We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ever Cinnamon Buns!”

Starvin Arvins-Montrose
Ranked #15 of 92 Restaurants in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Ever Cinnamon Buns!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Every now and then I drop in for one of their HUGE (really huge) cinnamon buns. Served warm and slathered in icing and butter, it's a decadence worth indulging. And for under $3.00, it's worth every penny plus some. The rest of the menu is good, diner-esque in portion, quality and price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WildRoseFeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    40
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Diner & Breakfast is GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Met our friends there for Breakfast for them & Lunch for us on Aug.1. It was our 2nd visit & their first. All of us got more than ample portions on the items we ordered. In fact my friend ordered a cinnamon roll, turns out it was nearly as big as the dinner sized plate it came on. Plus it was fluffy & nicely covered in a light tasting frosting, not all gooey or sickeningly, overly sweet..

There are three sections for patrons, one has booths with a large Fish tank separating the first booth on the left side from the next room. That next room has some mid room to ceiling book shelves with hundreds of books on them. More seating at tables & booths in that section. Finally is another section we've never been seated in, is a little larger space and I believed there are a few larger tables in there for more than 4.

We were surprised by a gentleman that joked with us while seating a gentleman in the booth next to us. He then asked if our proportions of food were enough, we agreed they were. He proceeded to tell us a few jokes. Then we asked if his name was Arvin & his reply was yes. So turns out he was likely the manager or maybe even the store owner!

Good food, large portions (most need a To-Go box), good value, and nice variety of food choices. Give this place a try!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DnL_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Had a great breakfast there.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The food I had was very good. We ordered from breakfast menu, and there were three of us. We asked for more utensils and reminded about toast otherwise, service was fast. Food quality was very good and had a good appearance . I would eat there again gladly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueBarron3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really good breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Friendly and fast customer service. We were a party of 11 who ate here for breakfast. The serving sizes are huge to say the least. You might want to just share a plate for the amount of food you get. I had the eggs, bacon, hash browns, and pancakes and shared them with my grandmother. What I loved was that nothing was too salty or greasy. Even the bacon tasted low sodium. Though we were a large party it didn't take long to seat us and the staff was very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frodo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and great prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Starvin Arvins has some of the best breakfast and burgers in town! They give you hearty portions of delicious food at good prices, and fast and friendly service to boot. Perhaps the only downside is that they close before dinner most days of the week. But otherwise, great food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starvin Arvins-Montrose also viewed

 

Been to Starvin Arvins-Montrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing