We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation of a Life Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mc Coy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vacation of a Life Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Black Mountain Ranch is a one of a kind vacation. The owners and wranglers make you feel a part of the ranch not just a visitor. Everyone is especially friendly and all of the staff goes to great lengths to make sure your every need is taken care of.

The accommodations are extremely clean and comfortable.

The food is 5+ star (amazingly even the packed lunches we took on trail rides. I won't spoil the surprises)

I was especially impressed with the quality and care of the horses. These animals work hard and all (75+) are in excellent condition. They do an amazing job of matching the horse to the rider's ability.

The range of activities is also a plus. You can choose what you want to do from riding all day, to soaking in a hot tub or pool, white water rafting, camp out or just hanging out and relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
100
34
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Until now I’ve never been motivated to post an internet review but after our holiday at BMR I felt compelled to change that. At the time it felt like we were having the best holiday ever and several weeks later my view hasn’t changed. Whether it’s the family owners or the rest of the staff, all of them are hard-working, enthusiastic, fun loving and dedicated to making sure you have a great time – day and night. Add that to the stunning mountain scenery, wonderful riding terrain, a full program of optional events and a hefty supply of great food etc. etc. and you can see why it works so well. One important tip - think carefully before you book BMR, only those people who can cope with a totally brilliant holiday should go.
Bill, Jen, Robert, England

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Amazing experience. Black Mountain Ranch is run by a friendly, caring family and staff, and do everything they can to make your time at the ranch a wonderful experience.

Beautiful setting for a range of adventures: horseback riding (on trails in the mountains or in the arena for barrel racing, etc.), trap shooting, lassoing calfs, cattle driving (on Saturdays), hiking, whitewater rafting, fishing, swimming, hot tubbing, and more. The setting is great, but it's the people that make it a great experience.

When you arrive, you meet your wrangler for the week, meet your horse, and start to outline your week. Your schedule is up to you: while there are some activities scheduled throughout the week (whitewater rafting, camping out one night, dinner rides into the mountains, cattle driving), you have the opportunity to create your own schedule. Want to relax, nap, read, hot tub? Go ahead. Want to go ride your horse hours into the mountains? Your wrangler will help make it happen.

Every day starts with a great breakfast, and every day ends with a great dinner. And on most nights, dancing, drinking, and playing pool with the cowboys at the saloon on the ranch.

Get away from it all, get off the grid, and go.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but consider a private cabin for a special experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taylordavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great vacation and awesome location for a family reunion!! We had a large group with ages 9-56 and there was something for everyone. This is the 4th ranch we have visited and was the best. Nice cabins, excellent food, superb horses and wranglers and some of the most beautiful rides in the west! The staff went out of their way to accommodate our large group. If you want a vacation that REALLY gets you away and that the entire family will remember, this is the place....Best memories... shooting guns, herding cattle, hanging out in the saloon (yes, the kids too), spectacular scenery, sleeping under the stars (on the one night pack trip) and meeting wonderful people (staff and guests).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is truly the best vacation you could ever want even for those who have never riden a horse. The staff makes sure that the horse and activities fit each and every person. They treat you like family the entire week and make sure you do what you want to do when you want to do it. Ride up into the mountains or on a slow trail, take a fast ride in the flats, practice riding in the arena. The wranglers are very skilled and work with every rider to make sure they are comfortable on their horse. Learn or practice your target shooting at the range. Take a great whitewater raft trip, throw a line in the lake and sit back and relax. Then really be prepared to have the best meals ever. From Breakfast to Dinner you will never be disappointed with the amazing food cooked and served by a first class staff. The cabins are very clean and kept up daily by another great set of house keepers. You are treated like family from the minute you arrive and when you leave. Leaving is the hardest part because you just made friends for life with the entire staff and othe guest. We plan to return for another vacation. This is truly the one vacation spot you will never forget.

Room Tip: Ask questions all the questions you want - there are no surprises here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Paradise in the mountains. The kids didn't want to leave. Uber-comfortable rooms, terrific food, fantastic staff, clean air, spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our week at Black Mountain Ranch was by far the best family vacation that we have ever had. Our kids (13 & 15) would have stayed for the whole summer. The May family is warm, generous, knowledgeable and tons of fun. There is something for everyone: awesome horses, fabulous wranglers, superb riding, fishing, shooting, live music, rafting, calf roping, barrel racing and excellent food. We had tears when we left and are already planning our return next summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Page B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Ranch

Property: Black Mountain Ranch
Address: 4000 Conger Mesa Road, Mc Coy, CO 80463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mc Coy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mc Coy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us for a taste of the wild west. Your week long package includes lodging, all meals, unlimited horseback riding, an overnight pack trip, a longhorn cattle drive, whitewater rafting, fly and spin fishing, rifle and trap shooting, archery, a trip to a local rodeo and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Mountain Ranch Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing