We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value - great rooms and location”
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Canyon Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Montrose
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very nice stay at the Black Canyon. Another older property that has been updated by the owners. Wifi, larger than average rooms and a plentiful breakfast (included) made for a very pleasant stay. Think about making a reservation - it was packed during our stay (Wednesday night) - to make sure you have a room.

Staff was attentive and friendly - I'll be back.

Room Tip: They do have some rooms with three beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GunnerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 316 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

the room was large and very clean with in-room coffee, fridge, microwave and 60 cable channels. breakfast was excellent- oatmeal, cold cereal, pastries. good internet rate. relatively quiet at night.

the location was good- near a dollar store, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Black Canyon Motel is not a fancy motel but very clean. I was impressed. It was the first road trip trying to take our dogs with us. We paid only $10 a night extra for both of them. I was wondering if we would get a room that smelled like animals but absolutely not. They have a small breakfast everying morning, more of a continental breakfast. There are bagels, rolls, waffles and cereals. The orange juice and coffee was weak.

All in all, we had a great stay and we love visiting Montrose and family that live there.

Schrahs

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great little motel on the outskirts of Montrose and within walking distance of a good restaurant the Red Barn, clean rooms, and very functional aircon. Neat and tidy establishment and very reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Can only confirm what most reviewers said - a very good choice, especially if you want to explore the Black Canyon. Clean, friendly, reasonably quiet (even though it is on highway 50), well priced. Good breakfast too, and the owner is very attentive and accommodating. We came down very late for breakfast the one morning - he would just leave things there for us, brought fresh coffee out etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Visiting Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park? If you choose this motel, you won't be disappointed. I can't add much more than what has already been said by other reviewers except to say that their comments are correct to my knowledge. My wife and I stayed in #101, down at the west end. The room had a second door that led out to a little patio with a picnic table; very handy. I found the desk clerk very friendly and chatty and welcoming. We slept well and enjoyed our one night stay. This is a great value and its location is convenient for visitors to the park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

John, the owner is so friendly & accommodating. Great outdoor pool & hot tub. Plus a little play area for kids. Simple continental breakfast with bagels, donuts, waffles. & cereals.Rooms r clean & comfy! My family & I plan on returning soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtntopmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.4 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#1 of 10 in Montrose
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Montrose
555 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#4 of 10 in Montrose
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 10 in Montrose
114 reviews
20.4 mi away
Days Inn Delta CO
Days Inn Delta CO
#2 of 4 in Delta
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Montrose
Super 8 Montrose
#2 of 10 in Montrose
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Address: 1605 E Main St, Montrose, CO 81401-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Montrose
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range: $53 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing