We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tripadvisor mislead us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Saddle Motel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor mislead us”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We really wanted to like this motel because it is a family run business, but reviews on Tripadvisor sorely mislead us on this. Our stay was just for one night, and that was enough. I think $92 with AAA discount was way too much for this motel, we stayed in Hyatt House in Denver for $75 a night the following night after checking out. The million dollar view was not available from our room, those rooms are on the other side of the parking lot.

Our room was dirty, dingy with many stains on the carpet. The boxsprings were so very very old. One of them had a piece of nail sticking out, but luckily that was near the head side right next to the wall, so it could not hurt anyone. The other box spring had a torn cover and the wood was showing.

The furniture and everything else were very old. The tub drain was slow, at the end of my shower I was standing in ankle deep dirty water. The Wi Fi did not work at all during our one night stay.

Here is the kicker: The A/C is installed ABOVE the mirror on top of the vanity. So, unless you pull a chair and climb on top, there is no way to reach the A/C to adjust it. And even then it is difficult because you can not see the settings & knobs clearly.

The 2 star rating is for clean beds and for friendliness of the front desk people, but that is all. Sorry Silver Saddle :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank austin_techie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    89
    64
    17
    17
See reviews for
100
103
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here after staying a night in Frisco, CO. We chose the hotel based on price, proximity to Manitou Springs and frankly, coolness of the sign. The staff was really helpful when I called about a late check-in and again, when we actually checked in. We were in a room on the very end, facing Manitou so we didn't have the sweet balcony views of Garden of the Gods that the other side of the hotel has but we could see the clouds rolling over Pike's Peak from the little bench outside our room which was still pretty darn good. Our room was fine, the bed was comfortable enough and it was clean. Like most hotels in Manitou Springs, this one is a few decades old and it shows a little. The rooms aren't updated but they are adequate. The one bummer was the wifi. I know it might sound silly but we are young-ish and we needs our internets! We logged onto their network and never could get any wifi signal. We stayed at another hotel the next night, nearby and the owner lamented the same kind of issues but thankfully, she put us in a room that got better service. Maybe it's just being in the mountains, maybe it's the fact that we were the farthest room from the office (pratically on the road) but it was a bummer for sure and I maybe wouldn't advertise "free wifi" on the sign out front if you can't 100% deliver on that : / All in all, it was a fine place to stay.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in 32A or B. Right the very end of the hotel and it had a lot of road noise and 0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was OK. It was definitely outdated and worn though it appeared to be clean. Although we didn't try out the pool it was clean and looked well maintained. Location was great. It was close to everything. You can easily get to Garden of the Gods, Cliff Dwellings, Old Colorado City, Pikes Peak and Manitou Springs downtown area. We chose this place because of its affordability compared to other hotels/motels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cshellrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Silver Saddle last minute and the front desk was nice. We paid $125 for the benefit of my husband and I having a separate bedroom, which for us is a luxury on a family vacation. The rooms were dark and dated, but not well kept. It had a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. Also, there was a small, but clean pool in the middle of the property and they had a breakfast that included hard boiled eggs and waffles. Basically, the Silver Saddle was what it was. I considered a bit overpriced, but I think that's mainly due to the tourist attractions surrounding it. We didn't do a lot of price comparisons since it was a last minute booking.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorful Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
209 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

There were guests all around our room that was outside smoking and lots of guests with pets. Not sure what the smell was when we walked in the room, stale smoke or sewer?! We kept the bathroom door shut when we slept and that seemed to help. Rooms are pretty small, old TVs, old heating & air conditioning units, but worked well. There was an older compact fridge and microwave, which we did not use. When we started to use the fridge, the door was dragging on the old carpeting, so we just left food and ice in our cooler that we brought in. There was a coffee maker and blow dryer in the room, small shampoo, soap and lotion. The seashell themed shower curtain seemed out of date and out of place in the mountain setting. The toilet flushed very slow and may have been leaking?! But besides the smell, the most annoying thing was the "free Wi-Fi" that is advertised on the sign out front, it does not work! It took nearly 7 minutes to load my Yahoo mail! Continental Breakfast had 2 kinds cereal, apples, oranges, white, wheat bread and bagels with cream cheese, also make your own waffles, which everyone seems to like. Coffee and Juice. My husband needs protein and the only protein we could see was boiled eggs, no meats of any kind. which is pretty standard for a "continental" breakfast. We have stayed at this location once in the past, and thought we would try it again because of the memories, but there are so many choices in Manitou Springs, next time we plan on going somewhere else.

Room Tip: The High Speed Internet is anything but HIGH SPEED, if you don't mind waiting for your page to l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GraceMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great views. Walking distance to the Garden of the Gods and at the foot of Manitou Springs. The rooms are decent. I was upgraded to a hot tub suite for free and the room was F'n HUGE. All surrounding hotels were 2-3 times more expensive. Because of the lower cost I was able to book an entire week at the Silver Saddle and really enjoy my time out West. this is the ONLY place I stay when I go to the Springs.

Room Tip: Hot Tub rooms on the back side ground floor are huge. The small mountain hill and retaining wall mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronanalog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The view alone makes this place unforgettable. One side of the motel has a big views of Garden of the God's while the other side faces Pikes peak and about 4 other mountains. Each room also has outside seating in the form of a park bench. Rooms were a little small but very clean and the mini fridge was a nice touch. Comfortable beds. Location was long walk from downtown but one of the closest motels to Garden of the Gods. The pool was clean and the grounds were well kept.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8Sully2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
Comfort Inn Manitou Springs
#4 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Property: Silver Saddle Motel
Address: 215 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2503
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Manitou Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing