We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth your money”

Pikes Peak Cog Railway
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For more than a hundred years, this railway, the highest "cog" railroad in the world and the highest train in the U.S., has been transporting passengers to the summit of Pikes Peak.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth your money”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

For $35, you get taken on a nice clean train to see all the beautiful views of Pike's Peak and the surrounding area. Lots of great photo opportunities. Absolutely gorgeous views. Can't say that enough. You're being taken to approximately 14,115 feet in elevation, so beware of altitude sickness. You definitely get lightheaded up there if you're not already used to elevation.

Gift shop at the top has fresh donuts and hot chocolate, as well as some other food which didn't look like anything special. Food at the bottom is incredibly overpriced though. Gift shop at the bottom was reasonable. Parking was $5 and there was enough for us.

Definitely worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,681
    825
    245
    73
    35
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Uniquely Spectacular Ride and View”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Without question, you'll be hard pressedto get a better view despite cost, train is better alternative than driving, if only because you can actually enjoy view and experience. Even at $35, well worth the experience. Ample parking for Cog Railway below, $5 reasonable parking fee. Gift shop and snack bars top and bottom of ride also reasonable.
All this said a few areas for improvement - the conductore we had while knowledgeable, had a lot to be desired in his friendliness, especially since vistitors have been paying his salary for 30 years. He points out all the areas of interest, but still sits around with little to do for 3 houirs.
When asked question on way up he gets surley and way down he makes a walk through to see if folks have any questions. Also, cars on our 920 run were 2/3 full, it would have been nice if conductor would have allowed passengers to spread out a little, since space was available. Seats are wooden and not particularly comfortable. All this aside, still will probably return next time we have visitors.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worth every penny”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family of five recently took the Cog Railway over Spring Break. The kids loved the fact that they could take a "train" as they called it up the mountain. We were fortunate to have a day where the skies were clear and only 10 mile per hour winds. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking. The real treat was seeing a herd of Bighorn sheep close to the summit. You have about 30 min. at the top to eat, tour the gift shop, and enjoy the scenery outside. I bought the "World Famous Donuts" that are made at an elevation of over 14,000 feet. As my daughter said, "They are not the best donuts I have ever had," but they were good and you can get a bag of six for $4.99. Overall a wonderful experience and certainly something you should do at least once in your lifetime.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradomom050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime views”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A relaxing way to get to the top of the world--look out over the plains of easter Colorado and have a bit of fudge. We enjoyed this far more than the highway--the scenery was more pristing, the journey more relaxing, and the actual railroad is well maintined--great staff, informative and friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WestSideTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Time.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We loved the Cog Railway. I was skeptical about paying so much, but it was worth it. The railway has a conductor who narrates along the way and points out neat points of interest. The ride was smooth and the scenery was beautiful! There was plenty of room, and the windows are large so you can see everything. We made it all the way to the top, and had an hour to hang out because we made great time on the way up. The only thing I would caution is to take the altitude sickness warnings seriously. I thought we would be ok because we are from Utah, which is fairly high altitude, but we got sick at the top. Sipping water does help, so you may want to do that on the way up. Just don't guzzle, because that doesn't do a thing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LiveWithHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pikes Peak Cog Railway also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
 
Colorado Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Pikes Peak Cog Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing