We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific venue for an important dinner”
Review of The Stone House

The Stone House
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Ridgway, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrific venue for an important dinner”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We always eat at the Stone House for major events: birthdays, graduations, anniversaries and the like. Great food, the prime rib is outstanding and the service is always top notch [20% top notch!]. Happy hour prices on liquor take the "sting" out of what might otherwise be a bit pricey. Good ambiance especially with the fireplace and candles going. Teen friendly as well.

We've eaten at the Stone House for both dinner and lunch and both are super tasty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris52622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    122
    22
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roswell
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always delicious! Good ambiance!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We have been here over 5 times for brunch, lunch, and dinner and it is always wonderful and fresh. Will continue to eat here regularly! Lots to pick from on the menu. Sunday brunch is amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Alyssa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Center, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I ate the whole thing!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Delicious is all I can say! Great place to eat, fine wine, great service. Nice option to sit by a fireplace and have a casual conversation. Great staff, very attentive to your dining needs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank studentforpnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Locally Owned”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A wonderful place for prime rib, steaks and pasta. Great atmosphere, I always like to sit by the fireplace. Friendly staff, pricey, but well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Colorado
1 review
“best place in town”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Montrose has a VERY small selection of restaurants and the Stone House is at the top of that list. In my opinion theyre pricey, but the food is good, the service is excellent, and like i said, its the only place of its kind here in this area. Our waiter was very professional and did a fantastic job. I wouldnt consider this to be a family-type restaurant due to the semi-formal atmosphere, but it would be a great place for a first date.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Stone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing