We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Slow Groovin' BBQ

Slow Groovin' BBQ
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Marble
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Cozy, yet unbridled! We are in the heart of the wilderness here in Marble, CO. A small, cozy town that truly offers so much. You'll be happy knowing you can enjoy numerous outdoor activities that will leave you hungry for something delicious and home-cooked.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is an must to stop at if you're in the area. The food is fantastic! Everything from the mac-n cheese to the pulled pork is amazing. Their smoked chicken wings are also a must for anyone that enjoys good wings. The atmosphere is small town friendly is is nothing short of enjoyable. The staff for the most part is perfect and ready to serve. The homemade BBQ sauce is to die for. All in all this place is a gem and should not be missed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    42
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Only Place in Town”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We sort of accidentally ended up in Marble and had a great experience. Drove out to Redstone and then wandered on to Marble for the heck of it. Toured part of the marble mining operation and received a pleasant education from a couple of worker there. They suggested the Slow Grooving BBQ place and glad they did. I didn't expect much, but the service was very helpful and patient, as we rattled off a number of questions. After answering our many questions, pouring a few draft beers and taking our order, we didn't have to wait long for our food. The food was very good and priced well within reason. I should have purchased some BBQ sauce to go as I keep thinking about it ever since. The pulled pork sandwich and onion rings were delicious.
You could tell that it thankfully wasn't chain restaurant food.
Fresh baked brownies for desert. Craft beers on tap. Great staff that worked well together.
An informal rustic environment, very clean, clean bathroom.
Thumbs up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rafin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Brisket North of South Texas”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Slow Groovin' BBQ was also recommended to us by a gift shop owner in Redstone. Since we had planned to go to Marble, we decided to give it a try for lunch. The smell from the smoker out front was enough to tell us we made a good choice. My wife and I shared a platter of beef brisket with beans and Texas toast. The brisket was exceptionally tender and the catsup based sauce went with it very well. So did the Hoss beer. Her father barbequed brisket for church fund raisers and weddings for 30 years around Corpus Christi. We would have brought him here sincehe would have praised the brisket as much as we did. We will be coming back for more..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jefred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Real Hidden Gem!!!! Worth the Drive!!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped at a place called Redstone (Population - 94...) on Route 133. A local shop owner told us that we must stop at Marble for their famous "Best BBQ in Colorado". How could we refuse?
The little road we took for the six mile drive to Marble was very pretty, running along the Crystal River. Upon entering Marble we ran into the Marble Sculpting Symposium which runs for a week (Three week long sessions) in the summer and is certainly worth a visit. Sculptors of all ages and levels receive a chunk of marble and create sculptures within the wood next to the river. Beautiful and inspiring!!!
Once you get to Marble, there is not much there, and the Slow Groovin BBQ is about all there is.
The BBQ grill is standing there, smoking away at the front of the restaurant. The place is simple, warm and friendly. We shared a rack of ribs and beef brisket. Both had been six hours (At least!! As we are told) on the BBQ and were tender and delicious. So was the great cornbread
If you are in the neighbourhood (Or even if you aren't....) make the effort to go out of your way and have a meal here. You'll be happy!! Guaranteed!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible Food and Superb Views of Spectacular Alpine Wilderness”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've eaten all over the world, from remote islands in the Yellow Sea to top cuisine in Paris, and nothing tops the divine menu and stunning atmosphere of this laid back place, the Slow Groovin' BBQ. Their menu is incredibly unique and they put so much effort into creating just the perfect atmosphere. The service is excellent, and the owners are so hands on and really care that you have a great dining experience. There's a beautiful sunny (or shaded) outdoor deck with stunning views of the panoramic mountain landscape of giant pine trees, with the outdoor old-fashioned wood smoker filling the air with an aromatic scent created by the exotic woods they create their smoked food with. If you are a vegetarian they make fabulous salads and delicious macaroni and cheese, so you won't feel left out. The pulled pork is out of this world, and for something truly different try the Hillbilly Nacho's that is something even the hungriest mountain man couldn't finish eating. They have special smoked chicken wings and the owner makes her own cocoanut cream pie that is to die for, in case you don't choose the warm home-baked cookies.. All in all, you won't like but LOVE this place and all you'll be thinking about when you finally leave is, how soon can i go there again? ps Just watch out for Ziggy, a little black cat with a bent tail that has no shame and uses mind control to make you give him your food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slow Groovin' BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Slow Groovin' BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing