We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful valley to travel through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Movie Manor
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monte Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Beautiful valley to travel through”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We traveled through the beautiful San Luis Valley to get to Monte Vista and the Best Western Movie Manor Motel. The area is lovely. The motel is rather isolated. Were told it is the only movie available for 40 miles around. The room was fine. Older but comfortable. The toilet needed multiple flushings. Nuff said. The sound for the movie did not work in our room but that was okay. We were tired and the film showing on the screen we could see was a children's cartoon. We had dinner at the restaurant next to the motel. It was very good and the ladies who served it and breakfast the next morning were very kind and friendly. Enjoyed this little piece of Americana.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasCaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike s s, Front Office Manager at Best Western Movie Manor, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello PasCaLady!
The staff of the Best Western Movie Manor would like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your travels through the San Luis Valley, and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. We hope you had safe travels, and invite you to stay with us again. Thank you.

-Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    158
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
234
173
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

If you want to see the real Southern Colorado, take a drive on US 160. You will have incredible scenery, travel through lovely small towns, this is to me the Real America. Schedule your travel to spend the night at this unique Motel. Watch a Drive-In movie from your spacious room and a comfortable arm chair or choose movie #2 and watch from your car. The bed was great, room clean and well laid out. My stop here was a joy in a very long business related road trip.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cpyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike s s, Front Office Manager at Best Western Movie Manor, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Cpyles!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your travels through southern Colorado. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip through the area as well. We invite you to stay with us again on your next visit. Thank you.

-Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised. Small town, Best Western...we weren't expecting much but it was a treat. The man that checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful. The lady that corrected our rewards program points and checked us out, was just as pleasant. We rented three rooms and all were clean and spacious. Watching the drive-in movie from our room was a bonus. Our son opted to drive the car to the 2nd movie (Transformers). The free breakfast was good, the same as you get at most hotels. The Eating area was well maintained. The staff started things off right with their friendly and hospitable nature and the entire experience was one we won't soon forget.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike s s, Front Office Manager at Best Western Movie Manor, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello Gerry O!
Thank you for writing a review of the Best Western Movie Manor on TripAdvisor. We would like to thank you for staying with us, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide each guest with the best accomodations. We hope that you choose to stay with us again. Thank you.

-Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigswinter, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Reception at the movie manor best western was very friendly. I had picked the hotel as a surprise for my wife, because of the unique drive-in movie theatre-hotel combination.

The room had a leaking sink and it smelled. I had to put a bucket under it otherwise it would've flooded the room. Apparently it was newly installed and the plumber had made a very bad job. That was also where the smell was coming from, fresh silicone sealing agent. Why they were renting that room I don't know, it didn't seem to be fully booked. Anyway, you won't encounter that problem when you're there.

The rooms are all movie themed and large enough, the furniture is somewhat old, but clean enough. A table was there and two arm chairs. The hair dryer was weak.

You can watch one of the two screens of the drive-in from your room and get the sound from speakers installed in the room.

We chose to drive in with our car (it is included in the room price), because in Europe drive-ins are very rare and we had not been to one. So we went for the experience. There are two screens there and we chose the main screen movie. Unfortunately they had technical problems so they couldn't run a movie on that screen. We were offered a free return but that was no good for us as we were only in the area for a night. So we joined the other screen in mid film. We didn't mind that much because we were there for the experience and not for the movie. It was a double feature night, but most cars left after the first movie. So we sat there we two or three other cars for the second one. It some point during the 2nd film I noticed something moving outside the car, I had a look outside and it was a desert fox! It was a great experience over all and we are just last week talking about the experience - almost a year later. Very memorable.

The included breakfast was ok. We went for dinner in the adjacent restaurant (where you get a 15% discount). The food was so-so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike s s, Front Office Manager at Best Western Movie Manor, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Travelling-Wolfgang,
The staff of the Best Western Movie Manor would like to thank you for writing a review of our motel on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the inconveniences you had regarding the leaking sink and technical difficulties of our drive-in, and hope that didn't ruin your stay too much. We hope you enjoyed your experience while viewing our double feature on the second screen. We invite you to stay again on your next visit to the US. Thank you very much.

-Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel was a pleasant surprise! Didn't quite know what to expect but loved it, Mike and his staff went out of their way to be helpful, friendly, and their hospitality was second to none!
Watching a drive in movie from the room was a first for us. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awacs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike s s, Front Office Manager at Best Western Movie Manor, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello awacs85,
The staff of the Best Western Movie Manor would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our drive-in movie. We hope you enjoyed visiting the area as well, and hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip. Thank you.

-Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watkins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

this is a Best Western Hotel, a very clean, well ran Best Western, we did not book the room directly thru the hotel, then when we checked in, found out we were across the parking lot and not able to see the movie at the drive in, Whhaattt! we could get free admission, except that we were on motorcycles!, very, no, I mean VERY disappointed, thirty minutes after I booked the room I called and asked what movie was showing, and that we had a reservation, and would we be able to see the show, all confirmed and "we will see you Friday", perfect until we arrived, and were then informed that we should have booked directly with the motel, lesson learned!

Room Tip: The Whole purpose of staying at this motel is to watch the drive inn movie, confirm that you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahambo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike s s, Front Office Manager at Best Western Movie Manor, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi Grahambo V,
Thank you for writing a review of the Best Western Movie Manor on TripAdvisor. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced at our motel concerning your room assignment at check-in. We hope that didn't ruin your experience with us too much. We invite you to stay with us again on your next trip to the area, and we would be more than happy to give you a perfect room for viewing the screen. Thank you.

-Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Owner and staff made whole conference extremely enjoyable. Older hotel but stay was enjoyable. Where else can you watch a drive-in movie from your room. If in the Monte Vista area would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike s s, Front Office Manager at Best Western Movie Manor, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello Robert H,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our motel here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Civitan Conference. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Monte Vista. Thank you.

-Courtney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Vista
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 14 in Alamosa
550 reviews
18.3 mi away
Super 8 Alamosa
Super 8 Alamosa
#2 of 14 in Alamosa
630 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamosa
Hampton Inn Alamosa
#3 of 14 in Alamosa
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Best Western Alamosa Inn
24.1 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
236 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monte Villa Inn
Monte Villa Inn
#4 of 4 in Monte Vista
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Movie Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Movie Manor

Property: Best Western Movie Manor
Address: 2830 US Highway 160 W, Monte Vista, CO 81144-9357 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Movie Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Monte Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monte Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Movie Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Movie Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Movie Manor Hotel Monte Vista
Best Western Monte Vista
Monte Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing