We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak Lover”

Ted Nelson's Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 92 Restaurants in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
174 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Steak Lover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ted has been in Montrose for a long, long time and the food is always good. Moved his location a couple years ago and is still going strong. I love the open steak sandwich for lunch, have heard the prime rib for dinner is excellant. Friendly staff, nice open spaces so you don't feel closed in and never rushed. If you're in Montrose and love steak this is the place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    82
    18
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small town personal service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

You know you are in for a good experience when the owner is attentive, and concerned with every patron. Ted's pride of ownership is evident and it shows in the service and the food. This is not a big town four star restaurant but it is everything you could ask for in small town dining. Friendly surroundings, great service and very good food. Tasty salad, excellent steak and sweet potato fries. I did not have any room left for desert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ted's is wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We moved to the area within the last six months and Ted's is one of our favorite places. The food was above our expectations (after being let down at other places), wait staff were on their toes to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying our time. A gentleman approached us and started chatting us up in the parking lot while we were on our way it, seemed like such a nice man. Turns out he is the owner! Nice fellow! Enjoyed our meal, was hot, didn't take long, and tasted delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissC0181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I dined at Ted's based on reviews on Tripadvisor. It was also on a list of restaurants at our hotel. We were not disappointed.
We were greeted upon arrival and promptly seated. Our server was professional, yet friendly. We both ordered the shrimp dinners; one sautéed and one fried. The salads that came with our dinners were fresh and the house made dressings were tasty. Our shrimp were prepared perfectly and accompanied by a very good medley of green beans, green pepper, zucchini, and mushrooms. We ordered coffee after dinner and were surprised with two small servings of cake--a complimentary dessert.
As we were leaving, the bartender, who also happened to be Ted the owner, shook our hands and thanked us for coming. We highly recommend Ted's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suemariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Steaks were very good. Service was good. Owner came to every table to check on guests. He pitched in and cleared tables, poured water and coffee. Was great to see the pride and hospitality. Surprisingly nice inside. Prices were very reasonable. Lots of local families. Would happily recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cologal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted Nelson's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ted Nelson's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing