We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Canyon Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Montrose
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed at the Black Canyon for a week while I was on business. Rates were outstanding. Very clean hotel. I had absolutely no problems.
Beds are very comfy, the help very friendly. I'll be back in Montrose and staying there for sure.
Thank you for a great stay, I love it when I have no issues staying for a week.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    128
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
70
119
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mena, AR
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed here 1 night during business travel and was pleasantly surprised at the good quality for the low price. If you are in this area and need a place to stay, don't fear staying here. We arrived late and found that our windows were open. If I had been traveling alone this would have made me uncomfortable. The owner was pleasant although it was difficult communicating over the phone about our late arrival due possibly to language differences?

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs is less exposed especially in the summer if you want to open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0X1E5RULE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews while we hiked in Black Canyon National Park. It lived up to all our expectations. Large, very clean rooms with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. They even gave me a discounted price for the entire stay based on a welcome center coupon I found. Close enough to main street to walk. Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone staying in the area. Best value during our entire Rockies National Park road trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMabe_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
211 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Black Canyon Motel lived up to all the great reviews by tripadvisor patrons. The bedroom & bathrooms were clean & comfortable. Very quiet & perfect location on Main Street in Montrose. Spacious breakfast area with wonderful waffles, juice, tea, coffee, bagels, rolls, & cereals. It is the best value for for best price. It was my first stay & I would definitely recommend the Black Canyon Hotel to everyone.
Very friendly & helpful personnel in office. A true family owned facility, do try it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureLover99_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

After a long day's ride on our Harleys we ended up at the Black Canyon Motel, very basic, well maintained and well placed and priced. A recommedation form me, any time!

Room Tip: Request remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JokerNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Great price, spotless facility, comfortable rooms all close to Black Canyon NP, Ridgway, and other Western Colorado favorites. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is a clean and for us it was a quiet motel. The room is quiet small, the motel is definitely dated. Its a small, old motel but if you just need a place to sleep it was fine. You won't find any extras here other than a good included breakfast the next morning. It met our needs and we'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiskangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.4 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#3 of 10 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#4 of 10 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 10 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Montrose
Super 8 Montrose
#1 of 10 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montrose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Canyon Motel

Property: Black Canyon Motel
Address: 1605 East Main, Montrose, CO 81401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montrose
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Canyon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western Slope of the Rocky Mountains, the Black Canyon Motel offers newly renovated rooms with the comforts of home. All rooms come with WIFI accessibility, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker for guest use. We offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast every morning which includes a variety of cereals, pastries, waffles, fresh fruit, and more. Located minutes away from Black Canyon National Park. At the Black Canyon Motel our guests are family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Canyon Hotel Montrose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing