We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Onaledge at Red Crags.”
Review of Red Crags Estates

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Crags Estates
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Onaledge at Red Crags.”
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We spent the last 3 nights of our 3 week holiday at the Historic Onaledge B&B, part of the Red Crags group of B&Bs.
On arrival there was no one at the house for us to check in but there was a note on the door and we were 2 hours early. When we arrived back at 3pm we were met by a young man and eventually Kelly, our hostess for the next few days. We were given a quick tour of the communal areas and shown to our accomodations, the wonderful Red Crags room.
The room was huge, with a massive bed that was wonderfully comfortable, seating area with 2 armchairs and a large flat screen TV. The bathroom was lovely with a beautiful roll top bath.
Kelly had told us we could use the fridge off the dining area and help ourselves to sodas from it too, aswell as tea and coffee. Our room was tended to each day when we were out and one evening we had bought some wine and came back the next day to find wine glasses had been left for us..

The house was very quiet and in a beautiful location. We found ourselves drinking a beer in the fantastic hot tub later that night and the following 2 nights!!!

Breakfast was superb. Not only was the food delicious (Kelly was very sympathetic to my husbands dietary requirements) but the portions were huge and it was a wonderful social occasion. We spent well over an hour chatting with our fellow housemates each day. We also got a different gourmet breakfast on a daily basis too.

We had dinner at The Craftwood Inn on our final night. The restaurant is located next door and you can walk through the adjoining gate. The food here is exquisite and well worth every penny.

We really enjoyed our stay at Onaledge and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Pikes Peak region.

  • Liked — The wonderful setting, the delicious breakfasts, the beautiful room and our lovely hostess, Kelly.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SuziR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Owner at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your uplifting remarks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    36
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
32
126
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

Stayed at the Red Crags Inn at Onaledge in June after spending a long time deciding on what was the best place to stay while on vacation out there. The property is beautiful and the house impressive, but there were a few frustrating things that occurred.

Originally, I was told that a reservation had been received but that it was not a confirmation. As the date of vacation drew closer, I attempted to confirm by phone -- but no one ever answered any phone, despite a number being given that was supposed to be a direct link to a person. I ran into a similar problem when I arrived in Manitou Springs and needed precise directions. No one answered any phone and I wound up having to ask shopkeepers in the city for directions.

Once there, we seemed to have to look for someone to get checked in, and there really wasn't anyone that was readily available to answer questions. The power went out at one point, and I had to walk around the estate looking for someone to respond. Info given on the registration form about dietary restrictions became irrelevant, and the "enormous" breakfast advertised on the website was a typical fare.

A nice place with a great view, but a little bit too much of a free for all and uncertainty.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank tofurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, General Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We have done so much to improve based on your input and trust other comments will confirm this fact. Thank you for input and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2007

We arrived at 2:50 p.m. and had to search for someone to help us. We were told that they we weren't expected until 3:00! We walked around to the patio area to wait (until 3:00) and admired the gorgeous view of Pikes Peak. Someone eventually found us there (no name was offered) and he gave us our key and showed us around the property. We discovered that we would be the only guests that evening. We retired to our room to rest after a long day of travel. Later in the evening, we decided to go to the dining room for a hot cup of tea and some refreshments and found the entire Inn to be dark -- no lights on at all and it was only 8:00 and no tea/coffee/cookies as promised. Breakfast the next morning was good but lonely. We were served and left alone to eat. As we were finishing breakfast, we met Brett who welcomed us and gave us some information about sites to see and places to visit. We spent an entire day enjoying the area and returned to our room in the late afternoon. The room was as we left it... bed unmade, bathroom untouched. What a disappointment. Again, no visible staff to assist with our needs. We didn't see anyone again until another lonely breakfast the next day. We checked out shortly after breakfast and had to again seek out someone to hand our key to. The very nice woman we spoke to the previous day (again, no name offered) was on the phone and indicated that I could hand her the key. She waved goodbye and continued with her phone call. I would expect this kind of service at a corporate style hotel, but not at a $200 per night bed and breakfast. The Inn is beautiful and has beautiful views. Too bad the service does not match. AAA 4 diamonds... I don't think so. We had a better experience at the Denver Airport Fairfield Inn and for half the price!

  • Liked — Great views
  • Disliked — Lack of personal service and attention. No visible staff on site except during breakfast.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Rockette19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2007

My husband, four year old daughter and myself just spent one night here on our way back home after staying a week at Snowmass. We stayed in the Greenstone Cottage which was perfect for the three of us as our daughter had her own room. The room is separate from the main house, over what might once have been the carriage house. It has a separate living room, with another bed and large jacuzzi tub, as well as its own well equipped kitchen. The beds were very comfortable, they were more like feather beds versus a firm mattress-type. They had nice fluffy towels in the bathrooms as well. Brett, who I am pretty sure is the new owner, was very curteous and showed us around giving us a tour and history of the building. There are lovely common rooms and a great outdoor terrace with views up to Pike's Peak. Breakfast was great. It started with a selection of coffees, teas, hot cholocolate, etc., followed by a fresh fruit and yogurt plate followed by a delicious green chili and cheese egg casserole which came with an english muffin, bacon, and coffee cake bread, as well as all the fixings. It was very good!

We had dinner that night at the Craftwood Inn, a short walk next door. Our meal was excellent.

I would definitely stay again at Rockledge Country Inn if I find myself in the area and I would recommend it to any of my friends traveling there.

  • Liked — Plenty of room for our family, location to historic manitou springs, garden of the gods, etc
  • Disliked — I felt the room could have been just a tad cleaner (better vaccumed, tub wiped down better) but nothing horrible.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank odie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2006

My Husband and I were married at the Red Crags on January 1st 2006. We arrived with our families on December 31st and stayed until January 2nd. Everything was great! All of our guests had a fabulous time. The rooms were unique and beautiful. Lynn acted as Innkeeper and she was terrific! Thanks again, The Nabers.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KNaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, NY
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a two-night stay at the Red Crags, and we were completely satisfied in every respect. The location of the inn is absolutely breathtaking - you can see Pike's Peak and Garden of the Gods easily from many rooms as well as the garden. The inn is very historic and Teddy Roosevelt once stayed there (there's a picture in the parlor).

We were welcomed by Gordon, the bell boy, who showed us where everything was and explained a lot about the history of the place. He was very professional.

We stayed in the Cherub room, which is really a kind of suite consisting of a living room with a sofa, fireplace, and large desk, and an alcove with the king sized feather bed. The bathroom is attached, and while it didn't have a tub (just a shower), it was beautifully appointed. This room is on the second floor, was spotlessly clean and very quiet.

For breakfast each day we were offered hot dishes, like French toast, sausage, and frittata, as well as fresh fruit, cereal, muffins, and bagels. Everything was delicious, and it was such a treat to eat at the large, formal dining room table!

During the rest of the day there were always snacks and drinks in the pantry, and you were welcome to take as much as you wanted. Wine was available in the evenings. Brett, the innkeeper, made us feel completely at home, and was accessible to handle potential problems at any time of day or night. (There were none.)

Red Crags is a top-notch B&B, and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 5, 2006

BEWARE! DO NOT GET MARRIED HERE, DO NOT EVEN STAY HERE! THE INNKEEPER IS A VERY UNPLEASANT AND AN EXTREMELY UNPROFESSIONAL INDIVIUAL. He made a lot of promises and then went back on them. He would show up make demands then leave, all WHILE THE WEDDING WAS GOING ON. It was very obvious that he only cared about his needs, and they are all unreasonable. The main staff member, Lynn, is a lovely person. She is very good at her job. However, Brett Maddox, the innkeeper, treats her terribly. No wonder she is leaving for another job at twice the salary and half the hours. In short, he ruined what would have been an otherwise happy and memorable day. Towards the end of the day, he demanded more money. An end time of 10PM was agreed upon, however, he showed up at 830PM and said the wedding was suppose to be over at 7pm and he would now start charging $75 per each ½ hour the wedding continued. There were still guests there!!! Look elsewhere, it’s not worth the trouble to deal with such a horrible person.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.9 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,101 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#4 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Motel
Americas Best Value Inn Villa Mo...
#3 of 10 in Manitou Springs
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Crags Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Crags Estates

Property: Red Crags Estates
Address: 328 El Paso Blvd, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2319
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1874 B&B located in Manitou Springs, Colorado offers style and elegance for Pikes Peak area visitors. Continuing a long tradition of hospitality, Red Crags Bed & Breakfast Inn's renown spans more than 100 years. Serving as a bed and breakfast since 1989, this celebrated 4-story Victorian manor envelopes the discerning guest in a time of beauty and impeccable atmosphere. The main house of the inn is more than 7,000 square feet and presides over a 2-acre estate overlooking Manitou Valley. From the B&B, Colorado Springs, Pikes Peak, and Garden of the Gods may be seen, providing the guest with a unique perspective of the area. Stepping inside the manor is like stepping back in time. The main floor common area is characterized by lovingly preserved antiques, hardwood floors, and soaring ceilings. Gather around the fireplace for some conversation in the parlor, which also features a large bar and antique piano. On a sunny day, take some time to relax in the solarium and enjoy views of the surrounding mountains and Pikes Peak. A rare cherry wood Eastlake fireplace is the focal point of the formal dining room. All guestrooms are appointed with king-size beds with additional amenities as wood or gas-burning fireplaces, jetted tubs, antique ball and claw tubs or other aspects unique to providing our guests with live history.Outside, sit on the covered decks or walk through the beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens. You can relax by the gurgling brook. Meander to the bluff and take in the best view of the Manitou Valley. Beneath the Colorado blue skies, our air is clean and clear virtually every day of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Red Crags Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing