We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Crags Estates

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Crags Estates
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria,TX
Level Contributor
284 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Place....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

My husband and I and another couple stayed here and were delighted with our stay. The staff was very helpful...even gave us step by step directions on how to get to the property and stayed on the phone and "talked us in"! My husband does not usually like to stay in B & Bs but loved this one. The historical tour of the property was most interesting and the location is great. The breakfast was wonderful! We would return to this property!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, General Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
And we will guide others in as well! Thank you so much for having your husband give us a try. Glad we exceeded his expectations! And, as your personal chef, I thank you for your compliments on breakfast...Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    36
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
32
126
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed two nights in the Teddy Roosevelt suite and would stay there again. The room has a private deck with a view of Pikes Peak. The floor to ceiling windows in the bathroom over look the valley and surrounding hills/mountains. The large comfortable bed swallows you in luxury. The suite is in one of three historic buildings on the grounds, it's actually the black and white photo that you see on this site. They serve wine downstairs after three, and the downstairs rooms are beautiful. You have full access to the kitchen 24 hrs a day. I used their dishes after I went to the main building for breakfast, and brought fruit back for my wife to enjoy on the deck. We enjoyed drinking wine in the evenings taking in Pikes Peak and watching the valley. In the mornings, I saw deer below me walking around.

If you are a low maintenance traveler, this is perfect for you. That being said, the staff is great and helpful as we experienced. But keep in mind, this is a B&B, breakfast is served in another building and there is not room service. There is a magazine tray as you walk in the main door, it hold menu's, we're not sure they deliver as we found it when we where leaving.

It's not located in downtown Manitou Springs, rather it's just off the road exit to Garden of the Gods (we could see some of the rocks from GOTG from our deck) from the main street leading into town. But the views! Rooms (both private and public area) are restored to their Victorian glory, and while I peaked in the other rooms when empty, the Teddy Suite is the best for size and views.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaladawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We seek to have all of our guests relax and enjoy their "Getaway"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

My wife and I made a week stay in Manitou Springs to celebrate our honeymoon. When we arrived at the bed and breakfast, we were shown to our room which was described to us as the garage. The room had very little charm and the bathroom felt like an after though. It looked as if they need another room so they just converted the old garage and ask full price for it. Luckily the inn keeper was able to move us to a room that actually felt like a real room and was very quick to apologize for the inconvenience. On top of this initial disappointment, we discovered that most to the amenities described on the business own web site were not offered. We chose to stay there because of the "free pool pass" they offered so my wife, who has severe arthritis, could continue to exercise her joints and not fall into a flare up. When we asked about the passes, the only response we received is that they were being stolen by employees and therefor were no longer offered. No other compensation was offered for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, there were no other vacancies in town otherwise we would not have stayed in this establishment, we looked for ANY available option. Upon returning from our "vacation," we called Brett Maddox, the person in charge of the financial decisions, to ask for some compensation for our ruined vacation. He simply stated that since we were moved to a better room, we deserved no compensation even though most of the amenities were not offered. At the time of this review the pool pass is still listed as an amenity. We will be contacting the better business bureau.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AdamMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
The only response is that our intent is never to have a guest feel they did not get the experience we seek at our inns. Negative comments are taken very seriously and acted upon to improve for all guests. We regret this moment and would love to have the guests seek a visit with us again, as we KNOW the positive feedback that would result.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

The night my friend and I arrived, it was raining; there was a water main break, and we could not get to our room (you can't get there from here). It was not the Red Crags fault. They upgraded us to a beautiful room, that we could get to. We stayed in the Rockledge house, in a corner suite, I think it was El Cascio, or something like that, with a great claw foot tub, that was jetted. My friend almost never came out of the bath. She said it was the best bath tub she had ever been in. We are girlfriends, that travel together, so splitting a king size bed, was just fine. I had wanted the Room with a View, so we had separate beds, but splitting a king, is okay, since we couldn't get to Room with a View. There was plenty of room for all of our stuff.
The house was historic and amazing. On Thur. nite, they rolled up the rugs in the main hall, and had a dance instructor, and Tango lessons. They asked us to join them. Very hospitable.
We hiked the grounds, in a light rain, and came across the biggest deer, with 12 points, that I have ever seen. I thought he was a statue, until his ear moved.
Having coffee in the morning, with a view of Pike's Peak, in beautiful, lush surroundings, made the stay for me. The breakfast that comes with your stay was very good and filling. Service is great.
Only complaint, we didn't have TV reception. Probably due to thunderstorms, but in such a neat place, there were plenty of other things to do.
In the late afternoon we went to Garden of the Gods, which is just next door. Then we went to the Stage Coach Inn for dinner, which is middle of the road, and then shopped the main street.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitebirdofparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Red Crags Estates is honored to have you select us for your stay. As such, we will do all within us to make this stay pleasurable and relaxing. We are thankful for your comments. Yes, we are vulnerable to "issues" with the cable provider but happy you found the historic inn and grounds worthy of your valuable time. Again, thank you for your complimentary comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Last night of a 3 week touring holiday and had booked this b & b as a special as reviews were good. Unfortunately arrived during a thunderstorm. Had to register at main Red Crags building and were told we would have to leave car there and walk with cases to our property as road works were blocking entrance. Not so as we had already driven past entrance. Insisted on walking us over - not even waiting for storm to pass! No mention of wine/cheese being on offer. Beautiful room and use of kitchen. Fridge dirty and whole property had a smell. Breakfast very pleasant and company good. At checkout asked if we could use their printer to print boarding passes but told as internet down they couldn't do it - found this strange as we had used their wifi to check in for our flight. Felt they just didn't want to waste the time. All in all for the money we were somewhat disappointed

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Input is always acted upon and we have always endeavored to assist with boarding passes, travel plans, etc. Our office is hardwired and the internet being down does put us at a disadvantage. At times, the road, the internet, etc. are simply beyond our control. This being said, we do all we are possibly able to do to overcome these. Thank you for your kind words. Our performance is ever improving and are grateful for your gracious manner in describing the imperfections. Your complete happiness with your stay is the goal for each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

I'm torn on this one, so first the good. The property is beautiful! They have great trails on the property and you can wander around behind the houses. You'll discover chairs and tables here and there, so you can bring your coffee and enjoy some quiet time. You'll see deer roaming around the property, but they won't bother you. Definitely explore the property with your camera! The views from Red Crags are awesome, as it is set above the town of Manitou Springs. The owners and the staff are nice and very helpful. Josh is a huge asset to them. Whenever we needed something, the staff was there to help, even beyond what was necessary. The breakfasts are delicious. We loved our room and the fact that we could actually open the windows, feel a cool breeze, and still have privacy. Our bed was so comfortable and we loved having free Wi-Fi and flat screen TV. We even loved our shower.

Now for the things we didn't like. If you check in on a Saturday, you'll kind of get lost in the shuffle if there is a wedding going on. And, it sounds like they have a wedding every Saturday. If you are there on a weekend, it sounds like you can't book in the main house of Rockledge because it's only for wedding guests. But that's probably good, because you don't want to stay where there is a wedding going on while you're trying to relax.

Our biggest issue, however, was the lack of attention in our house (Onaledge B&B), and we assume it's because we were there during the week. If we wanted the nightly wine and cheese, we had to walk over to the main house, Rockledge. If we wanted the nightly snack, we had to walk over to Rockledge. This bothered us because we initially weren't aware of that. We thought it would be served in every house. Our first two nights, we were wondering why there wasn't cheese and crackers and snacks as promised. Also, the living room in our house had the same Saturday paper on the coffee table the whole time we were there. Did we really have to walk to the main house just to read the daily paper? Should we have to ask for the daily paper for our house? I think if there are at least 3 rooms booked in your house, you won't have a problem. But, if only one or two rooms are booked during the week, you might feel neglected. We understand that Rockledge is the main house, but don't forget about the people in the others!

Overall, we would stay there again. There are very few places to stay in the area that aren't old hotels or motels that were built before the 1970's. I did a lot of research before choosing Onaledge B&B at Red Crags, and I'm still glad we did. It was spacious, clean, and run by friendly people. But, if you want to be right in the action, you need to stay in Rockledge rather than the two other houses on the property.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PinkZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Your words are taken to heart and action has been taken to avoid having guests feel they are not receiving the same service in ANY of our inns (located next door to each other). Your compliments are wonderful and we have overcome the drawbacks you mentioned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Our stay at the Rockledge made our Colorado trip. I knew it was going to be a good choice when I first made the reservation. I had reviewed the available rooms online, but when I called, Maureen asked some specific questions about what our needs were, and suggested a different room than what I had originally chosen. When we arrived we were immediately greeted by Josh who showed us around the property and gave us the historic background of the house. We were then shown to our room (Bonnie Brae). I am really glad that Maureen suggested it. I was exactly what we needed. The room was very well maintained and cleaned, and perfect for us. We stayed for three nights. The breakfasts were great -- always something different and not run-of-the-mill. Maureen and Josh also helped us with reservations to local attractions and restaurants. We then went on to a different location in Colorado, which turned out to be disappointing. When I called back to see if we could return to Rockledge/Red Crags, they were able to get us the same room again, and pretty much saved our vacation. We stayed three additional nights. I heartily recommend this property to anyone staying in the Manitou Springs area, and we intend to return soon. It was the perfect combination of a great property, great service, and amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobo_SAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
0.9 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#3 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#2 of 10 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Manitou Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Crags Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Crags Estates

Property: Red Crags Estates
Address: 328 El Paso Blvd, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-2319
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1874 B&B located in Manitou Springs, Colorado offers style and elegance for Pikes Peak area visitors. Continuing a long tradition of hospitality, Red Crags Bed & Breakfast Inn's renown spans more than 100 years. Serving as a bed and breakfast since 1989, this celebrated 4-story Victorian manor envelopes the discerning guest in a time of beauty and impeccable atmosphere. The main house of the inn is more than 7,000 square feet and presides over a 2-acre estate overlooking Manitou Valley. From the B&B, Colorado Springs, Pikes Peak, and Garden of the Gods may be seen, providing the guest with a unique perspective of the area. Stepping inside the manor is like stepping back in time. The main floor common area is characterized by lovingly preserved antiques, hardwood floors, and soaring ceilings. Gather around the fireplace for some conversation in the parlor, which also features a large bar and antique piano. On a sunny day, take some time to relax in the solarium and enjoy views of the surrounding mountains and Pikes Peak. A rare cherry wood Eastlake fireplace is the focal point of the formal dining room. All guestrooms are appointed with king-size beds with additional amenities as wood or gas-burning fireplaces, jetted tubs, antique ball and claw tubs or other aspects unique to providing our guests with live history.Outside, sit on the covered decks or walk through the beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens. You can relax by the gurgling brook. Meander to the bluff and take in the best view of the Manitou Valley. Beneath the Colorado blue skies, our air is clean and clear virtually every day of the year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing