We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Red arrow is really nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Arrow Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Red arrow is really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here on the 15th Sept. what a little gem had a great nights sleep in a giant bed. Their serve your self breakfast was excellent, you could make waffles or omelettes how you like and there were numerouse other offerings. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were huge, with whirlpool bath,separate shower and film star vanity lights.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Squidgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    137
    34
    20
    12
See reviews for
148
180
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amherst
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here two nights. Large room, even larger bathroom. Clean and comfortable. Above average breakfast. Quiet. No interior corridors which is not a problem in warm weather. Only downside was that when we registered, not when we made the reservation, we were told that our room had a working Jacuzzi tub. It did have a Jacuzzi tub but it did not work. When we checked out the desk clerk said that it was not possible to make an adjustment to our bill. We think that there should have been an adjustment. But we would stay there again and we would recommend the motel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mguill1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Older motel in montrose but pretty clean. The price was right and the location was good, away from traffic. The host was very friendly and informative about where to eat and what to do. They had an above average breakfast with a large seating area. It was a very quiet motel with a large parking area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roland r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were expecting pretty much a cookie-cutter Best Western. We have no objection to those--we don't like bad surprises. However, this was even better. The back door to our room opened out to a beautiful restful lawn, with chairs to sit and enjoy the view. The breakfast was a full breakfast, including a make-your-own omelet station. Of course it was clean and the service was good. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Huge room, clean. Staff were courteous, although there was no crib available which was something of an anomaly in our travels. TV remote refused to work at first but TV just had to be turned off for 10 seconds and then it worked fine.

Excellent buffet style breakfast with make your own omelettes and waffles.

Good value at $109 + taxes

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbabwe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in this location because of its location to Black Canyon of the Gunnison. It is an older hotel, but it looks like it has been recently renovated. The rooms are huge, and they allow pets.

It had a yard to walk pets right behind our room with an acess via a rear door. They also have a great continental breakfast with eggs and sausage.

If you lookin up in the hotel cupon book, you can get the room for $79.99 as of August 2012. They were asking $140 a night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbatoast70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Best Western's reservation system overbooked this hotel the weekend we were here. We made our reservation about over 3 months before the time we stayed. That led to use getting a room that may not be used otherwise.
The room needed a portable a/c unit since the main a/c for this part of the building doesn't work. The unit did keep the room cool, but was loud and occasionally the vent hose fell out of the window. When that happened - which was only twice in two days - the room would heat up immediately.
The first room we got had a problem with the door locks. The maintenance man worked on it for over two hours and was not able to get it fixed. We were moved to another room due to a cancellation. The new room had the same a/c problem, so the portable a/c/ unit came with us.
The exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work, so there is no ventilation in there. This is a bad thing since we were positioned above smoking rooms. I thought the entire hotel was non-smoking. I found out that smoking is allowed in three of the rooms, and two of them were under ours. We kept the door closed to the bathroom to keep light out of the sleeping area. When I got up to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, it reeked of cigarette smoke. I quickly had to take our suitcase out of there so the clothes didn't get permeated with smoke.
One other thing that doesn't work are the phones in the room. I found that out when I tried to call the Front Desk at 0130 to inform them of the smoke stench. There was no dial tone.
The room was clean and the furniture is in excellent condition. The room came with a microwave and a refrigerator and both worked well.
The staff was very friendly.
Best Western's are always a gamble. Many are older properties (from the '50's and '60's) and are therefore difficult to keep up. This very well could be the last time I stay at a hotel in this chain.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vol245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.3 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#4 of 11 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#3 of 11 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Canyon Motel
Black Canyon Motel
#6 of 11 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 11 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montrose
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Montrose
Super 8 Montrose
#1 of 11 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Arrow Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Arrow Inn & Suites

Property: Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Address: 1702 E Main St, Montrose, CO 81401-3811 (Formerly Best Western Red Arrow)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
#2 Green Hotel in Montrose
#3 Family Hotel in Montrose
#4 Business Hotel in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Arrow Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Arrow Inn & Suites is your home base for exploration. Whether you are coming to Montrose to visit the Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park, fly fish our amazing rivers, or just passing through on business, rest assured the Red Arrow Inn & Suites has you covered. Stay with us and experience the difference of an independent, family run Inn that cares about the details. Our mission is to provide genuine, superior customer service in an ultra clean, comfortable and unique environment. We have recently set a goal to become the most Eco-friendly hotel in Montrose and are implementing new sustainable, Eco-friendly practices that help give back to the community in which we live. We offer much more than the basics - those little extras that make your stay even more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you and becoming your home away from home in beautiful Montrose, Colorado. We know you will love being our guest as much as we will love having you as one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Arrow Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montrose
Best Western Montrose
Montrose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing