We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once Again, we were not disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Montrose
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our second stay at the Red Arrow Best Western in Montrose, Colorado. Our large room looked out onto a nice park area. The room was very roomy and included a refrigerator and microwave. The hosts were most accommodating. Breakfast was included in the reasonable price and a new addition to breakfast was the make it yourself omelet bar. We will stay here again. Thanks so much for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 548 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2011

Room was big, clean and updated. Lots of choices for breakfast, an exercise room....even cookies and coffee upon arrival. We are usually scared as we drive up to a hotel but we were relieved and impressed when we got to the room and saw that it was nice.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank marriottstandard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My mom and I have stayed here numerous times and it is always the first place I call when coming into town. However, this trip was not for pleasure but for a death in the family. My aunt was in a rest home and had a stroke, knowing her time was near we stayed for 2 weeks until the funeral. With us having to go back and forth to the rest home and hotel, it made for very long, stressful days. The staff was wonderful, friendly, caring, considerate and thoughtful in everything they did (love the chocolate chip cookies in the lobby). I have 2 dogs that greatly appreciated the huge back yard with the beautiful willow tree. I appreciated how the staff made me feel comfortable about having them with me and having to sometimes leave them in the room. The breakfast choices are vast and delicious, the area is nice and clean and the ladies that take care of it and you as a customer are absolutely wonderful. If you stay here, please remember to tip them, they deserve it. I also recommended this hotel to some family members coming in for the funeral and they were all very happy with their accommodations and would stay here again. My cousin even took a picture of the willow tree and sent it to her daughter to show her what she woke up to. Even though we had a couple problems, the staff was always quick to help take care of them. The pool was being worked on, but, the men were considerate about not starting too early with the noise. Greatly appreciated! I LOVE this place and the people that take care of you and make you feel welcome. The price was also good considering what we had. The rooms are clean, the staff is great, breakfast is good, good location with good restaurants near by. What more could you ask for? Mmmmm - not much!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenChinoHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We found the BW Red Arrow super friendly, helpful, clean, quiet and extremely pet-friendly. They were very generous in offering our large family group a bereavement rate, because we were traveling from all over the country to come to a funeral in Montrose. All total, there were nearly a half-dozen dogs that made the trip with us, which was a tremendous comfort, considering our circumstance of grief.
We were greeted at the front desk by their awesome staff, who offered us quite an array of items from their goodie basket on the desk: lotion, deodorant, razors, etc...all expensive in any store, and not what you expect from a hotel.
We stayed in # 142, a double-queen. We would have never guessed it was a pet-friendly room if we hadn't been told in advance. It was spotless. Absolutely spotless! It is also very large, plenty of room for all 3 of us (2 people and 1 Rottweiler), plus one large dog crate & all of our luggage. The microwave, fridge, coffee maker & hair dryer were all very handy. We didn't use the iron/board, but they were also in the room.
A bonus for travelers with pups: the ground-floor rooms have 2 doors - one that opens into the hallway, and one that opens directly into the massive back yard area, complete with a beautiful willow tree, pickup bags and a disposal area for the bags. We appreciated that convenience so much. Our room had a lovely view of that regal tree budding out for spring. Two doors down were two German Shephards, and our family had several small dogs (with giant personalities, of course!). We never heard a peep from any of them.
Our room was handicap accessible, but the tub was not. Also, the beds in those two rooms are set up kind of high & would be difficult for wheelchair to bed transfer. But they may have other rooms that are set up differently.
The complimentary breakfast is extensive and includes waffles, omelets, toast, cereal, juices, biscuits, gravy...etc. The staff does a wonderful job, expecting nothing. We made sure we tipped them just to let them know our appreciation. They also let us use the breakfast room twice for family get-togethers after the funeral. We were also allowed to leave our dog in her crate in the room while at the funeral. We gave them our cell phone numbers in case she barked (she never does), or other emergency. They said they would text us if they needed to get ahold of us so that they wouldn't disrupt the services. I found that quite touching and considerate. I also felt safe knowing that they were looking out for her.
Colorado is a dog friendly place! Your pups will love it. In Telluride, there is even a "Puppy Parking" spot, complete with pickup bags and a darling photo opportunity. Dogs are everywhere!
However, so you can plan accordingly, the Colorado National Monument (which is SO worth visiting - stunning!) only allows dogs in "places cars can go." So they are not allowed on the outlook trails, unless otherwise posted. Same thing with the Black Canyon of the Gunnison (breathtaking must see!). There are a lot of super steep & deep (nearly 2800 feet in some places) drop offs which you wouldn't want your furry friend near anyway. It is also against the rules to leave them in the car - although we had to for very brief periods while we took a few pictures here & there. It was very cold the days we were there - so heat was not an issue - like it would be now.
There is an awesome river parkway nearby (the hotel folks can give you directions). It is paved and leads through what appears to be riparian forest along the river. It was a fun place near town to take a walk.
We will certainly stay at the BW Red Arrow anytime we are in the vicinity of Montrose. We really appreciate all that they did for us, and our pets, while on a trip to celebrate the life of our dear loved one.

Room Tip: Ask-they'll help. Very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myfavoritewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed in this hotel about 5 years ago with our dog & it was nice.
We made reservations 3 years ago for the King room we had previously stayed. We informed them we had a dog & they said no problem. We arrived & were told no dogs in King rooms. Ok once is an accident.
We called & asked if their policy had changed about the King rooms and explained about the previous attempt. The reservationist assured us they had changed the policy back. We booked 3 nights. When we arrived on Thurs we were informed "no dogs in the King rooms". I think this is called bait & switch!!! We went to the Country Lodge instead & had a great stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Sara1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I own two restaurants 65 miles apart. One in Gunnison, CO and one in Montrose, CO. My restauarnt in Montrose is a stones throw from the Best Western. I stay for a few days at a time. It's nice to come home every dayt o a clean room with the bed made and a hello from all the friendly staff. Its' the simple touches like having the snow scraped off my windshield when I go out to my car on a cold wintery morning morning.
I'm looking forward to the warmer days of summer to go take a dip in the pool right outside my door.
Nice place. Friendly staff. Nice hosts!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikegarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We have stayed at the Red Arrow several times over the years. They have done a great job of maintaining their rooms and providing a comfortable stay. It is a great value for the size of room & amenities. Staff is always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfman12_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.4 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#1 of 10 in Montrose
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Canyon Motel
Black Canyon Motel
#6 of 10 in Montrose
312 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#3 of 10 in Montrose
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 10 in Montrose
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Montrose
Super 8 Montrose
#2 of 10 in Montrose
628 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montrose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Arrow Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Arrow Inn & Suites

Address: 1702 E Main St, Montrose, CO 81401-3811 (Formerly Best Western Red Arrow)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montrose
#2 Green Hotel in Montrose
#3 Family Hotel in Montrose
#4 Business Hotel in Montrose
Price Range: $88 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Arrow Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Arrow Inn & Suites is your home base for exploration. Whether you are coming to Montrose to visit the Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park, fly fish our amazing rivers, or just passing through on business, rest assured the Red Arrow Inn & Suites has you covered. Stay with us and experience the difference of an independent, family run Inn that cares about the details. Our mission is to provide genuine, superior customer service in an ultra clean, comfortable and unique environment. We have recently set a goal to become the most Eco-friendly hotel in Montrose and are implementing new sustainable, Eco-friendly practices that help give back to the community in which we live. We offer much more than the basics - those little extras that make your stay even more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you and becoming your home away from home in beautiful Montrose, Colorado. We know you will love being our guest as much as we will love having you as one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Arrow Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Montrose
Best Western Montrose
Montrose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing