We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS PLACE”
Review of Sushitini - CLOSED

Sushitini
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Think Sushitini is just fish? Well come in tonight and enjoy some of our delicious pan-Asian cuisine. Teriyaki chicken, laksa seafood curry, grilled lamb kabobs. From Japan, to Indian, to Malaysia we have a variety of food on these cold nights to warm your belly. And don't forget to ask if Chef King Kong is making any specials!
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

As a huge sushi fan (and having eaten it for 30+ years in restaurants all over the country) I think Sushitini is on par with the best. The owner is an amazing chef and obviously knows what he's doing. Having eaten there several times, I can say that the menu quality, knowledgeable service and welcome atmosphere are consistent every time I visit. I would be proud to take my snooty foodie friends there anytime.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WildRoseFeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vail,CO
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a great find in Montrose!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am a sushi aficionado and this place ranks high! Who would've thought there'd be great sushi in Montrose? Don't miss this place. The fish is as fresh as any city has. Apparently, the supplier for the Western slope lives in Montrose-lucky for Nick, the chef owner and his crew...
Nick has obviously had some excellent experience in the field and it shows. His plating is creative and the pieces are generous. I had sashimi, accented with wonderful flavorful sauce-just a hint-try the salmon with truffle oil and fried capers-explosion in your mouth! He happened tohave fresh kampachi from Hawaii which was sublime.
The service was perfect. Even the miso soup was delightful and seemed better than average.
Give this place a go and you will not be disappointed. Apparently, they had a rough start a few yrs ago but have stepped it up considerably. They pleased this picky eater!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bskinow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“GREAT expanded menu”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I went with friends recently while my mother was in town visiting. I LOVE the new, expanded menu. Their fresh wasabi is divine. Be sure to request it! Their drinks are creative, the prices are fair and Nick, the chef and manager is very professional and kind. I really think this restaurant was good before Nick took over but now it's GREAT!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBelle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

They always have great service and are always willing to make custom sushi even if its not on the menu.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tayshae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Slow service and awful sushi”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for dinner and were very disappointed. It took forty-five minutes for our dinner to be served to us. The sushi rice was mushy and over cooked. Rolls were small and over priced.

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sushitini, Owner at Sushitini, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry you had an unpleasant experience. All of our sushi is made fresh to order. On busy nights when lots of rolls are ordered, the sushi bar can get backed up, even with two people making orders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing