We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“now we are talkin!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stone House

The Stone House
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montrose, Colorado
1 review
“now we are talkin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

this is where to stop in town...clean. friendly. good food. this is a great restaurant to take your wife to for your anniversary. just great food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal29973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    118
    21
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do you like your steak raw or burnt?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The so called chef and cooks at the Stone House are incapable of cooking a medium well steak. They are only capable of serving up a bloody steak or a burnt steak, i.e., with a thick layer of black char. If you send the bloody steak back it will be returned as dried up shoe leather or burnt black. If you send back a burnt steak, you will have to wait another 45 minutes for them to "bake" you a steak, which will be an unseasoned hunk of flavorless meat. If you discuss the problem with the owner or manager, you will be treated as though it were the first charbroiled steak you have ordered and simply don't know what a charbroiled steak is. No matter how bad the final product is or how long it takes them to cook up a really bad steak, you will still be expected to pay their very high price for it. Their seafood pastas are also terrible, and their key lime pie is NOT key lime pie, but rather a tablespoonful of sour custard in a tiny ramekin that you cannot even scrape the graham cracker crust out of with a steak knife. One of the waitresses wears enough hairspray to make you physically ill. You would be well advised to eat at McDonald's instead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beatrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“must be the best in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place is excellent. Had terrific service and really fine food. We had the prime rib and one of the chicken/ pasta dishes. Both were so good we wished we could have eaten twice. The sides, bread and drinks were equally good. So much food that we just didn't have room to try the desserts. This is the 2nd time we've been here and it was just as inviting and rewarding before. Two people dined, with drinks, for around $50, so it's very reasonable. We'll stop here any time we're in Montrose.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steverace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedaredge, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Casual Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

A very relaxing place for lunch. A nice variety of not the ordinary lunch fare. The staff makes you feel special as soon as you enter the restaurant. The food is excellent and nicely presented. Prices are a bit higher than the run of the mill restaurant, but worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best in Montrose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Every time I'm in town I make it a point to eat here. The food, atmosphere, and service are the best. Please note this is a place for adults so parents please get a sitter for everyone's sake.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank La_Plata_View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Stone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing