We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great "hometown" atmosphere...”

Horsefly Brewing Company
Ranked #6 of 92 Restaurants in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great "hometown" atmosphere...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This place has that "hometown local" atmosphere that makes you feel welcome even if you're not from Montrose. Great food with the brewery right on site. Give "Bug Eyed Blond" a try and if in season try the Amber Ale. They put a great spin on Rocky Mountain Oysters with lots of different sauces available and the fish and chips are spot on. Less than 5 minutes from the Best Western Red Arrow on U.S. 50. Nice patio outside or enjoy the eclectic decorations of the inside bar/dining room. Super friendly staff and live music top the experience off.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReaverArmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    153
    67
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montrose
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad Beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Food good, but if you are looking for good beer, this is not the place. The only people that like the beer are not into good Micro Beer. Great outdoor seating and food is good pub food. Service is good as long as the place is not busy. On busy nights, have waited for up to an hour for the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kellimcmontrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quench you thirst with some local brew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stopped here for a beer on our way back tour campground. Good local brewery. Also serve food, though we didn't eat, but what we saw being served looked to have good serving size and smelled good. Nice patio area to relax and unwind.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Excellent beers and house made sodas. I had the 50/50 burger, it was delicious. Staff was excellent, very friendly, and helpful. My family and I had a great time

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Austin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beer garden surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The lady at the hotel said it was one of the better places in Montrose. Given that it was 8:00 pm and we were starving, it wouldn't have made much difference. Since this is a brewery, I tried a couple of their beers--both were excellent and paired it with bratwurst. The beer garden was eclectic and most memorable was the 'entertainment' that consisted of what seemed to be a novice fiddle player who tried his hand at snippets of whatever seemed to pop out. I was intrigued, and, indeed, entertained. This place is great--especially the beer garden.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chucky60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horsefly Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Horsefly Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing