We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldie Goldie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Movie Manor
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monte Vista
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Oldie Goldie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed there years ago with my family (Mary Poppins was playing).... 35 years layer it was like returning to visit an old friend. Although in Nov. There was no movie . The room was quiet, clean a d smelled fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    136
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
200
150
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
329 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I were surprised when we stayed here. First of all let me warn you, it is out in the middle of nowhere. But the movie-themed rooms with a bay window facing a drive-in movie theatre screen was an absolute joy. It was obviously something dreamed up back when drive-ins were cool so the hotel is a little older but clean. You don't get surround sound in your room either, just one central over-head speaker. My only complaint is that our window that we tried to watch the movie through was filthy making it difficult to see what was going on but otherwise we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

On a three week road trip and thought this would be an interesting experience. Unfortunately, drive in was closed for the year (my bad, should have checked). Staff was very friendly and room was clean so not a terrible choice but without this "extra", price was more than I paid for similar/better rooms elsewhere. Location not very convenient with no place to eat close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I struggled with choosing a rating for this hotel. The hotel was very nice, the fitness center was fantastic, the staff was very friendly, they are pet friendly but the beds were horribly uncomfortable! I had a very sore back the next day (I'm 29 with no history of back pain). With that being said, I think they charge way to much for a room. This was a stop on our road trip and needless to say we did not get a restful night of sleep because we were so uncomfortable!
There is a restaurant nearby but food is not great, just ok.
*We stayed in a rooms in the Annex where they allow pets so the regular rooms may have much more comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were heading towards the Great Sand Dunes, Colorado on motorcycles. I saw this hotel on the internet and new it was on our rout, to our surprise it was terrific. It looked a bit questionable for the price (60's dated motel style) when we got there, although the grounds were immaculate. We pulled in and the staff greeted us very warmly. They happily changed our room so we had a better view to watch the DRIVE INN movie from our room. Yes, it’s a drive inn movie theater motel, just like the name implies. It’s decorated with movie memorabilia. Our room (The Richard Gere) was immaculate, completely updated with nice linins, lots of pillows, comfy beds, and spotless WHITE bathroom. We had lots of room to store our suitcases and riding gear with out crowding the bedroom. The huge picture window framed the drive in screen; the speaker was in the ceiling.
Attached to the motel is a restaurant. Serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. We parked the bikes, had dinner and a few beers (they have a full bar) food was good and portions were as well...Then up to the room to watch the cars drive into their spaces and then settled into watch Batman...It was easy to see and hear...In the morning we had a great omelet, more than filling and took off. We will go back there every time we plan a trip in the Monte Vista area, you should NOT miss this!!
PS this first time I wrote this review, I mistakenly hit the wrong stars...Its excellent!!

Room Tip: Let the staff know you WANT to watch the movie, they happily changed our reservatioin
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetoride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I (and our little dog) had a nice trip to the Alamosa area for the Labor Day weekend for sightseeing. The best part of the trip turned out to be our hotel complete with Drive-In movie! For sound, instead of the old window speakers, you just dial-in the film on your FM radio in your car. We had a convertible so with the top down it was a lot of fun. Gees, you could even talk during the movie, imagine that?

Very nice support staff in the hotel and the nearby restaurant also. Very quiet and a rather massive area. Even has a chipping green. I'll bring my clubs next time.

There's also a playground area if you have kids.

Room Tip: Not just any hotel. A very positive memorable experience that you'll remember.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoGuy1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place was AMAZING! Yes. it's a bit kitschy but that's what we wanted. We sat in our room, eating pizza and watched Ice Age 4...a perfect night with the kids. They were SO excited. It's a one of a kind place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhartsock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Vista
17.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 13 in Alamosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monte Villa Inn
Monte Villa Inn
#4 of 4 in Monte Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
18.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alamosa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamosa
Hampton Inn Alamosa
#2 of 13 in Alamosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
18.3 mi away
Super 8 Alamosa
Super 8 Alamosa
#3 of 13 in Alamosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Movie Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Movie Manor

Property: BEST WESTERN Movie Manor
Address: 2830 West US 160, Monte Vista, CO 81144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Monte Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monte Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Movie Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Movie Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Movie Manor Hotel Monte Vista
Best Western Monte Vista
Monte Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing