We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Minturn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minturn Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Minturn B&B and Inns
tucson, az
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Having lived in the Vail Valley for over 11 years, my husband and I still love to ski Vail, but don't want to pay 300-400. per night.
We stayed here recently and just loved it. We would highly recommend it if you don't mind being about 10 minutes avay from Vail proper by car.
If you're dining out I would definitely drive to your destination because the Minturn Country Club (cook your own steaks) was way expensive and The Saloon's food was a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: Spend a little more to get the best rooms on top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topcattc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    23
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
65
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Huge jacuzzi bath tub and a fireplace in room were the immediate draws, but friendly and welcoming service along with delicious breakfast seals the deal.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JordanShadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were looking for a place with rustic touches, a fireplace etc.. But over New Years in Vail we would have ended up at a chain hotel with our budget. By staying about 5 minutes away from Vail Village at the Minturn Inn we were able to get the rustic lodge feel we were looking for. Erin, the innkeeper, was excellent in communicating with us prior to arrival and taking care of us while there. The room was just as pictured if not better and the breakfast was delicious. We highly recommend this location if you are visiting Vail, Minturn, Avon or Beaver Creek :)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugluv77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at the Minturn Inn for our one-year anniversary and we had an absolutely wonderful experience. The rooms are cozy and spotless, and we loved the rustic mountain decor. There are two separate sitting rooms with gas fireplaces, and I can't wait to get back in winter to read a book by them.

Earin, the Inn's keeper, makes delicious waffles and other breakfasts. She's really personable, knowledgeable about the area, and responsive. In fact, I had a nasty bike accident while we were staying at the Inn and Earin drove into Vail to pick us up from the hospital and then took really good care of me while I was recuperating. We love Earin and the Minturn Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is exactly what a bed and breakfast should be. Quaint, hospitable, comfortable and clean in a great location. It's a charming house on "main" street in this cute little town. Beautifully decorated and maintained. Staff was very nice and breakfast was good. Great place for anything around the Vail valley, and not too far from Leadville. I do hope to return!

Room Tip: I stayed in 10th Mountain which was a nice room on top floor. Apparently there are rooms on the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband and I just spent 4 days in the charming Minturn Inn.
Our Innkeeper and the day Innkeeper were perfect hostesses, providing lovely breakfasts, good information about the area (check out their book of hiking trails next to the breakfast table) and a quiet, clean, beautiful setting. This is a very well-run Inn, and everything is first-class, definitely way more than we expected for the modest rate.

We stayed in the Columbine room, which was on the second floor in the back of the original building, with a giant old-fashioned bathtub. During the afternoons, we could go and sit down by the river on the shady deck surrounded by trees. And, in the evening, we could watch the sunset from our room, framed by the mountains.

Breakfast and coffee was delicious, and we could be out hiking one of the hundreds of trails by 8:30 am, (the Forest Ranger office is right on the Minturn exit, and Minturn itself is only 2 miles down the Scenic "Top of the Rockies" byway. Simply put, you could drive south towards Leadville along a scenic road, or, you can go east on 70 and hike all the amazing wilderness trails within 10-20 miles! We liked best the hikes with great views of the Gore Range (Bighorn, Pitkin Creek and Booth Falls.)

You can eat at the great little Greek place (Quickie Nickie's) in town (great Gyros!), or zip over to Avon, Vail, or Edwards for literally hundreds of restaurant choices. We used the restaurant guide in our room to find the best place we felt like that particular night.

There is a fridge that guests can use to chill your water bottles down overnight (just no cooking in the kitchen) and a fan you can borrow (our upstairs room got a bit toasty in July, but with the fan it was fine.

I didn't see the riverside Lodge rooms- but we enjoyed the deck and the main room downstairs when resting from hiking-- it looked very calm and relaxing.

If you like a calm place (unlike Vail!) where you can hear the birds sing and the river rushing by and wake up to fresh hot coffee served with a smile-- this is your place!

You could save a few dollars staying at a boring chain hotel on 1-70, but you know how boring that will be! (Although, they even have $99 rooms- so it's even less expensive and you get so much more for your money here!)

Room Tip: Upstairs can get hot in the summer/ Camp Hale is prob the best upstairs/ River Lodge rooms more mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiker2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Loved this place! Charming inn with gracious and welcoming hostess. Fantastic breakfast and a great bargain! I look forward to a return visit! Jim

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdgiannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minturn
6.1 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#5 of 9 in Avon
588 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
5.1 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#5 of 18 in Beaver Creek
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#6 of 30 in Vail
492 reviews
4.5 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
17.6 mi away
Hotel Frisco
Hotel Frisco
#6 of 21 in Frisco
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minturn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minturn Inn

Property: Minturn Inn
Address: 442 Main St., Minturn, CO 81645
Location: United States > Colorado > Minturn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Minturn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Minturn Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership from January 2017. Nestled between Vail and Beaver Creek the Minturn Inn is a charming bed and breakfast. Come enjoy a stay with us as cozy as your own home. Enjoy your mountain retreat in a completely refurbished 1915 hewn log home on the town's historic Main Street. Originally constructed in 1915 as a residence for the McBreens, a railroad family, the Minturn Inn is one of the oldest buildings in town. It was renovated in 1995 to become a charming nine-bedroom bed and breakfast with full modern conveniences. Our distinctive accommodations feature hand-crafted log beds adorned with cozy down comforters and quilts, hewn log walls, antler chandeliers, river rock fireplaces and many other memorable touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Minturn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing