We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great value, excellent rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Canyon Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Montrose
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great little motel on the outskirts of Montrose and within walking distance of a good restaurant the Red Barn, clean rooms, and very functional aircon. Neat and tidy establishment and very reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    121
    41
    12
    5
See reviews for
65
112
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Can only confirm what most reviewers said - a very good choice, especially if you want to explore the Black Canyon. Clean, friendly, reasonably quiet (even though it is on highway 50), well priced. Good breakfast too, and the owner is very attentive and accommodating. We came down very late for breakfast the one morning - he would just leave things there for us, brought fresh coffee out etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant Butte, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Visiting Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park? If you choose this motel, you won't be disappointed. I can't add much more than what has already been said by other reviewers except to say that their comments are correct to my knowledge. My wife and I stayed in #101, down at the west end. The room had a second door that led out to a little patio with a picnic table; very handy. I found the desk clerk very friendly and chatty and welcoming. We slept well and enjoyed our one night stay. This is a great value and its location is convenient for visitors to the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TABERNASH
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

John, the owner is so friendly & accommodating. Great outdoor pool & hot tub. Plus a little play area for kids. Simple continental breakfast with bagels, donuts, waffles. & cereals.Rooms r clean & comfy! My family & I plan on returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtntopmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a long drive and arrived in the early evening both tired and hungry. This place took care of the tired part quite well. The check-in was swift and accommodating,getting us a room with a king bed. The hotel is on Highway 50, so the potential for more noise than usual is there. But by 8:30 the traffic noise diminished and was not a factor in getting a good night's rest. The room was large and had the usual amenities; coffee maker, fridge, microwave, and lcd tv. Plus there was a good sized table in the room. The bathroom had a good tub/shower combo with enough hot water to ease the aches of a long trip. The double sinks were in the room and well supplied with hair dryer and toiletries.
The breakfast room is rather small and can fill up fast, but there are also tables just outside (you'll see them as you enter the lobby) and you can use the couches in the reception area if necessary. Basic breakfast set up: juice, milk, cereal, breads, pastries, fruit, and a waffle maker. The area is kept clean as are the rooms.
In addition to spending the day visiting the Black Canyon National Park, we'd also recommend the drive to Silverton, the views along the road were spectacular as well, but make sure you visit the NP. Plan to spend at least 4 hours. Highly recommend walking out to Dragon Point in the park. Wow!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calif_traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The innkeepers are helpful and the family suite rooms are great for families on long trips. We had two rooms each with a queen bed and separated by a bathroom. The room had a microwave and fridge. Strangely, the booking said the room had a jet tub. This is not the sort of hotel where rooms have jet tubs. We did enjoy the small pool after our hot hikes at Colorado National Monument and Black Canyon. We were able to do laundry here easily. There were two washers and two dryers. The breakfast room was too small to accommodate the number of guests. Perhaps if trays were offered so people could carry food back to their rooms this problem would be reduced. More chairs in the breakfast room would help too. The breakfast fare was not great but what one would expect. The only problem were the guests. Saturday morning at 6:30 -7:30 a.m. people were talking loudly outside the rooms and on Saturday from midnight to 2, guests were fighting and yelling in the parking lot. The police came, talked loudly with those outside, went away and the guests started yelling again. I don't know if the noise is a regular problem, and I don't know what the innkeepers could do to improve the situation. At least the police were called.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishIwerent_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison
Level Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I couldn't believe the orices on motels in this little town. I was glad to stumble acroas the Black Canyon on Tripadvisor.Took a chance and wasn't disappointed at all. As a matter of fact we ended up staying here an extra night because we appreciated the price and enjoyed our stay so much.

It's a standard room. Ours bad two queen sized beds, a micro, fridge and flat screen TV. Breakfast waa okay but nothing too fancy. Blueberry waffles were on the menu but you had to request the batter. They didn't leave them sitting out like most motels will do. Same tbing with a few other of the breakfast items. Being a German and having a german host may have been part of the problem. We tend to be a bit frugal at times. But that's just a minor thing of course and we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momtomitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.4 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#4 of 11 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
#5 of 11 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 11 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#3 of 11 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Montrose
Super 8 Montrose
#1 of 11 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montrose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Property: Black Canyon Motel
Address: 1605 E Main St, Montrose, CO 81401-3808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montrose
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing