We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Montrose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chandler, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Good value for the price”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Friendly staff, clean spacious room, comfortable beds, continental breakfast, fridge, coffee maker, microwave, private patio, located near Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park, excellent Italian food at Garlic Mike's Restaurant within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patbrown27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    145
    40
    22
    15
See reviews for
164
191
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blairsville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

This was a great place to stay! Rooms are huge & very clean, vanity area has exceptional lighting & a make-up mirror. Breakfast area was bright & cheerful and while food was standard continental breakfast fare, it was presented well and actual mugs for coffee. Fresh, cut fruit and small turn-overs were an added treat. We stayed here two nights and couldn't have been more pleased. High speed internet service was excellent, also.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frdallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed here one night en route to Mesa Verde--no reservations, just showed up. Desk staff was very helpful, value was excellent, it had a HOT breakfast included in the room rate, and even a computer in the lobby available for guest use. Our room had two queen beds and a nice bathroom. It was a pleasant and welcome surprise.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPWBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Almost last room of the day..huge room, very clean, friendly service. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grt_8woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Well, I may be biased since they gave me a free "upgrade" and unlike the "upgrade" they gave me in Best Western in Flagstaff, this was a real thing. I got a second floor room with a wonderful spa bath tub which I used with great joy.

Overall, the room was clean, very roomy and very comfortable. The bed was comfortable, it was quiet and it definitely met all my needs. The staff folks were friendly and helpful, especially with directions since I was a stranger in a strange land. Needless to say, of all the Best Westerns I stayed in during this vacation, this one definitely take the cake as the best.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Not the best or worst hotel we stayed on our vacation. Just average. The unit we stayed in appeared to be the original building when the hotel opened. Large rooms with very large bathrooms, but needs to be renovated. The staff at the front desk was very helpful with a great resturant in walking distance. Garlic Mike's. Don't eat anyplace else. Fantastic! Breakfast was very good in the morning. Best part of the stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DukeofTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I must have stayed in a different hotel than a lot of the reviewers have stayed at - our experience was not so good at the Red Arrow.

The hotel is newly remodeled, it's clean and nice inside (not much to look at from the street, though).

Rooms are quiet - I think the double-paned windows really help here.
Breakfast is one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had in a long time. They have nice choices, including breads, fruits, cereals, real hot egg-cheese omelet type things, sausages...there's something good for everyone. Very nicely done.

The bed is very comfortable. That's a BIG plus.

However, my wife and I had a couple issues with our two night stay.

First, and most annoying, was the shower. It is very trendy and stylish, one of those 'rain shower' types. I'm 6' 2", and the shower head was about eye-level. It is not adjustable, and there is NO water pressure. It's like standing in a very mild rain shower, from about your neck on down. It's very stylish, but totally non-functional.

Second, the hotel staff is a little dodgy. For example, the wall-mount hair dryer in our room was broken. I asked the front desk for a loaner, and it took 55 mins and three staff members to find one. Of course, we didn't need it by then.

Third, I asked to borrow a plate for a snack in our room. The front desk staff politely told me, "I'm sorry sir, but we don't have any plates". Wow. No plates? Really? So I just took a plate off the display they had set out in the lobby. One of the same plates they use at breakfast.

The whirlpool in our room only worked intermittently. It totally quit the second night. Very disappointing.

There's a cute little telephone next to the commode. Just for fun, I tried it out. It didn't work.

The damp, musty odor from the air conditioner (swamp cooler?) is a bit annoying, too. But that one you can get used to.

This place needs a bit of attention to the details, and to the basic functionality and maintenance, in our opinion.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzyzxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.3 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#4 of 10 in Montrose
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#3 of 10 in Montrose
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Canyon Motel
Black Canyon Motel
#6 of 10 in Montrose
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 10 in Montrose
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montrose
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Montrose
Super 8 Montrose
#1 of 10 in Montrose
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Arrow Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Arrow Inn & Suites

Property: Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Address: 1702 E Main St, Montrose, CO 81401-3811 (Formerly Best Western Red Arrow)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
#2 Green Hotel in Montrose
#3 Family Hotel in Montrose
#4 Business Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Arrow Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Arrow Inn & Suites is your home base for exploration. Whether you are coming to Montrose to visit the Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park, fly fish our amazing rivers, or just passing through on business, rest assured the Red Arrow Inn & Suites has you covered. Stay with us and experience the difference of an independent, family run Inn that cares about the details. Our mission is to provide genuine, superior customer service in an ultra clean, comfortable and unique environment. We have recently set a goal to become the most Eco-friendly hotel in Montrose and are implementing new sustainable, Eco-friendly practices that help give back to the community in which we live. We offer much more than the basics - those little extras that make your stay even more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you and becoming your home away from home in beautiful Montrose, Colorado. We know you will love being our guest as much as we will love having you as one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Red Arrow Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montrose
Best Western Montrose
Montrose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing