We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place came through at last minute”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marble
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaver Lake Lodge & Cabins
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Awesome place came through at last minute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were in Marble to shoot the Crystal Mill. Arrived late in the afternoon and after abandoning to try out the 4WD road we decided it best to get a place and try the drive to the mill the next day. The Beaver Lake Lodge was the first and only place we came out to and they had one room left. The price was $85 per night for one night but there was either a surcharge for one night or just stay a second night. We really liked the town of marble and we called the front desk lady from the bar and elected to stay a second night. Whoo-Hoo!!

We actually stayed in 2 different rooms (our choice be cause we needed a ground floor to re organize all our belongings) Both rooms were spacious, had kitchenettes and were very homey. They have coffee machines but I was lucky I carry my own coffee with me as they were out. They only accept cash or check for payment and told me I could send a check when I got back to San Diego. OMG, are you kidding? They are very trusting. When I told my wife she mentioned that she happened to have her checkbook so we wrote one immediately. I would have drove to Carbondale the next day to get the cash if she had not had the checkbook with her, but I really appreciate the trust.

Anyhow, for a small town you cant go wrong here. There is also a few places to go besides the mill. Just wish I would have made it to the quarry :)

Room Tip: There is a community fire-pit by the cabins. Looks like a fun time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mccaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have just returned from another stay at Beaver Lake Lodge. We love this place. The owners are wonderful, the cabins well equipped and very clean. This place continues to be our family's favorite location. We will be sure to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen G, Front Office Manager at Beaver Lake Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us for yet another year! We hope to see you again next year, and thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

There is no automated process to find out the availability of the accommodations at Beaver Lake Lodge & Cabins, so I e-mailed the lodge asking for a certain date. The answer came back that they were full on that date, so I replied asking for another date and never got a response, so I have to wonder how 'on top' of things the management is here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blakelodge, Manager at Beaver Lake Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Ouch! Unlike the review suggests, we did reply to both requests for information, but it did take us almost 2 days to get back to their second request, and we apologized for this delay in our email. This customer wanted another date that was also booked, and before responding again, we were trying to reach a guest who thought their plans may be changing for the same time frame. We should have alerted this guest that we were trying to work something out for them. We apologize for the aggravation we clearly caused.

We do not offer an automated booking system, because we really want to talk with our guests directly. This may not be as convenient for some guests, but on the whole, we think people very much appreciate it. In addition, our lack of automation seems more befitting of the Lodge experience -- no cellphone service and limited wifi. Marble is a stretch from people's everyday life, and we want you to understand this before coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed at Beaver Lake Lodge, in Marble, Colorado in July. Stacey the lodge manager was extremley nice and accomadating. All of or requestes were met promptly and with good spirit. Rooms were clean and had full restroom, refrig, mocrowave oven, electricity (Room 7) We went during a heat wave. So Stacey brought us some fans to help cool off. A gem of a find if you want to get away from it all. No TV's, so bring your own entertainment for the evenings. One BBQ restaurant in town that was very good. EVERYONE was extremely nice and helpful. Nearest place to gas up and pick up supplies is Carbondale a 45 min. trip into town, so stop and stock up before you go onto Marble. Beautiful lake and pleanty to see and do. We took a jeep tour, went fly fishing, lake fishing, sightseeing, explored mines and marble quarries.
We are considering going back next season. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Rooms are cheeper than Cabins, check web page for prices. If you have a handicap do not choose an up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgilberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We came there by accident. We travelled through the Rocky Mountains and needed a place to stay. The lovely habitants of Marble told us about this place and we arrived there at 8pm. Although it was late the receptionist was lovely and offered us a comfortable room to stay for the night. The room was rustic and beautiful. Not like all the other motels you get to, it was the most amazing place we stayed during our travels. The bathroom was clean and nice and the beds were so comfortable that we had a good night. I can only recommend this place and say if you want to have the real Rocky Mountains experience, go to this lodge and you will have it all. Additionally, the beautiful crystal mill is right next to it and it is worth an adventure! Thanks to the lovely stuff of the Beaver Lake Lodge, if we ever come back to the Rockies we will swing by =) Your guests from Germany =)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank casyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

I happened upon this place online, looking for someplace rustic in the mountains. It was definitely what I was looking for. My husband and I spent 5 nights in a cabin. Loved loved it!!! The owners, staff and all the locals are very friendly! Such a beautiful area and lots to do. If you don't want tv and cell phones.. this is the place to be. We will be back and bringing our atv next time.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank CheriM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the lodge. We took the 2 upstairs rooms with a large deck. We were evacuated from the fires in Colorado Springs so had our dogs with us. There is a gate locking off the stairs on the deck so it was perfect for us!

We rented ATV's to get to Crystal Mill and then a loop back to Marble with beautiful vistas and hillside meadows covered in flowers!

Hired a guide to take my husband and 3 kids fly fishing for the day and they had a great time. Even caught fish- catch and release.

Kids went out in the canoe at the lake (it is just down the road from the Lodge.) Our kids are 18,20,22 and inspire of only having wireless in the lobby they all had a great time. The stars at night were spectacular!

Be sure to get food prior to arrival- there is no store close by, and bring some mosquito repellant.

The BBQ restaurant is in walking distance and they had music 2 nights while we were there.
We want to go back to tour the castle and try some other fishing holes. Lots of hiking, and our kids went swimming in the lake just out of town which was crystal clear.

The owners are very helpful and helped us out with calls when the fire back home came into our area- very thankful for their help!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pampk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beaver Lake Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Lake Lodge & Cabins

Property: Beaver Lake Lodge & Cabins
Address: 201 E Silver St, Marble, CO 81623
Location: United States > Colorado > Marble
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Marble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One could describe the historic Beaver Lake Lodge and Cabins as being at the far side of the town of Marble, Colorado . However, in a town the size of Marble (pop.85,) it is more precise to say that the historic Beaver Lake Lodge IS the far side of the town of Marble.Our 5 cabins were home to quarry workers a century ago. The cabins have been newly updated without sacrificing their vintage character. Each cabin is unique, but all have porches, hardwood floors, log beds, handmade quilts, baths, kitchens and charcoal grills. Cabin rates are $79-$109 per night. Around the cabins and among the spruce and aspen trees are campfire rings, picnic tables, barbecues, and a hefty marmot that lives under the wooden boardwalk and pops up to check on our guests. The lodge was once East Marble's school house, built in the late 1800s. Over the years it has been added onto and transformed into the town's meeting hall, a bait and tackle shop, a restaurant, and since the mid 1950s, a lodge. The rooms in the lodge have been newly renovated. In contrast to the more rustic cabins, the lodge rooms have a Country Inn appeal: antiques, down comforters, matelasse coverlets, vintage-style wallpaper and poster beds. The lodge rooms are equipped with full baths and kitchenettes (one having a full kitchen), and each lodge room is accessed from an outside lodge porch. Summer is our gilded season, when visitors swell Marble into a mountain leisure park. There is no golf, no tennis, no scuba diving - but there are fishing holes, river rafting, lake activities, horse rides and pack trips, hiking and biking trails, wildlife, jeeping, magnificent waterfalls, and relics of our rich mining culture to be discovered. In the fall we get 'leaf peepers' and hunters. In the winter we are covered in snow, and enjoy nordic skiing, sledding, ice skating and snow mobiling. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing