We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 hour tour to Crystal Mill”

Crystal River Jeep Tours
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Marble
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get to the iconic Crystal Mill in style and comfort. Three main tours to choose from. The 3-hour Crystal Tour, 5-hour Lead King Basin Loop or the 7-hour Smittys Special. See our web site for more information and other tour options, such as guided hikes and trailhead drop-off/pick-up. Photographer friendly.We are a small family-owned business that has been in operation since 1950, among the oldest adventure tour operations in Colorado. We do not do on-line reservations, you have to actually call us to make a reservation. Remember, we do it topless... so dress accordingly.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My daughter and I took the 3 hour tour. I personally have done this trip on foot but Smitty brought our jeep tour alive. So many interesting stories and descriptions of our mining history. Loved the tour and will recommend to all our friends. We had a great time. Thanks Smitty!!!

Thank WestwindColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smitty49, Owner at Crystal River Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

You are welcome. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was looking for something different for the kids to do and I came across the town of Crystal in a list of ghost towns on Wikipedia. We booked a 3 hour tour of Crystal. The road to Crystal is definitely 4-wheel drive only. The ride is about 15 MPH with open views to several falls and peaks. The town of Crystal is still has residents in the summer, but still retains its charm as a ghost town. The crystal mill site was worth the trip alone. It is suitable for children, but our 6 year old was a little tired at the end of the ride. The driver was friendly and professional.

1  Thank spadae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smitty49, Owner at Crystal River Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

We appreciate your review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

One may see almost identical scenery on a day hike or a drive up some backcounty roads. If you want to see it without walking or driving, you have the option of taking this tour and seeing it while bobbing like a bobblehead for five hours. At the end the driver has a sense of accomplishment and you feel like you've got your freedom back. Five hours, at 3 and a half miles an hour. The world's longest amusement park ride. . . Marble is a dead-end village with almost no amenities. Despite the website's casual assurance you must make a reserv at least the day before, by calling during business hours --- which are casual ones, I believe. They may not check their messages till 9:30, or unlock the office till 9:45, though tours begin at 10. Then they check their e-mail. Casual. Reserve in advance with live person. Your cell phone will not work for many miles before Marble. Sit in the Jeep's back seat and the driver will be less likely to make you the target of a practical joke. Very few miles are covered, only a tightish loop on steep hillsides, taken (necessarily) at walking speed. Hence the feeling of an amusement park ride. This has been a popular attraction since 1952. Everyone to their taste.

1  Thank Venturesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smitty49, Owner at Crystal River Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

"This has been a popular attraction since 1952." We are still popular, so we must be doing something right. We are sorry you did not enjoy your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I booked a tour with the Crystal Jeep Tours recently. There was another family of 5 with my husband and I for the ride. The company brought in a larger older jeep with wood seats due to the number going on the tour. Unfortunately we were in the back row and could not hear anything the driver was saying about the history of the area and people. When we were able to speak with him he was very friendly, interesting, and knowledgeable. Had I been able in the front I probably would rate this trip as excellent. Be cautioned it is a bumpy ride!

1  Thank millergal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smitty49, Owner at Crystal River Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

The "older" Jeep you mention is a classic 1982 Scrambler, with custom made buckboard seats for rear seating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our guide (Smitty) was very knowledgeable about the history of the areas, a great driver and super friendly. We did two days of tours with him.....too beautiful for words!!! Hope to do it again someday!

Thank annplaisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smitty49, Owner at Crystal River Jeep Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for the review Ann. Hope to see you and yours husband again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal River Jeep Tours also viewed

 

Been to Crystal River Jeep Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing