We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blast from the past”
Review of Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in this modest 1950's motel which has managed to keep the character and charm of the era (Congrats to the owners!). If this is the experience you are looking for, I suspect it would be hard to find a better place to stay in town for the price. Our room was clean and quiet with flat screen TV, mini fridge, microwave, king size bed, plenty of space, and sliding glass doors opening into the pool area. Plenty of hot water and heat for the room on a cold February weekend. A continental breakfast is available in the small motel lobby around a shared table. It looks like it would be a great place to stay with kids (and the family dog) in the summer on a family vacation. While the owners are delivering a very good value, I do see potential for easy improvements (bigger, softer towels, a few more coat hangers, and better breakfast ambiance) which could make a stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MovinOnAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 165 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We picked this place just because we liked the look. The room was large and very clean. The guy at the front desk was friendly and made us feel welcome. We had the John Waye room so we were also offered a box of John Wayne DVDs to watch during our stay. Inexpensive but a nice clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tgerberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This was the best place that we stayed in our tour around Colorado, Utah and New Mexico. The welcome from Jennifer was warm and friendly, and the large rooms full of character. I'll not repeat all the accolades from the numerous other reviews, but one example of the hospitality stood out - our washing was piling up after 10 days on the road, and Jennifer offered to clean it all for us. It wasn't until a couple of days after we'd left that I realised that we'd not been charged for it (I hope that wasn't an oversight - else I owe her!)

The hot tub was great, and dodging the sprinklers that guarded it was all part of the fun. The kitchen had sufficient crockery, pots and pans to allow us to cook up a meal, which made a decent change from restaurant food.

Montrose is a pretty neat town, with a historic downtown and a good selection of shops and supermarkets. Of course, the Black Canyon of the Gunnison is spectacular. All in all, we passed a very pleasant 3 nights at the Country Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hamleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is such a great place to stay. The outside is beautiful and then you look at the rooms and they are amazing!! So much bigger than expected with a great refrigerator and microwave. The bed and pillows were great and it was just very comfy. We enjoyed our hosts, Jennifer and Jeff. They are great people!! Extremely dog friendly as well, I was so thrilled. I will stay here every time we are in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was in town for a funeral, (sister) I was not in great shape. We got a room at country lodge, the service was amazing and the room was clean. The part that was unexpected was the owner found out I had a funeral and cut the cost of my bill and left me a inspirational letter! It was the best I've been treated at a hotel ever! The person that helped me was a godsend and made my day better. We will Always...stay here when we come to Montrose.....We will always be thankful to God, for people like you! Forever in our hearts & prayers "Martinez Family"....

Room Tip: Base it on how they greet & treat; when you first enter!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosalind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

From the outside the flowers and log cabin exterior cause us to stop and ask for a room.The family owned motel was clean but dated. The rooms were large but furniture was old but comfortable. The large table for the contintal breakfast was like days of old in a rooming house. They had a big pool and hot tub outside that looked inviting.The price was reasonable conserning the fact that there was a car show in town. Other motel had jacked up there prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Very pleased with this place - nice rooms, great layout, cool pool and hot tub and very friendly owner. Just 30 minutes drive from the spectacular black Canyon of the Gunnison with splendid views over the Colorado range. I would definitely recommend it for an authentic experience in Colorado and some fresh local grapes in the morning!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floflo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
Red Arrow Inn & Suites
#5 of 10 in Montrose
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
Stay Wise Inn Montrose
#3 of 10 in Montrose
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Canyon Motel
Black Canyon Motel
#6 of 10 in Montrose
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 10 in Montrose
109 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Montrose
Hampton Inn Montrose
#2 of 10 in Montrose
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Montrose
Super 8 Montrose
#1 of 10 in Montrose
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge

Address: 1624 E. Main St., Montrose, CO 81401-3809
Location: United States > Colorado > Montrose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Montrose
Price Range: $65 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Lodge is located in Montrose, CO near Black Canyon National Park, Grand Mesa National Forest and Uncompahgre National Forest. We offer affordable lodging with uncompromising comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Montrose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing