We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitschy family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Movie Manor
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monte Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but what a fun place to stay as a family on a southwest Colorado road trip! Our 13- and 14-year old loved the Movie Manor. After a full day driving and a stop at the Great Sand Dunes National Park, this was our rest stop for one night. Highly recommended if you're looking for something different and do not expect your standard hotel.

The Movie Manor is a 60's or 70's style (we called it "retro" but it's a bit outdated on the exterior, though they did have flat screen TVs in the rooms) traditional motel situated next to a drive-in movie theater. From your motel room window, you can view the movie they are showing at the drive-in. The pre-show music and movie track is piped into your motel room so you can hear it all. The rooms are very soundproof so you don't hear the sound in the room next to you.

The movies are first-run, they were showing Snow White and the Huntsman and Men in Black 3 this week when we were there.

The movie screen is a little far from the motel but it's still such a fun idea to lay on your bed and watch the drive-in movie, that it's easy to overlook that.

We ate at Kelloff's Restaurant next door to the motel because it's the only place nearby, and the food was really good. They offer a 15% restaurant coupon at check-in.

Our room was very clean, front desk service was good, and the motel parking lot was full by nighttime. Appears to be popular so book early if you can.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with the best view of the movie screen. They put us in the middle on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steamboat323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 598 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

this hotel is a little out of town with its own resturant next door.
the resturant is a bit basic both menu and decor a bit outdated but the food and service great one of the best value meals we had in the 2 weeks we had in the usa.
the hotel was great value all rooms named after movie stars,park outside your door.
as the name says a movie manor hotel the rooms over look a drive in theater lay on the bed put on the sound system and watch the film.the sound was great from the built in speakers and the rooms sound proof so you could not hear next doors.
our room was very clean and bed great,a little small but we were only there a night.
all staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I suppose the idea of having a hotel that doubles for a drive-in movie theater is pretty cool, but there's a reason drive-in theaters are going the way of the 8 track tape player and so is this hotel. The beds are not comfortable, the bed linens are worn out. The heater/ac fan made a serious racket when the unit came on. The bathroom fan made a racket when you turn it on as well. Not a comfortable nor quiet place to sleep.

The owners have refurbished the place and the exterior is clean but overall, you won't be clambering to stay there again. By Best Western standards it is poor. But, if you're in Monte Vista and looking for a hotel, it's in a good spot on the highway.

I'd recommend you stay somewhere else though.

Room Tip: Drive to the West side of Alamosa instead. You'll find a better Best Western and better restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colorado53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed at the Movie Manor last summer. We really enjoyed it! We brough our dogs so we were put in the "annex". That is a small four room building back behind the main building. It was great! The room was clean and updated. Nothing fancy but nice especially for a dog friendly room. It backed to open land and to a grassy area so we could walk our dogs and throw their ball and not be bothering any other guests. It was quiet and dark at night too!
We also loved the movie aspect! Since we couldn't see the screen from the annex we piled everybody in the back of the suburban and drove over. It was great - very nostalgic. They have the playground in front of one screen and everything.
We will be back and would highly recommend this place for families and for dogs!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarings3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is the scond time that we have stayed at the Best Western Movie Manor hotel. We booked the room online through Best Westerns website and made one special request which was taken care of before we arrived. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay from start to finish and the front desk staff at the hotel were awesome. Our room was A+++ clean upon check-in and we had excellent wireless internet signal through out our stay. There is an onsite restaurant that has decent food which is pricey but, they do provide a 15% off (one time use) coupon upon check-in. The hotel is very quiet and the view of the surrounding mountains from the door of our room were beautiful. The price we paid was a good value for the amenities offered considering the only comparable cheaper option was a hotel 20+ miles away. Definetly the only hotel I will stay in while visiting Monte Vista...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimpleGuy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

What a great place. Stayed downtown in July and was NOT happy at that place - very dirty.I was a little afraid to stay anyplace in Monte Vista but this place is a gem. The room, the grounds every thing about this hotel was spotless. Our room was so clean and the people at the front desk were very helpful. It is so quiet there and not a lot of traffic noise even though it is close to the road. I can't wait till we have to go back to stay there. Only draw back was the restaurant - not that good. Lovely hotel and the movie part was fun too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

interesting with the movie but at ~150 yards it was a bit far away.
No breakfast, cold coffee in lobby with no hot water, no tea in room. At the rate quoted ($120) seemed steep unless you included the drive-in value.
Kids enjoyed their first drive-in movie

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S2_Okie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Vista
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 14 in Alamosa
577 reviews
18.3 mi away
Super 8 Alamosa
Super 8 Alamosa
#2 of 14 in Alamosa
658 reviews
25.0 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Best Western Alamosa Inn
24.1 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
239 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monte Villa Inn
Monte Villa Inn
#4 of 4 in Monte Vista
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Movie Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Movie Manor

Address: 2830 US Highway 160 W, Monte Vista, CO 81144-9357 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Movie Manor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Monte Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monte Vista
Price Range: $82 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Movie Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Movie Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Movie Manor Hotel Monte Vista
Best Western Monte Vista
Monte Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing