We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
215 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great motel for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is of the old motor inn variety where you park almost inside your room. It has satellite tv, wifi, mini fridge, microwave, and air conditioning. If you are looking for an up ro date place this is not for you. Pet friendly and an incredible view. Stayed for 59 a night and that included the dog fee. Garden of the Gods is just down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a King room and you get a ton of room and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    88
    63
    16
    14
See reviews for
98
100
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

For $59 a night (with AAA discount) it was passable. Everyone was nice, good location to Manitou Springs and surrounding attractions. If we hadn't stayed for four nights it would have been ok. The rooms (and property in general) are well worn and a bit shabby. We wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank texasgal50Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAVERTOWN PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

What i liked most was that it was right next to the Garden of the Gods. After a long first day of our trip from the East Coast, the kids jumped in the pool (with views of Garden of Gods on one side and the mountain on the other, not bad), my wife got some pizza from down the street and then as the kids wound down for bed i just popped back over to the Garden to explore a little more on my own.
Room was dated but good size and clean. Breakfast did the job. Just felt like a slacker as most of the other occupants had either run up Pikes Peak that day or were preparing to run the Pikes Peak Marathon the next.
Friendly staff.
Nice way to start our trip- changed from where i had planned to stay after reading reviews of the other place here, and glad i found the Silver Saddle.

Room Tip: one side you see the mountain, the other Garden of the Gods. take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAEF715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

nice location to manatu springs historic center , love neon sinage. the rooms are clean and what better so are the bathrooms . being tht this place is from another era the rooms are large again as are the bathrooms , i don't have to cram myself passed the door to shut it . enjoyable , friendly staff at the front desk as well as the housekeeping . the price is right for what customers receive . another plus , after a long day of bouncing around sightseeing wether on the cog railway or a jeep trip the silver saddle allows adults to use the pool for longer into the night , not just up until 9pm , since who gets back from a full day of activites until late .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tristin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Room had 2 queen beds for two adults and two kids. The bathroom was updated but only the stool and the shower were in a separate room. It was so small that only one person could use it at the time unless another person was in the tub. AC ran cold and not too noisy. The view to the east is of the Garden of Gods but it was cloudy so not spectacular at the time. Staff was responsive and friendly. Breakfast included both hot and cold items which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norsekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We really wanted to like this motel because it is a family run business, but reviews on Tripadvisor sorely mislead us on this. Our stay was just for one night, and that was enough. I think $92 with AAA discount was way too much for this motel, we stayed in Hyatt House in Denver for $75 a night the following night after checking out. The million dollar view was not available from our room, those rooms are on the other side of the parking lot.

Our room was dirty, dingy with many stains on the carpet. The boxsprings were so very very old. One of them had a piece of nail sticking out, but luckily that was near the head side right next to the wall, so it could not hurt anyone. The other box spring had a torn cover and the wood was showing.

The furniture and everything else were very old. The tub drain was slow, at the end of my shower I was standing in ankle deep dirty water. The Wi Fi did not work at all during our one night stay.

Here is the kicker: The A/C is installed ABOVE the mirror on top of the vanity. So, unless you pull a chair and climb on top, there is no way to reach the A/C to adjust it. And even then it is difficult because you can not see the settings & knobs clearly.

The 2 star rating is for clean beds and for friendliness of the front desk people, but that is all. Sorry Silver Saddle :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank austin_techie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here after staying a night in Frisco, CO. We chose the hotel based on price, proximity to Manitou Springs and frankly, coolness of the sign. The staff was really helpful when I called about a late check-in and again, when we actually checked in. We were in a room on the very end, facing Manitou so we didn't have the sweet balcony views of Garden of the Gods that the other side of the hotel has but we could see the clouds rolling over Pike's Peak from the little bench outside our room which was still pretty darn good. Our room was fine, the bed was comfortable enough and it was clean. Like most hotels in Manitou Springs, this one is a few decades old and it shows a little. The rooms aren't updated but they are adequate. The one bummer was the wifi. I know it might sound silly but we are young-ish and we needs our internets! We logged onto their network and never could get any wifi signal. We stayed at another hotel the next night, nearby and the owner lamented the same kind of issues but thankfully, she put us in a room that got better service. Maybe it's just being in the mountains, maybe it's the fact that we were the farthest room from the office (pratically on the road) but it was a bummer for sure and I maybe wouldn't advertise "free wifi" on the sign out front if you can't 100% deliver on that : / All in all, it was a fine place to stay.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in 32A or B. Right the very end of the hotel and it had a lot of road noise and 0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 12 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 12 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eagle Motel
Eagle Motel
#8 of 12 in Manitou Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 12 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast
Hotel San Ayre by Bud+Breakfast
#48 of 108 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#4 of 12 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 215 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2503
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing