We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pizza joint”
Review of Magustos

Magustos
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Minturn
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A pizza joint”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

While I miss the old Chilli Willie's that used to be in this spot, I have to admit, they make a pretty good pizza (even by NY standards). The were willing to blacken the crust and make it extra crispy. I was told that they make their own meatballs and sausage - which was tasty. There was plenty of cheese, but I had to ask for some extra red sauce.

They have done very little to decorate the place, so don't expect too much. But they do have cold beer on tap and a decent variety. The service was friendly and prompt.

There is an outdoor patio, which is little more than a roped off couple of parking spots. The owner has a landmark property here and should invest in this place. Adding a trelis

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LevtyVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pizza, pizza”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great pizza made fresh with lots of great toppings. One of the best pizza joints going. Great pizza, loads of good beer, and reasonable prices. By far the best pizza deal in Vail!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yogaforcruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Perfect Family Small Town Bar & Grille”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

As a 49 year old Colorado native, it's embarrassing that I've never been to the amazing mountain town of Minturn before. One of the first things you see, as you round the curve onto Main street is the bright yellow stucco restaurant that is Magusto's! Inside, we were greeted warmly by Bartender Erin and the Owner, Eric - who accommodated our large tv LIP'EM & RIP'EM Sportfishing TV crew. Starving, we dove into the appetizers of wings and fried pickles. The wings were glazed perfectly with that "hard to find" honey blend of sauce. The fried pickles were as good as they get, from our experience. For the entre, our client had a generously portioned pizza with fresh dough and toppings - which he loved. The other guys and I had various specialty burgers, which were thick and cooked to order - and excellent. Our Server, Susie, was fast and sweet. The ambiance is great for kids and adults, even 'though there is a full bar. They section Magusto's into two main parts, where kids can play videogames, ping pong, or foosball. The adults can crash in the booths in the same room - or sit up front on high tables at the bar. In hindsight, I would order the pizza as it looked outstanding...but we were all well fed and will definitely come back. (Also, while it was too cold at the time we went, they also have a great outdoor patio which is well positioned for the late afternoon, early evening sun!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TVPro2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great pizza and burgers”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The ambiance is small town bar, but the food is great. The pizza is awsome. Try the bbq pork pizza. One of my favorite pizzas ever. Thin crust. Very nice. The burger was also top notch. The ice tea needed a little more love however. They will even deliver if you need it.

Helpful?
Thank Sydeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Regular pizza and pasta place”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The alternative you have to get some pizza for the kids. The pasta is not fancy, but enough for two people (spaghetti with meatballs).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magustos also viewed

 

Been to Magustos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing