We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trappers Lake Lodge & Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meeker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trappers Lake Lodge & Resort
Medford, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Every summer we load up the car and head out to discover new places. Two years ago we came across Trappers Lake Lodge and Ive been thinking about that hamburger and fishing every since. So we are headed for Trappers Lake Lodge in late June. This is one place I intend to return to as often as possible. Fishing was some of the best. Food at the lodge was top notch. And on top of that this place is remote and not over run with the crazies. We stayed in a cabin for four nights. Cabins are rustic, well maintained and comfortable. Everyone made sure we were well taken care of, just plain nice people running the place. May return again in fall for hunting.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaco9trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

I organized a girlfriend get away at Trappers. All 9 of us arrived for four days of hiking, horseback riding, fishing and talking. We had a blast. The cabins are rustic, cute and clean. The food at the lodge hit the spot every night for dinner. Staff was friendly and always available for info and a chat. Next year we are all returning with the husbands for a week retreat. Back in the area to see friends and decided to write up a comment.

By the way the wildflowers and scenry were amazing - just we were all looking for

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmac74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Sal, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

I was totally amazed at the kindness shown to me by the people of this lodge. They treated me very well and made me feel welcome. there place was clean and fresh. It is owned by two sisters Holly and Carol, and they are doing a very good job at bringing this resort back from abandonment. their food was great and their service even greater. every one of the guest were happy to be there and a lot are repeat customers. I will be one of the repeat customers also..sadly there was a fire on the mountain eight years ago and the results are still visible. but on the good side, you can see so much more of the beautiful country including the china wall. I congratulate these hard working people and wish them my best

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobert84530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stopped in at the lodge / general store for some advice on the area. Two ladies behind the bar reluctantly greeted us with a "can I help you?". I responded that we were looking for info on the area, and just general tips on our visit to the lake. She responded with a condescenending "what exactly did you need to know?!". I politely responded that we had never been there, and were just looking for any advice on which part of the lake to visit/fish, etc. She responded with a couple short sentences saying we could just take the road toward some campgrounds and follow the signs. At this point it was clear that we would not be staying here, and opted to camp instead. When entering we actually thought we might eat there as well but again, after the not-so-hospitable greeting, we opted to cook our own dinner over the campfire that night.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank northwindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

Our group o 6 adults and a 3 yr old stayed two nghts and loved it. .I carelessly drove of f the edge of a drive and got hung on some rocks. The owners got a 4by 4 , pulled me out and would not accept apenny for the help. We found our cabin clean and warm when we entered..

Electricity rom 7 til 10 was not an issue - the camp runs on a generator and common sense tells one it cannot run 24 hours a day. . Same with water - the campi s served by a small well and if 15 people took 30 minute showers, the well could not keep up.

The pwners, Holly and Carolyn are hands on working operators and beween them and thier spouses do it all, and do it very well.

My hat is off to them

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcmax800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

We booked a cabin for early Oct. 2008 hunting season.
Our cabin was warm, quiet, clean, and comfortable.
Electricity from 7am to 10pm was not an issue for us.
Propane wall heater in cabin was an appreciated bonus.
The shower house facilities were fine, just expect to share time. They provided towels, but you need your own toiletries.
The food at the lodge was good, at a reasonable price..
A real pleasent surprise was internet access.
If we needed someting or had a issue it was promptly
addressed.
The staff, was pleasent, and Holly & Delia were very helpful. When we got a flat tire, Holly supplied flat tire fixing gear so we didn't have to make a 50 mile trip to get a flat fixed.
Holly's expression of "thats life in the wilderness" is spot on.
The consensus of our group was an above average, comfortable stay in the wilderness.

  • Liked — warm corfortable cabin
  • Disliked — share shower room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

We just spent one night in one of the Trappers cabins--the cabins themselves are cute and tidy but wouldn't say "clean". We arrived unexpectedly due to storm conditions, and were pleased there was space available. However, our cabin was previously occupied by "honeymooners" and had not been cleaned...we even had to change the sheets ourselves! The cabins are a bit pricey considering the fact that electricity is turned off "around 10" (or really whenever the owners feel like powering down), there is no running water, and our cabin was not even cleaned.
The worst part of our stay was how unhospitable the owners were. Perhaps since we arrived unexpectedly, they were caught off-guard, but the attitude was very unfriendly. When asked if there would be a dinner meal, the response was a snarky "You were supposed to be camping, make your own dinner". They generously allowed us to use their professional kitchen to prepare our own food, but were frowned upon for electing to start cooking at 8pm, and given a 30 minute time limit for cooking, eating, and cleaning up (which we stuck to).
Despite feeling unwelcome, we were appreciative and gracious with the owner, paid full price and cleaned up after ourselves in a vain attempt at softening owner Holly. However, we will not be returning, and instead highly recommend Ripple Creek Lodge, which is just around the corner.

  • Liked — The location, accepting of 3 well behaved dogs, and last minute availability
  • Disliked — The staff was very unfriendly and we had to change previous occupants' bedsheets (newlyweds)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank sdrigoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meeker hotels
35.6 mi away
Blue Spruce Inn
Blue Spruce Inn
#2 of 3 in Meeker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Trappers Lake Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trappers Lake Lodge & Resort

Property: Trappers Lake Lodge & Resort
Address: 7700 Trappers Lake Rd, Meeker, CO 81641-9005
Location: United States > Colorado > Meeker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Meeker
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Trappers Lake Hotel Meeker
Trappers Lake Lodge And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing