range: $53 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing